View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
energymedia
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:08 am    Post subject: Xorg -configure issues - total Gentoo newbie Reply with quote

Hey all,

I am completely new to Gentoo and am trying to get a workstation configured (Dell Optiplex GX110). I have had everything go successful up until trying to get xorg-x11 configured. Emerged it OK and reinitialized the environment variables (# env-update, # sourece /etc/profile). Tried to use the 'Xorg -configure' and get the following error:

Quote:
(EE) Failed to load module "i810" (once-only module, -1073747340) (++) Using config file: "/root/xorg.conf.new"

I am using the onboard video card (Intel i810 chipset) and a ViewSonic A70 monitor.

When I run 'X -config /root/xorg.conf.new' I get the message stating:
Quote:
Fatal server error: no screens found

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated in rectifying this problem.
asgardwarrior
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you compile the video driver when you made your kernel?
pjp
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
benj_a
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same problem, (and am also a completely new to gentoo).

I installed a stage 3 distribution, kernel-2.6, from the 2004.2 cd, and used genkernel to build the kernel. I don't remember seeing anything about the video driver (but please correct me if I need to go back to that and do it over again).

I am loading the i810 driver at boot time, but my Xorg -configure still says it can't find it.

Any help would be great!

Thanks,
Ben
energymedia
n00b
n00b