View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
s4kk3 Apprentice
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 232 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Those drivers not working for me
It says GLX is missing from diplay. When I change back to 6111 it works. _________________ My own filemanager project |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cintra Advocate
Joined: 03 Apr 2004 Posts: 2111 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
s4kk3 wrote: | Those drivers not working for me
It says GLX is missing from diplay. When I change back to 6111 it works. |
Hei s4kk3
That's a great pity.. besides being faster, this is the sharpest screen I've seen on Linux so far!
Btw I'm using development-sources 2.6.10-rc1
mvh _________________ "I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lasker Guru
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 445
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
r3pek wrote: | AllowGLXWithComposite is not an extension!
you have to put the option in the Device section of the Nvidia Card. |
Oh yes, works now, thanks (did I have to know that?).
But still, no performance boost here.
s4kk3: Did you read the whole thread thoroughly, particularely the first post?
Maybe your problem is already described here... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Legoguy wrote: | I should note that for some reason, for me, the latest masked opengl-update did not link libglx.so to /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/, it instead (tried) to link it to /usr/lib/modules/extensions/. So you're going to have to manually link that if you come across the same problem.
Also note that the new driver has a new option that by default disables glx if the composite extension is enabled. To enable GLX + Composite (at your own risk), add this to the device section of xorg.conf: Code: | Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true" |
|
Thx, that's why glxgears wasn't working _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective| |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fallow Bodhisattva
Joined: 08 Jan 2004 Posts: 2208 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 5:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
black screen here with 2610-rc1-bkX. nvidia-kernel 6629 from portage
greetings _________________ "Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived" J-L. Picard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Warp4 n00b
Joined: 09 Apr 2003 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi,
works great here with 2.6.10-rc1-bk16 and only one patch.
Code: |
diff -ru linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8/mm/mmap.c linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8-2/mm/mmap.c
--- linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8/mm/mmap.c 2004-11-06 15:04:28.000000000 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8-2/mm/mmap.c 2004-11-06 15:39:47.000000000 +0100
@@ -1011,7 +1011,8 @@
__vm_stat_account(mm, vm_flags, file, len >> PAGE_SHIFT);
if (vm_flags & VM_LOCKED) {
mm->locked_vm += len >> PAGE_SHIFT;
- make_pages_present(addr, addr + len);
+ if (!(vm_flags & VM_IO))
+ make_pages_present(addr, addr + len);
}
if (flags & MAP_POPULATE) {
up_write(&mm->mmap_sem);
|
warpy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
golian n00b
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 24 Location: Europe, Poland
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have problem with new drivers. When I run game eg.:
./foobillard: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/opengl/nvidia/lib/libGLcore.so.1: undefined symbol: _nv000790gl
or tuxracer:
./tuxracer: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/opengl/nvidia/lib/libGLcore.so.1: undefined symbol: _nv000790gl
mplayer with USE flag "nvidia" same error
Best regards
golian[/b][/u] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Warp4 n00b
Joined: 09 Apr 2003 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi,
golian wrote: | I have problem with new drivers. When I run game eg.:
./foobillard: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/opengl/nvidia/lib/libGLcore.so.1: undefined symbol: _nv000790gl
Best regards
golian[/b][/u] |
cd /usr/lib/opengl/
rm -r nvidia
emerge nvidia-glx
opengl-update nvidia
works for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thubble Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 119 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Warp4 wrote: | hi,
works great here with 2.6.10-rc1-bk16 and only one patch.
