View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Twiggy794 Guru
Joined: 21 Jun 2004 Posts: 321 Location: Hershey, PA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Aye, I reported this a bit earlier:
Quote: | doh! Got an erroR:
Code:
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555:69: macro "kthread_run" requires 5 arguments, but only 3 given
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c: In function `msp_attach':
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: `kthread_run' undeclared (first use in this function)
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[3]: *** [drivers/media/video/msp3400.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [drivers/media/video] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/media] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2
Same config works on past -nitro's, -ck's, and oodles of other kernels. Anybody have this as well? |
rusxakep suggested this:
Quote: | patch it msp3400.c in 1555: kthread_run (bla,bla,bla);
add 4th parameter: i2c_client_name(c). |
But I'm not feeling that brave. _________________ "Subtraction: Addition's tricky pal." --David Letterman
http://ferg.ath.cx == teh bL0g |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tnt Veteran
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 Posts: 1227
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Twiggy794 wrote: | Aye, I reported this a bit earlier:
Quote: | doh! Got an erroR:
Code:
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555:69: macro "kthread_run" requires 5 arguments, but only 3 given
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c: In function `msp_attach':
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: `kthread_run' undeclared (first use in this function)
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[3]: *** [drivers/media/video/msp3400.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [drivers/media/video] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/media] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2
Same config works on past -nitro's, -ck's, and oodles of other kernels. Anybody have this as well? |
rusxakep suggested this:
Quote: | patch it msp3400.c in 1555: kthread_run (bla,bla,bla);
add 4th parameter: i2c_client_name(c). |
But I'm not feeling that brave. |
Compiled well with that patch! Just add that parameter! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Avenger902 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jun 2004 Posts: 95
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Woohoo! My nvidia kbuild problem is no more with nitro3! Thanks Seppe for a great kernel (and those who helped too!) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Twiggy794 Guru
Joined: 21 Jun 2004 Posts: 321 Location: Hershey, PA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Compiled well with that patch! Just add that parameter! |
SInce you're my guinea pig, I'll try it out _________________ "Subtraction: Addition's tricky pal." --David Letterman
http://ferg.ath.cx == teh bL0g |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tnt Veteran
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 Posts: 1227
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Twiggy794 wrote: | Quote: | Compiled well with that patch! Just add that parameter! |
SInce you're my guinea pig, I'll try it out |
I'm just a little braver... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Robin79 l33t
Joined: 18 Oct 2003 Posts: 632 Location: /home/valdemarsvik
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
works here!! nicely _________________ Gentoo 2005.0
ASUS P5AD2 Deluxe MB
Intel P4 3.2GHz
PCI-E Nvidia Geforce PCX 5750
--------------------
Registered Linux User Nr # 319050 http://counter.li.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
frankjr n00b
Joined: 13 Sep 2002 Posts: 55
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
The "less" command is still broken... which means I can't use the 2.6.9-nitro kernels until I can figure out what is wrong with it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
joshdr77 Apprentice
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 180
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
tnt wrote: |
Same problem here... |
has your turner worked with the previous couple releases? - my turner works in windows - so my hardware is fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Twiggy794 Guru
Joined: 21 Jun 2004 Posts: 321 Location: Hershey, PA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
gah! Minor tick that I can't seem to get past. Emerging ati-drivers begins installing to another kernel. How do I set it up so that it installs the drivers for the right kernel? _________________ "Subtraction: Addition's tricky pal." --David Letterman
http://ferg.ath.cx == teh bL0g |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tnt Veteran
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 Posts: 1227
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
joshdr77 wrote: | tnt wrote: |
Same problem here... |
has your turner worked with the previous couple releases? - my turner works in windows - so my hardware is fine. |
I've never used nitro sources, but now nitro3 works with this patch:
Quote: | patch it msp3400.c in 1555: kthread_run (bla,bla,bla);
add 4th parameter: i2c_client_name(c). |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Twiggy794 Guru
Joined: 21 Jun 2004 Posts: 321 Location: Hershey, PA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | tnt wrote:
Same problem here...
has your turner worked with the previous couple releases? - my turner works in windows - so my hardware is fine. |
Seems like this was just an oops in the source. Works fine once the minor tweak was applied. _________________ "Subtraction: Addition's tricky pal." --David Letterman
http://ferg.ath.cx == teh bL0g |
|
Back to top |
|
|
count_zero Guru
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Twiggy794 wrote: | gah! Minor tick that I can't seem to get past. Emerging ati-drivers begins installing to another kernel. How do I set it up so that it installs the drivers for the right kernel? |
Did you remember to reset your /usr/src/linux link to point to the new nitro? This is the link that most outside modules compile against. _________________ "We must all hang together, or assuredly we shall all hang separately."
-Ben Franklin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tnt Veteran
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 Posts: 1227
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm wondering if nitro-sources are superset of gentoo-dev-sources?
Are there some performance statistics comparing these two kind of sources?
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
desertstalker Apprentice
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 209
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Great nitro Seppe. Firt one that will reliably suspend and resume on by D600.
Thanks for the great work |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rusxakep Guru
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 458
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 7:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
2Seppe: I think, you can see my little patch's and fix it in main tree.... Stupid errors and mistakes! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John5788 Advocate
Joined: 06 Apr 2004 Posts: 2140 Location: 127.0.0.1
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
w00t works for me _________________ John5788 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mac Cloud Apprentice
Joined: 27 Sep 2004 Posts: 214 Location: In a galaxy far far away...
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok for me thanks for this patch-set _________________ Vous prouver que j'ai raison serait admettre que je puisse avoir tort.
Beaumarchais |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Deranger Veteran
Joined: 26 Aug 2004 Posts: 1215
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
tnt wrote: | I'm wondering if nitro-sources are superset of gentoo-dev-sources?
Are there some performance statistics comparing these two kind of sources?
|
No it's not. It's mostly a mix of ck-sources and mm-sources. However, it contains all patches from gentoo-dev-sources. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sgaduuw Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 133 Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
this is the first nitro-sources that my laptop likes, had to update some alsa stuff to ~x86 to be able to get to a login screen.
I did experience a long wait at "Bringing lo up" though. Anyone else experience this?
UPDATE:
This does not seem to occur only at "Bringing lo up", but randomly during startup. Issuing a ^C makes the booting continue. This did not occur with the last love-sources or vanilla kernel. _________________ my website |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rshadow Apprentice
Joined: 28 Nov 2003 Posts: 176
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
is the framebuffer working in nitro3? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nuzzy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 21 Jul 2003 Posts: 106 Location: NH, USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 4:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm...I'm getting this error:
Code: | kernel/built-in.o(.text+0x21460): In function `smp_suspend':
: undefined reference to `__smp_suspend_lowlevel'
make: *** [.tmp_vmlinux1] Error 1
|
Any ideas what this is?? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Apexman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Apr 2004 Posts: 141
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 5:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Twiggy794 wrote: | doh! Got an erroR: Code: | drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555:69: macro "kthread_run" requires 5 arguments, but only 3 given
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c: In function `msp_attach':
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: `kthread_run' undeclared (first use in this function)
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
drivers/media/video/msp3400.c:1555: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[3]: *** [drivers/media/video/msp3400.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [drivers/media/video] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/media] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2 |
Same config works on past -nitro's, -ck's, and oodles of other kernels. Anybody have this as well? |
I have bt848-based board too That's because of swsusp2 and it's changes to kthreads... Trivial patch
Code: |
--- linux-2.6.9-nitro3.orig/drivers/media/video/msp3400.c 2004-11-11 18:50:13.883941936 +0200
+++ linux-2.6.9-nitro3/drivers/media/video/msp3400.c 2004-11-11 18:51:46.112921000 +0200
@@ -1552,7 +1552,7 @@
/* startup control thread if needed */
if (thread_func) {
- msp->kthread = kthread_run(thread_func, c, "msp34xx");
+ msp->kthread = kthread_run(thread_func, c, 0, "msp34xx");
if (NULL == msp->kthread)
printk(KERN_WARNING "msp34xx: kernel_thread() failed\n");
wake_up_interruptible(&msp->wq);
|
should help
I'm sorry that I didn't post this earlier, at nitro2-related topic with other stuff
Last edited by Apexman on Thu Nov 11, 2004 5:14 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
appelgebak Apprentice
Joined: 12 Sep 2004 Posts: 225 Location: Ruhrpott
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | patch it msp3400.c in 1555: kthread_run (bla,bla,bla);
add 4th parameter: i2c_client_name(c). |
leads to:
Code: | make[1]: »arch/i386/kernel/asm-offsets.s« ist bereits aktualisiert.
Building modules, stage 2.
MODPOST
*** Warning: "i2c_client_name" [drivers/media/video/msp3400.ko] undefined! |
What to do?
appel |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hauser l33t
Joined: 27 Dec 2003 Posts: 650 Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 5:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I confirm that win4lin works, I mean it runs (I installed it with another kernel) without problem. _________________ AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl
Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DocSavage n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I notice that there are 2 files I can download for this kernel -- the ebuild and the .bz2. Do I need both of these? Or is it optional which one I use. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|