View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
JidA n00b
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:47 pm Post subject: Troubles getting adsl to work |
|
|
Hi,
I finished gentoo installation recently and would want to get my internet
connection to work with it, otherwise I'll have to keep using windows more often .
First of I own a Topcom Webr@cer 851 PSTN USB modem directly connected to my pc, no hub, router or anything. So I searched the web and found that I should get him to work with the amedyn driver for the zyxel modem and installed and compiled that. Now when I run that amedyn script: amstart.sh, I get the following:
Code: | jida etc # amstart.sh
>>> Inits Zyxel 630-11 & Asus AAM6000UG <<<
>>> Removing amedyn driver...
>>> Loading firmware...
Zyxel 630-11 & Asus AAM6000UG microcode upload program. 12/10/2003
Josep Comas <jcomas@gna.es>
Sundar <sundar@cynaptix.biz>
Eduardo Espejo <eespejo@users.sourceforge.net>
I found ADSL modem with VendorID = 06b9 & ProductID = a5a5
Loading and sending /usr/sbin/fw-usb.bin...
Firmware is sent!
Waiting ADSL line is up (until 90 seconds)...
.......
ADSL line is up
>>> Loading driver...
Launching driver in normal mode...
/usr/sbin/amload.sh successful
Setting PPP over Ethernet...
>>> Setting PPPoE <<<
>>> Activating send/receive data...
Zxyel 630-11 & Asus AAM6000UG ioctl call. 24/9/2003
Josep Comas <jcomas@gna.es>
Sundar <sundar@cynaptix.biz>
Eduardo Espejo <eespejo@users.sourceforge.net>
I found ADSL modem with VendorID = 06b9 & ProductID = a5a5
>>> Loading br2684 kernel module...
modprobe: Can't locate module br2684
>>> Loading ppp_generic...
modprobe: Can't locate module ppp_generic
>>> Loading br2684ctl...
RFC1483/2684 bridge: Interface "nas0" created sucessfully
RFC1483/2684 bridge: Communicating over ATM 0.8.35, encapsulation: LLC
RFC1483/2684 bridge: Interface configured
>>> Activating interface...
>>> Loading pppd daemon...
................TIMED OUT
/sbin/adsl-start: line 199: 3665 Terminated $CONNECT "$@" >/dev/nu ll 2>&1
|
Looked all promising till it reached the end
ifconfig:
Code: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:F4:37:77:F9
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:6217 (6.0 Kb) TX bytes:360 (360.0 b)
Interrupt:5
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:166 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:166 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:10372 (10.1 Kb) TX bytes:10372 (10.1 Kb)
nas0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:96:04:C3:86
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
|
Hope you can help me out.
TIA
JidA |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JidA n00b
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Made a stupid mistake in the adsl setup, chose eth0 instead of nas0 , but as that problem is solved and I get connected, I am still not able to browse. Is there some kind of config file I need to adopt before I am able to browse or able to update portage:
Code: | jida root # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:F4:37:77:F9
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:243 (243.0 b) TX bytes:180 (180.0 b)
Interrupt:5
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:358 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:358 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:27484 (26.8 Kb) TX bytes:27484 (26.8 Kb)
nas0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:96:04:C3:86
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:59 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3914 (3.8 Kb) TX bytes:4103 (4.0 Kb)
ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:212.239.133.90 P-t-P:212.239.132.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:2531 (2.4 Kb) TX bytes:2006 (1.9 Kb) |
TIA
JidA |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d4rk74m4 Arch/Herd Tester
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 151
|
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'd probably check that pppd put some IP addresses for your ISP's dns servers in /etc/resolv.conf.
If they're there, also check that your default route is pointing to your ISP's gateway.
Code: |
disoft-dc darktama # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
203.220.79.11 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
127.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 203.220.79.11 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 ppp0
|
If the default route (the 0.0.0.0 one) is not pointing to your gateway, add it with
route add default gw <gateway_address>
*edit* bold didn't work in code tags.. or i screwed something up..
[/b] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|