Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge kdebase-startkde (basic KDE install)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
onlybui
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 6:54 pm    Post subject: emerge kdebase-startkde (basic KDE install) Reply with quote

Wondering if I just run emerge kde if xorg gets install too? or do I need to install Xorg first before I install kde?

thanks in advance


Last edited by onlybui on Mon May 30, 2005 5:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boogerman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 253
Location: Tennessee

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe you have to emerge xorg first, but do an emerge -p kde, and it will list everything it wants to install, see if it's in there. Please post what you see as I'm curious but don't want to uninstall xorg to see. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xorg will be installed also, as it is a dependencie for every X program. And of course, all the dependencies of X will be pushed also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onlybui
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok im not @ home but will try, so if I emerge kde only do I need to configure Xorg?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bur
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The nice thing about emerge is, that it does install all packages your program depends on. As KDE needs a working X, as long as it isn't installed already, it will get automatically installed by emerge. You can check this by doing an
Code:
emerge -av kde
, that will give you a list of all packages it plans to install and also give you some info about each package. Then you can decide whether or not to install them.

A good place to check what program needs which other programs also depending on the USE flags you set, is: gentoo-portage. You can also look what USE-flags can be set and what they do mean.

When compiling KDE it is good to set USE=kdeenablefinale in your /etc/make.conf - that will give you a much better compiling time. And especially on older systems KDE will take a lot of time to compile. Or, if you don't know how to set use-flags just do this:
Code:
USE=kdeenablefinal emerge -av kde



In most cases you don't need to configure X, but it is better. For example a scroll wheel at your mouse won't work otherwise. And you need to configure X to start KDE. That will be very easy if you follow the steps in these documents:

Configure X
Configure KDE


Last edited by bur on Fri May 27, 2005 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onlybui
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you for that info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bur
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

onlybui wrote:
thank you for that info

Just be sure that if you already installed xorg (for example with "emerge kde") that you only follow the instructions in chapter 3. "Configuring Xorg" from http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml. Don't reinstall xorg by doing "emerge xorf" or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
onlybui
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I haven't install Xorg if kde is going to install it first, but seems like I won't be able to install it cause seems that kde is not stable or is masked....


So I still want to install it but now I just want to install basic and test it

so I emerge kdebase-startkde and gives me a error that its masked....
now reading how some people installed it
nano -w /etc/portage/package.keywords
Code:

# KDE 3.4
kde-base/kdebase-meta ~x86
kde-base/kdm ~x86
kde-base/kcontrol ~x86
kde-base/kdebase-pam ~x86
kde-base/kdebase-data ~x86
kde-base/kcminit ~x86
kde-base/kdelibs ~x86
kde-base/arts ~x86
kde-base/ksplashml ~x86
kde-base/ksmserver ~x86
kde-base/kreadconfig ~x86
kde-base/kdesktop ~x86
kde-base/libkonq ~x86
kde-base/kcheckpass ~x86
kde-base/kwin ~x86
kde-base/kpersonalizer ~x86
kde-base/kscreensaver ~x86
kde-base/kdebugdialog ~x86
kde-base/ksysguard ~x86
kde-base/knetattach ~x86
kde-base/khelpcenter ~x86
kde-base/kappfinder ~x86
kde-base/kicker ~x86
kde-base/kdepasswd ~x86
kde-base/kfind ~x86
kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves ~x86
kde-base/kdesu ~x86
kde-base/kxkb ~x86
kde-base/kdialog ~x86
kde-base/ksystraycmd ~x86
kde-base/klipper ~x86
kde-base/kstart ~x86
kde-base/khotkeys ~x86
kde-base/ktip ~x86
kde-base/kate ~x86
kde-base/nsplugins ~x86
kde-base/kdeprint ~x86
kde-base/kdcop ~x86
kde-base/kpager ~x86
kde-base/kmenuedit ~x86
kde-base/kdebase-startkde ~x86
kde-base/drkonqi ~x86
kde-base/konqueror ~x86
kde-base/konsole ~x86
kde-base/kpilot ~x86
kde-base/kontact ~x86
kde-base/libkpimidentities ~x86
kde-base/libkdepim ~x86
kde-base/libkcal ~x86
kde-base/ktnef ~x86
kde-base/certmanager ~x86
kde-base/libkpgp ~x86
kde-base/libkdenetwork ~x86


Code:

emerge kde-base-meta

Ok so im not to sure if this is for a full blown install of KDE I just want what the manual says "If you want a basic KDE installation, install kdebase-startkde"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your problem is that the split ebuild for kde are only availabe for 3.4, that is still unstable. kde-base/startkde is a split ebuild, so that's the problem.

You have to solutions:

1.- To unmask kde-3.4 packages while the system request them, it's painfull but if you dont want to do that just search the packages list, is around in these forums. 3.4 is stable even being masked, and is working in lot of boxes w/o any problem.

2.- To emerge the old kde-3.3.2 monolithic ebuilds, then you have to start emerge kde-base, and then any other you want, like kde-graphics, kde-network, kde-graphics....... These are stable and unmasked. The choice is yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum