Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Networking problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KhenemetSobek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:30 am    Post subject: Networking problem Reply with quote

When I boot into gentoo, I get the message(s)

Code:

Bringing eth0 up (192.168.0.1)
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: no such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: no such device
eth0: unknown interface: no such device
SIOCSINETMASK: No such device

*Please make sure that /etc/conf.d/net has $ifconfig_eth1 set
*(or $iface_eth1 for old-style configuration)
*ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
*           "netmount" was not started.


I wasn't quite sure what to do about setting up my internet connection. it worked fine on the liveCd. I ran /sbin/ifconfig and put in the ip and broadcasting addresses. I also tried dhcp, with the same result (no internet connection). I tried pinging my router but it says "Network is unreachable"

Info: Comcast w/ 4 port router with dhcp support, but I think comcast uses dynamic addressing.
_________________
Xeper
Det Som En Gang Var
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerminVermin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Comcast uses DHCP, however the IP configuration from Comcast gets saved to your router, not your PC. For all Comcast knows, you have one PC directly connected to the cable modem. A router is a beautiful thing.

If it worked fine on the LiveCD, then it's not a driver issue. Did you forget to emerge dhcpcd? What happens when you type "net-setup eth0" after chrooting to gentoo from the CD, or booting from the HDD?
_________________
I tried snorting coke once. The icecubes got stuck up my nose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shopro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 678
Location: Dayton, OH, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also a look in your /etc/conf.d/net might be helpful
_________________
Just because I have nothing to say is no reason why you shouldn't listen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KhenemetSobek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently the program net-setup doesn't exist on my computer, only on the LiveCd. What package should I emerge to fix this?

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

# This is basically the ifconfig arguement without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.0.1 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#From when I tried DHCP
#
#dhcpcd_eth0="-HD"
#dhcpcd_eth0="-N"

# For adding aliases to an interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB: The next is only used for aliases
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"

# For setting the default gateway
#
gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"


I did emerge dhcpcd.
_________________
Xeper
Det Som En Gang Var
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerminVermin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens when you run the command "dhcpcd"?
_________________
I tried snorting coke once. The icecubes got stuck up my nose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
originalbrownster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 61
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
From what has been said I would check the following in this order:

Check the driver is loaded for your network card, this is done automatically when you boot from the livecd but not once you boot into your own installation.
normally you would add the driver to load in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
see the section 7.e http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=7

I do not know your ISP /router however the most likely scenario is:
Your router gets an IP from the ISP using dhcp.
You plug your pc('s) into ports on the router and dependant on your router configuration you maybe able to use dhcp to get a dynamic ip for your pc OR choose a static range of ip's (Dependant on your router )

Personally I use a static IP for my pc's to connect to my router. In which case you would use a config file similar to KhenemetSobek posted.
If you decide to use dhcp you change the config to iface_eth0="dhcp"
see section 8.b http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=8#doc_chap2


Once you have taken these stages, the command 'ifconfig eth0' should show a properly configured interface, if not you have a problem which needs further investigating.

Assuming the above worked and you have configured name servers in /etc/resolv.conf you should be able to connect to the internet.

Let us know how you get on.

OB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnuageux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt that its a configuration issue. did you build the kernel yourself or use the genkernel utility? Sounds to me like you didnt compile that module to support your NIC. You can check this by: boot using the livecd and run lsmod. Boot normally and use the same command then compare the results. If you can post the output of lsmod, and lspci | grep ethernet here that would be helpful.
_________________
The realOTW: http://forums.realotw.org/index.php

Registered Linux user#364538
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
squirrelplayingtag
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem. No internet from the hard drive, but can from the livecd.
Originally I used genkernel but then I reemerge gentoo-source and recompiled the kernel. I'm going through a linksys wireless B router, but connected through ethernet. I did emerge dhcpcd. My etc/conf.d/net only has one line uncommented.
Code:

iface_eth0="dhcp"

Quote:

Check the driver is loaded for your network card, this is done automatically when you boot from the livecd but not once you boot into your own installation.
normally you would add the driver to load in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
see the section 7.e http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=7

I have a netgear ethernet card and I didn't see any drivers to load for it. The out put of my lsmod is as follows. Harddrive :
Code:

ieee1394
input
uhci
usbcore

Livecd:
Code:

natsemi
parport_pc
parport
serial
sbp2
usb-storage
hid
uhci
usbcore


ifconfig eth0 says it can not find device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shopro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 678
Location: Dayton, OH, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This should help you out.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=237337&highlight=natsemi
_________________
Just because I have nothing to say is no reason why you shouldn't listen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
squirrelplayingtag
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my kernel I have <*> National Semiconducto DP8381x Series PCI
Still no go. I can also not get to my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4. In /etc/modules.autoload.d I can see that there is a kernel-2.4 from ls-a; but when I try to go to it it says it can't find the directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum