View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
zzzero n00b
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:54 am Post subject: Presario 700 Audio Problem |
|
|
I have a Presario 700. I just reciently installed gentoo on it. Im running 2.6.7 kernel. I have been able to get everything to work execpt for the sound. I have no idea where to even start with the sound. Any help would be greatly appriciated. Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
texas1emt Guru
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 352 Location: San Antonio, TX
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 8:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well first things first, we've gotta hunt down what hardware you have for sound. Run this command and post the output:
After that, we'll probably end up using ALSA to run your sound card. In addition, I doubt your sound card will have hardware mixing (but I could be wrong), so you might want to read up about the dmixer plugin to allow more than one sound stream to play at once. You can also check out the other post I wrote about dmixer.
Give us the output of lspci and we can help! _________________ M. Hayden - San Antonio, TX |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zzzero n00b
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 9:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133] (rev 80)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133 AGP]
0000:00:07.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super South] (rev 42)
0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
0000:00:07.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 1a)
0000:00:07.4 Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] (rev 40)
0000:00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
0000:00:09.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k HSFi Modem (rev 01)
0000:00:0a.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1410 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
0000:00:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. VT8636A [ProSavage KN133] AGP4X VGA Controller (TwisterK) (rev 01) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
texas1emt Guru
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 352 Location: San Antonio, TX
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 9:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zzzero wrote: | 0000:00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50) |
The module you will need is snd-via82xx. If you're using the 2.6 kernels, in your kernel config under Alsa you should find this module. Compile it as a module - i.e. [M] and not [*].
Then 'emerge alsa-utils'. Once it's finished, run this command: Code: | # nano /etc/modules.d/alsa && modules-update |
When nano brings up /etc/modules.d/alsa for editing, there's a line that looks something like: Code: | alias snd-card-0 snd-blahblah |
Change it to read: Code: | alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx |
And then uncomment the line that is a few lines down that reads (it's in the "OSS/Free Portion" section) : Code: | #alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0 <--- uncomment this
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0 <--- so it looks like this |
Then save the file and modules-update will run (don't worry, it takes a few seconds, and it will look like your system is stuck). Then do the following: Code: | # rc-update add alsasound boot && /etc/init.d/alsasound start |
After that, if there's no errors, run alsamixer to set your volume levels and try to use /usr/bin/aplay to play a wav file to test it.
EDIT: Once you're finished with all that, scroll up to my 2nd post above and read about how to set up software mixing with dmixer. I'm pretty sure your card doesn't do hardware mixing. _________________ M. Hayden - San Antonio, TX
Last edited by texas1emt on Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:58 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zzzero n00b
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for you help. The system looks like it should be working but the sound isnt. Let me just make sure that when you said at the beginning to 'emerge alta-utils' you ment 'emerge alsa-utils'. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
texas1emt Guru
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 352 Location: San Antonio, TX
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I hit the wrong letter on the keyboard! I'll edit the previous post right now.
But yes, I did mean 'alsa-utils'.
What isn't working right? When you run 'aplay soundfile.wav' nothing comes out of the speakers?
If that's the case, double check your speaker connections and hook them into some other sound device in a stereo or another computer. If the speakers work, then double check your alsamixer. In my Intel AC'97 chipset on my laptop, I had to scroll in alsamixer WAY to the right and unmute some type of 'external amplifier'. Then I've also heard some people need the external amp MUTED to hear sound.
Also, don't suffer from my n00b error when I first used alsa. Unmuting the master volume isn't enough. You need to unmute PCM (kinda like the 'wave' volume in windows) and you can just try unmuting everything til it works. I just played a long track in XMMS and fiddled with the settings til I got sound. _________________ M. Hayden - San Antonio, TX
Last edited by texas1emt on Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zzzero n00b
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
was i susposed to uncomment this also?
Change it to read: Code: | alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
texas1emt Guru
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 352 Location: San Antonio, TX
|
Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah! UNCOMMENT that! Sorry!
I thought it was kinda implied when I told you to change the line, but I should have been more specific! _________________ M. Hayden - San Antonio, TX |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zzzero n00b
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you so much for helping me. The sound works now. Thank you very much. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
texas1emt Guru
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 352 Location: San Antonio, TX
|
Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
No problem It makes me feel good to give back to the forums. I've learned so much about Gentoo from them that I've really started to enjoy linux.
But... on occasion... when something won't compile - I throw things. _________________ M. Hayden - San Antonio, TX |
|
Back to top |
|
|
twitmodes n00b
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
I followed this walkthough to the mark, but I 'm getting an error when I go to run alsamixer. It says: Code: | alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory | Also, I emerged gamix, another mixer, and when I run that I get: Code: | probe.c 40: No ALSA device.
main.c 44: Can not make mixer. | Any ideas? Help is greatly appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|