View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Eejay
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:26 am    Post subject: Dose anyone here use Dillo Reply with quote

I was searching the Internet for a open source web browser that would be similar to fire fox, looked all over, couldn't find any so someone recommended Dillio, I went to Dillos website and downloaded the latest version. I'm new with Linux and not sure if I may have downloaded the wrong extension or , what is wrong. websites look strange, they lack color,and the top of the web browser is showing a message that says> this page uses the non standard Meta Refresh tag. then gos on to say that> The HTML 4.01 Spec (7.4.4 ) recommends explicitly to avoid it

I'm guessing that the download is, maybe... corrupt or if Dilio needs a special plug in that would make web pages look normal.

Dillo is definitely fast, The only problem with it is that websites look strange as if Dillo is not recognizing or computable with certain coding/ scripts used by most websites.

Any idea what can be causing this problem
seank
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dillo is small and fast, but it doesn't do the best job at displaying the pages ;p
finn
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dillo is very simple (and therefore very fast) browser, so don't expect it will render pages as perfectly as Gecko. It also lacks some importanat features, for me is important (for example) support for character encodings other than iso-8859-1 (utf-8, iso-8859-2, cp-1250...). So my favourite fast browser is links.
Eejay
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea why developers in the Linux community enjoy making things so complicated.