Code: |
diff -ru linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8/mm/mmap.c linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8-2/mm/mmap.c
--- linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8/mm/mmap.c 2004-11-06 15:04:28.000000000 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.10-rc1-bk8-2/mm/mmap.c 2004-11-06 15:39:47.000000000 +0100
@@ -1011,7 +1011,8 @@
__vm_stat_account(mm, vm_flags, file, len >> PAGE_SHIFT);
if (vm_flags & VM_LOCKED) {
mm->locked_vm += len >> PAGE_SHIFT;
- make_pages_present(addr, addr + len);
+ if (!(vm_flags & VM_IO))
+ make_pages_present(addr, addr + len);
}
if (flags & MAP_POPULATE) {
up_write(&mm->mmap_sem);
|
warpy |
To get it to work with 2.6.10-rc1-mm3, apply that patch as well as this one:
http://thanks.teambarry.org/kernel/broken-out/2.6.10-rc1-mm3-barry1/nvidia-gpl-symbols-to-regular-symbols.diff
Then apply the following to the Nvidia drivers (do "ebuild /path/to/nvidia-ebuild unpack", patch manually, then "ebuild /path/to/nvidia-ebuild compile install qmerge"):
http://thanks.teambarry.org/kernel/misc/nvidia/6629/NVIDIA-to-level-4.diff |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Illissius Guru
Joined: 31 Jul 2004 Posts: 395 Location: Hungary
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Works great for me with 2.6.9-nitro1. A more detailed changelog would be nice, though... (for example, what "improved support for RenderAccel" actually means). _________________ Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm |
|
Back to top |
|
|
devsk Advocate
Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 3003 Location: Bay Area, CA
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apexman wrote: |
Code: |
...
### xhacks
LeaveXBeforeSuspend yes
nVidiaHack no
|
Ta-da
[edit]
Switching to vesafb-tng solved the problem with console...
Turning off fb support also should help, I think...
[/edit] |
suspend still doesn't work here. I tried various combinations:
with/without APM and ACPI.
I removed linux agpgart,drm from kernel. vesafb-tng is there. APIC also removed. 4k stack not there. pre-emptible kernel is there.
All lead to X running with 100% CPU. nitro2 with xorg-x11-6.8.0-r1.
Last edited by devsk on Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:22 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
s4kk3 Apprentice
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 232 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cintra wrote: | s4kk3 wrote: | Those drivers not working for me
It says GLX is missing from diplay. When I change back to 6111 it works. |
Hei s4kk3
That's a great pity.. besides being faster, this is the sharpest screen I've seen on Linux so far!
Btw I'm using development-sources 2.6.10-rc1
mvh |
Yes I did. Had once before this problem, but 6111 fixed it. Maybe I should try the ones from nvidia site. Hope it will help. So annoying see people saying it's much faster than older drivers. _________________ My own filemanager project |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Warp4 n00b
Joined: 09 Apr 2003 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
edit my nvidia-kernel-1.0.6629.ebuild
<SNIP>
# Add patches below, with a breif description.
cd ${S}
# Fix the /usr/src/linux/include/asm not existing on koutput issue #58294
epatch ${FILESDIR}/${PV}/conftest_koutput_includes.patch
# NVIDIA-to-level-4
epatch ${FILESDIR}/${PV}/NVIDIA-to-level-4.diff
<SNIP>
cp NVIDIA-to-level-4.diff /usr/portage/media-video/nvidia-kernel/files/1.0.6629
emerge nvidia-kernel
2.6.10-rc1-mm3 #2 SMP Sun Nov 7 20:46:48 CET 2004 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
warpy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sl70 Guru
Joined: 18 Jun 2002 Posts: 455 Location: Saitama, JP
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Woo. Upgrading to 6629 gave me an increase in glxgears of about 30% with the 2.6.9-nitro1 kernel! However, when I try to run ut2004 I get this message:
Code: | Could not load OpenGL library
History:
Exiting due to error
|
Anyone know what's going on? Would it help at all to re-emerge UT? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sl70 Guru
Joined: 18 Jun 2002 Posts: 455 Location: Saitama, JP
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, to answer my own question, re-emerging didn't do anything. I didn't think it would, since UT is a binary package. Oh, well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Legoguy Apprentice
Joined: 22 Dec 2003 Posts: 166 Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cyfred wrote: | Legoguy : I think that might be because you are not using xorg 6.8.0-r2 but can you confirm that please. |
I am indeed using xorg-x11 6.8.0-r2. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
golian n00b
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 24 Location: Europe, Poland
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Warp4 wrote: | hi,
cd /usr/lib/opengl/
rm -r nvidia
emerge nvidia-glx
opengl-update nvidia
works for me. |
Big thanks it works |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyfred Retired Dev
Joined: 23 Aug 2002 Posts: 596
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Legoguy: Before you did the manual linking, did the directory /usr/lib/modules/extensions actually exist? Thats basically what im trying to establish, why it failed.
