View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tliou Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 23 Nov 2004 Posts: 108 Location: Salt Lake City, UT
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 2:58 am Post subject: automatic networking fails, but manual works |
|
|
Hi,
I just finished installing gentoo-2.6.9-r4. It works well except that the network fails to come up. I get this message which others have reported:
Bringing eth0 up via DHCP... [!!]
and this one:
"netmount" was not started.
If I then run modprobe e1000, the network just comes right up. My problem (which is likely to be trivial) is that I cannot get the network to come up automatically.
I'm sure I'm missing something simple. Anyone care to help? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jmusits Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Posts: 117 Location: New York
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you added your ethernet card to the modules to autoload @ boot?
If not just do this:
Code: | # echo 'e1000' >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 |
Then reboot. That should take care of your problem.
Jason _________________ If you got the DO RE I got MI.
--Jerry Garcia "Run For The Roses" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tliou Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 23 Nov 2004 Posts: 108 Location: Salt Lake City, UT
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dear Jason,
Thank you much, you've likely saved me hours. I thought I had done that but I hadn't. However, it didn't quite work. I added e1000 as suggested:
# echo 'e1000' >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
After reboot, the error messages were gone, but "ping" didn't work. So I issued the command ifconfig and got:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:60:FE:19:D4
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:460 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:86151 (84.1 Kb) TX bytes:594 (594.0 b)
Base address:0x8000 Memory:c0220000-c0240000
lo ....
The line that usually starts inet... was missing. If I then issued the command ifconfig eth0, everything worked:
eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:60:FE:19:D4
inet addr:(xxx.xxx.xxx.xx) Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.248.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2299 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2299 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:325325 (317.7 Kb) TX bytes:1846 (1.8 Kb)
Base address:0x8000 Memory:c0220000-c0240000
(where xxx.xxx.xxx.xx is a real address that I've suppressed to avoid inviting an attack.)
Any last hints? Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|