View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Aggut n00b
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 8:02 am Post subject: Need help with firing up samba for network. |
|
|
First of: warning. I have been using Linux for about two days now. Got entruiged to try Linux out by a friend.
I have been looking around in threads in this forum, looking at samba.org and still not found what I am looking for. I want my computer up and running as I am used to with windows on the network, filesharing wise.
I have installed samba and xfsamba, those seemed fitting. But how do I configure them so the computer acts like an ordinary windows computer? Say what folders to share to others and how to mount others network shares so I can access them? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
donjuan l33t
Joined: 11 May 2004 Posts: 760 Location: At Uni
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
check out the docs:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/quick-samba-howto.xml
I would suggest forgetting about the virus scanner though, because it has caused trouble for several people including me, even when it is working. Getting it working is a challenge in itself.
If you want to mount your Windows network shares on boot you can add something like this to /etc/fstab:
Code: | //<server>/<share> <mount_dir> smbfs <options>,username=<something>,password=<something> 0 0 |
Look into the options because if you don't use something like uid, gid, or umask the share will be mounted so that only root can access. I usually use uid=1000 so that I own it (it seems to be in Gentoo that the first user created always has id 1000). Make sure that you have built smbfs support into your kernel.
Edit: I probably should mention that all the options are listed under "man mount". Each FS type has its own options so make sure you find those for smbfs. _________________ Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.
The Stage 1 on 3 Install |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Aggut n00b
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have followed that guide, and left out the printer parts and virus checking of the configuration ending up with
/etc/samba/smb.conf
Code: |
[global]
workgroup = ******
server string = Samba Server %v
log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 50
socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
interfaces = lo eth0
bind interfaces only = yes
hosts allow = 127.0.0.1 192.168.0./24
hosts deny = 0.0.0.0/0
security = share
guest account = samba
guest ok = yes
[public]
comment = Public files
browseable = yes
public = yes
create mode = 0766
guest ok = yes
path = /home/samba/public
|
The samba daemon is up and running, a samba account created, I can access others shares.
But it doesn't grants the other computers in the network access to my beloved beauty.
What have I missed?
And is there a way to mount their computers shares dynamically into a folder? If they have two folders shared, can you mount their computer so all their shares are in one and a same mount? _________________ Knowledge is knowing that you don't have a clue, I'm a guru at everything. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
solatis Apprentice
Joined: 06 Nov 2002 Posts: 214 Location: University of Twente, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't see you identifying your server name anywhere ? Have you tried connecting on ip ?
And you can mount samba shares to a folder by doing
mount -t smbfs //computer/share /mnt/computer
... please note that you need to compile Network Filesystems => Samba Support into your kernel. _________________ Grtz,
Leon Mergen
http://www.solatis.com/
Last edited by solatis on Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:48 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Aggut n00b
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for all your help. But this problem just seems more and more strange the more I try to solve it...
As for naming my comp, default is hostname. But I have tried to change that as well. When I log into my computer with samba clients though localhost I see everything. If I try to connect from another comp to the samba with IP instead of wins address I get nothing. But everything else in network perspective works, ICQ, p2p, ftp, ping... you name it.
So I seem to have isolated the problem to connectivity... somewhere between the NIC and samba server. _________________ Knowledge is knowing that you don't have a clue, I'm a guru at everything. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
solatis Apprentice
Joined: 06 Nov 2002 Posts: 214 Location: University of Twente, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is my smb.conf:
Global section:
Code: | workgroup = MARVEL COMICS
netbios name = SOLATIS2
server string = Welcome to Solatis2, %m
log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 500
security = share
encrypt passwords = yes
smb passwd file = /etc/samba/private/smbpasswd
socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
wins support = yes
wins server = 130.89.1.108
dns proxy = no |
And an example share:
Code: | comment = Upload for %m
browsable = yes
writable = yes
public = yes
path = /disk2/upload |
_________________ Grtz,
Leon Mergen
http://www.solatis.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
donjuan l33t
Joined: 11 May 2004 Posts: 760 Location: At Uni
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm not sure how much the server will like your workgroup name, so you might want to change it to something else, unless you already have. Also, I think this is probably causing you problems:
Code: | hosts allow = 127.0.0.1 192.168.0./24 |
Try changing it to this:
Code: | hosts allow = 127.0.0.1 192.168.0.0/24 |
I assume that 192.168.0.0 is your network gateway. This is probably where your connection from other computers problem is.
Also, I'm not sure if it's important, but Windows clients tend to like to use "guest" for the guest account, so I've made the guest account line:
Code: | guest account = guest |
About the naming thing, I never specified one as far as I can remember, it just went with the hostname of my computer. _________________ Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.
The Stage 1 on 3 Install |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Aggut n00b
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 4:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I seem to have corrected some problems. It apears as 192.168.0. is the same as 192.168.0.0/24 and 192.168.0./24, all three works for me... The workgroup name works perfetcly fine, now my other comps can see my linux box on the network. Weeeehooooo!!! Just in time to discover the next problem in line. When I got this fixed I got all the things I need out of my workstation, music, some video relaxation and a devel env. So then I got no need to switch back to Win.
It has to do with Users, mounting and access so that's another forum, thanks alot for all the help. Very much appriciated _________________ Knowledge is knowing that you don't have a clue, I'm a guru at everything. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|