For everyone that is experiencing OpenGL issues, please exit X and do the following
Code: | emerge -C nvidia-glx
opengl-update xorg-x11
rm -rf /usr/lib/opengl/nvidia
emerge nvidia-glx
restart X |
As for the mm-sources hacks is it only mm-sources that require the NVIDIA-to-level-4.diff patch to be applied? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Apexman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Apr 2004 Posts: 141
|
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
devsk wrote: |
suspend still doesn't work here. I tried various combinations:
with/without APM and ACPI.
I removed linux agpgart,drm from kernel. vesafb-tng is there. APIC also removed. 4k stack not there. pre-emptible kernel is there.
All lead to X running with 100% CPU. nitro2 with xorg-x11-6.8.0-r1. |
I use XOrg-6.8.0-r1 and -nitro2.
AGPGart must be compiled in! Well, I tried to disable it too - and had black screen after resume. Phenomenally
Option "NvAgp" "1"
in xorg.conf disables AGPGart, enables NV-AGP
[edit]
And does nothing Because AGPGart was built in kernel.
The only solution is to disable AGP at all by
Option "NvAgp" "0"
[/edit]
DRM is useless with nVidia cards - disabled
APM disabled
ACPI enabled (I use acpid and power button to hibernate)
APIC is useless with my mobo (nforce2 chipset), disabled even in BIOS.
Preempt the big kernel lock enabled.
Last edited by Apexman on Sun Nov 14, 2004 8:47 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
devsk Advocate
Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 3003 Location: Bay Area, CA
|
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 12:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apexman wrote: |
I use XOrg-6.8.1-r1 and -nitro2. |
was that mis-typed or am I missing an ebuild(and a release altogether...)? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Apexman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Apr 2004 Posts: 141
|
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
devsk wrote: | Apexman wrote: |
I use XOrg-6.8.1-r1 and -nitro2. |
was that mis-typed or am I missing an ebuild(and a release altogether...)? |
yah... 6.8.0-r1...
The digits "6.8.1" was in my head because of xorg.freedesktop.org. Sorry |
|
Back to top |
|
|
devsk Advocate
Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 3003 Location: Bay Area, CA
|
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I finally got it working. culprits?
1.) Under ACPI, CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER should NOT be set.
2.) APIC has to be disabled too.
Thanks a lot Apexman, you rock!!
PS: did you notice that gnome-settings-daemon gets killed during resume? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Apexman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Apr 2004 Posts: 141
|
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 2:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
devsk wrote: |
1.) Under ACPI, CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER should NOT be set.
|
Hmm, it's enabled in my config. But this may be hardware-related situaton, I think.
devsk wrote: |
PS: did you notice that gnome-settings-daemon gets killed during resume? |
No, on my system it's running wih the same PID, as before hibernation. gnome-2.8 (control-center-2.8.0) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sl70 Guru
Joined: 18 Jun 2002 Posts: 455 Location: Saitama, JP
|
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
cyfred said:
Quote: | For everyone that is experiencing OpenGL issues, please exit X and do the following
Code: |
emerge -C nvidia-glx
opengl-update xorg-x11
rm -rf /usr/lib/opengl/nvidia
emerge nvidia-glx
restart X
|
|
I followed these instructions but UT2004 still gives me the openGL library can't be loaded message. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fro5tbite n00b
Joined: 28 Apr 2004 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 5:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
hmm.. i couldnt get it to work i tried all the possible solutions above, none of them work..
it compiles everything fine.. it hung on starting kde, during the splash screen...
it just sits there.. nothing happen...
change back to 1.0.6111-r3 now, until it is stable...
btw im using 2.6.9-ck1 and xorg-6.8.0-r1 _________________ " Fast Lane Equals Fast Cars, Fast Corner Equals Fast Driver "
180whp Civic Hybrid JDM B16a N/A |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|