Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot open root device "hda3" (Partially Solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John the Kiwi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 1:47 am    Post subject: Cannot open root device "hda3" (Partially Solved) Reply with quote

[Edit}

I switched to a primary IDE drive and everything installed fine. Neither Genkernel or I realized I needed to compile "Intel PIIX/ICH SATA support" into my kernel.

It was a strange problem tho. My old bootable CD recognized the drive as /dev/hda1 provided I turned the IDE emulation on in the BIOS. The later kernels wouldn't recognize the SATA drive without the SCSI low level IBM driver installed.

Hope this helps someone else :)

[/edit]


I've followed the Handbook twice and used custom compiled kernels as well as Genkernels and I'm getting this error on the first boot every time.

Code:
Cannot open root device "hda3" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)


My grub.conf looks thusly:

Code:
default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Kernel-2.6.9

root (hd0,0)
kernel /bzImage root=/dev/hda3


I tried creating hda3 as ext3 and reiserfs and I made sure the filesystem drivers were compiled into the kernel. I've tried several different kernels, it worked fine with a 2.4 kernel before I wiped my machine. But not even genkernel has made a difference because it still has the same problems.

Can anyone help? I've been pulling my hair out all day!

Kiwi


Last edited by John the Kiwi on Fri Nov 05, 2004 9:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbitz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try increasing the ramdisk size. The default is often too small.

--kbitz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vidar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 239
Location: Washington, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The kernel line looks wrong. it should be something like:
Code:
kernel (hd0,0)/bzImage root=/dev/hda3


Note the (hd0,0).
_________________
"Vidar, Odin's mighty son, he will come to slay the wolf
The sword runs into the heart of Hverdrungs son
So he avenges his father" -- Amon Amarth - Burning Creation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lajasha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 1040
Location: Vibe Central

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vidar wrote:
The kernel line looks wrong. it should be something like:
Code:
kernel (hd0,0)/bzImage root=/dev/hda3


Note the (hd0,0).


Actualy you don't need the (hd0,0), but it might fix it???:
Code:
timeout 5
default 0
fallback 1

# For booting GNU/Linux
title  GNU/Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /Gentoo-2.4.26 root=/dev/md2


That is my grub.conf. Also make sure that you have the Filesystem compiled into the kernel and not as a module.
_________________
Come and play in my land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John the Kiwi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I really don't know what the problem is :( I started from scratch again, tried two kernels - gentoo-dev-sources and gentoo-sources (compiled with genkernel) and I tried Grub and Lilo. I haven't been able to boot my system yet and I'm sure that all the boot loader files are correct.

It's the same errors I reported above. With a Genkernel and initrd the system will stop and ask me for the root partition because it can't mount /dev/hda3.

With a regular kernel it reports the error listed above.

I've been booting off a live CD and mounting the same partitions following the handbook - hda3 for /, hda2 for swap and hda1 for /boot. I can chroot use portage etc without a hitch.

If anyone has any other ideas I'd be interested to hear, otherwise I'll have to keep fedora on this box :(

Kiwi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lajasha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 1040
Location: Vibe Central

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John the Kiwi wrote:
Well I really don't know what the problem is :( I started from scratch again, tried two kernels - gentoo-dev-sources and gentoo-sources (compiled with genkernel) and I tried Grub and Lilo. I haven't been able to boot my system yet and I'm sure that all the boot loader files are correct.

It's the same errors I reported above. With a Genkernel and initrd the system will stop and ask me for the root partition because it can't mount /dev/hda3.

With a regular kernel it reports the error listed above.

I've been booting off a live CD and mounting the same partitions following the handbook - hda3 for /, hda2 for swap and hda1 for /boot. I can chroot use portage etc without a hitch.

If anyone has any other ideas I'd be interested to hear, otherwise I'll have to keep fedora on this box :(

Kiwi


What kind of HD's are you using and what kind of controller?
_________________
Come and play in my land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How have you partitioned your disk?
Post the contents of your fstab too.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John the Kiwi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm following the hand book pretty closely. I have a suspician that the problem has something to do with my disk set up. I'm using a Gigabyte 8Ik1100 and a WD 120 Gig drive.

I'm creating three partitions like the hand book says:

    /dev/hda1 boot ext
    /dev/hda2 swap
    /dev/hda3 / reiserfs (tried ext3 too)


Here's my grub.conf:
Code:

defailt 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo-2.4.26 - Genkernel
root(hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.26-gentoo-r9 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linixrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda3 video=795
initrd /initrd-2.4.26-gentoo-r9


My motherboard has this "feature" that installs the hard drive as the Primary Master (/dev/hda). Booting from the 1.4 Live CD works fine and I can partition /dev/hda with no problems. Until last week I had Gentoo running on this box with a 2.4 kernel on /dev/hda. I compiled the gentoo-dev-sources kernel and figured I'd done sommat wrong so I recompiled with genkernel and i still got the boot errors. So I tried genkernel with a gentoo-sources kernel and still got the same problem, so I'm sure that reiserfs support has been compiled directly into the kernel as required.

Everything looks sweet when the system boots up until it tries to mount the root partition, as mentioned earlier.

The strange thing is that when I boot into my Fedora install the whole drive is no longer /dev/hda it's now /dev/sda, even though the BIOS reports it as being the primary Master (not SATA).

Code:
[root@localhost kiwi]# /sbin/fdisk -l
 
Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB, 40027029504 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77557 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes
 
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdc1   *           1         203      102280+  83  Linux
/dev/hdc2             204       73494    36938664   83  Linux
/dev/hdc3           73495       77557     2047752   82  Linux swap
 
Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
 
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1           5       40131   83  Linux
/dev/sda2               6         255     2008125   82  Linux swap
/dev/sda3             256       14593   115169985   83  Linux


Knoppix sees the drive as /dev/hda. I downloaded and burnt two Gentoo Live CD images today, neither of them are booting for me :( The 1.4 boot CD I have hangs if I set the WD hard drive to /dev/sda rather than /dev/hda.

I've tried booting from Grub and I also installed lilo, both hang when trying to mount /dev/hda3, I tried entering /dev/sda3 when it asked for a valid root partition but this didn't work either. Unfortunately the initrd image doesn't come with a copy of fdisk so I can't run fdisk -l to see what the system thinks the hard disk is.

Anyone got any ideas?

Kiwi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What type sata-controller do you have?
Search the forums for which drivers you need for that. You may need to enable scsi for example for some controllers.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kbitz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try increasing the ramdisk size in the kernel; it seems to have worked for others in the past.

--kbitz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John the Kiwi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I grabbed an 80Gig IDE hard disk today and managed to install the whole system with no problems and first go - custom kernel and all.

I still havent been able to figure out why my SATA drive doesn't work however after trying so many times I am as sure as I can be of these few things:


    The kernel was compiled with the appropriate filesystems
    The grub.conf file was correct
    My partition types and fstab settings were correct all along (for hda)


My assumption is that something changed in the naming scheme every time I tried to boot my system the first time and that /dev/hda3, /dev/sda3 and various other combinations would just not work for my system with the SATA drive installed.

Not much of a solution, but thatnk everyone for your time.

John the Kiwi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scud80
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's a little late in coming but in the original grub.conf you posted your root should have been /dev/sda3 if it's an sata drive .... also the entries in the fstab should have used sda instead of hda ....

later -- jake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
edit_21
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a similar problem , set up using sda1 to 3 and now at boot i get the same problem , doesnt recognise this as a root ffs... i am getting very pissed at this and can't seem to see a light at the end lol
PLEASE HELP B4 BILL PULLS ME BACK TO THE DARK SIDE LOL :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum