Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[FIX] nvidia problems with 2.6.9?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:11 am    Post subject: [FIX] nvidia problems with 2.6.9? Reply with quote

Do you have linux 2.6.9 ? Nvidia not working right? stuck? try this simple guide to help you get it working again. Thanks to all that help me fix up this guide 8)

.:'the guide':.
make sure you have latest portage and ebuilds.
get out of any desktop enviroments, X, or anything else! All you need is a PLAIN console prompt; (maybe you should bookmark this with lynx !!)
I got rid of these packages first because I needed a fresh merge;
I unemerge these packages because I had servere errors; it wouldn't let me update nvidia. some maybe experiencing the same problem
Code:
emerge -C nvidia-kernel
emerge -C nvidia-glx
emerge -C opengl-update

edit file /etc/portage/package.keywords add these lines to this file;
if this directory and/or file does not exist, create them
make sure to change ~x86 to your computers architecture. examples of others: ( ~sparc / ~alpha / ~amd64 )

Code:
media-video/nvidia-kernel ~x86
media-video/nvidia-glx ~x86
x11-base/opengl-update ~x86

Afterwards, emerge these new packages for 2.6.9 to use
(although they are still unstable packages, they still work real good with 2.6.9)
Code:
emerge =media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111-r2
emerge =x11-base/opengl-update-1.8.1-r1
emerge =media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.6111

when that is all done merging, make the nvidia module autoload during boot; type:
(don't add if it is all ready there)
Code:
echo "nvidia" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6

/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 > "nvidia" will be added to the bottom of this file.
The default file looks like this afterwards:
(you can delete the comments)

Code:
# /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6:  kernel modules to load when system boots.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6,v 1.1 2003/07/16 18:13:45 azarah Exp $
#
# Note that this file is for 2.6 kernels.
#
# Add the names of modules that you'd like to load when the system
# starts into this file, one per line.  Comments begin with # and
# are ignored.  Read man modules.autoload for additional details.

# For example:
# 3c59x
nvidia

after that, edit your X config file
/etc/X11/XF86Config (this maybe a different config file for you) you need to make these changes;
First you have to scroll down to Section "Module", then make sure Load "glx" is uncommented, but Load "dri" IS commented:
Code:
Load       "glx"
#Load      "dri"

Then you need to scroll down to the Graphics Device Section look for Driver, set this option to: Driver "nvidia" (this may already state Driver "nvidia", just make sure it says nvidia) example:
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce"
    Driver      "nvidia"

now save and exit

your now back at your console, your almost done, type these commands and your done!
Code:
modprobe nvidia
opengl-update nvidia
modules-update

reboot; and everything should be working great
':end of guide:'
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =


Last edited by GENsnoop on Sat Nov 06, 2004 1:47 am; edited 15 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kiss-o-matic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 423
Location: Tokyo

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried... no love.
Trying again.

EDIT: It worked! You're a beautiful man!


Last edited by kiss-o-matic on Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what errors are you getting?
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kiss-o-matic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 423
Location: Tokyo

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was getting the exact same error (can't load nvidia module, blah blah). There's a very good chance I was running the old kernel when I tried the first time. Oh, well... it works now. Thanks for the guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarwinianCoeus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Location: Potsdam, NY

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just to play devils advocate, that's the worst possible way to solve that problem

man portage
_________________
karma++;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how else would you have done it? it basically just reinstalls nvidia-kernel/glx ... 8)
edit:
I fixed it up alot, happy now? :lol: I was in a rush earlier
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firedemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS GUIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cant express my gratitude enough for this. This helped me so damn much. Youre a life saver. Anything you need just tell me :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Admiral LSD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 522
Location: Northam, W.A., Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GENsnoop wrote:
how else would you have done it? it basically just reinstalls nvidia-kernel/glx ... 8)
edit:
I fixed it up alot, happy now? :lol: I was in a rush earlier


You still have the emerge /path/to/ebuild lines in there which, in case you missed the huge warning portage gives you when you do it now, isn't the smartest idea. A better way by far is to put the following into /etc/portage/package.keywords

Code:
media-video/nvidia-kernel ~x86
media-video/nvidia-glx ~x86
x11-base/opengl-update ~x86


edit: Forgot to mention that, if you've never used them before, the /etc/portage directory nor any of the package.* files in it may not have been created. If that's the case then just mkdir -p /etc/portage and use a text editor to create the files by hand.
_________________
Wasurenaide...
...watashi ga iru koto o.
Itsudatte soba ni iru yo.

Registered Linux user #319839
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Admiral LSD` wrote:
You still have the emerge /path/to/ebuild lines in there which, in case you missed the huge warning portage gives you when you do it now, isn't the smartest idea. A better way by far is to put the following into /etc/portage/package.keywords

Code:
media-video/nvidia-kernel ~x86
media-video/nvidia-glx ~x86
x11-base/opengl-update ~x86


edit: Forgot to mention that, if you've never used them before, the /etc/portage directory nor any of the package.* files in it may not have been created. If that's the case then just mkdir -p /etc/portage and use a text editor to create the files by hand.

I wanted to make sure the people installed these specific packages, (the newest in portage right now) even if they used; nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111-r1.ebuild or nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111.ebuild they will get errors with it, (on my computer nvidia didn't work with those packages)
It won't hurt anything by using the direct path to these ebuilds. 8) plus I'm not sure if in the file package.keywords "~x86 " is the correct keyword for all other types of systems, I know it is on mine.

It is also good to have that written in package.keywords because if you ever use 'emerge -uDv world' it won't downgrade these packages to a more stable one, which would then 'brake' your nvidia again :?
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =


Last edited by GENsnoop on Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:20 pm; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firedemon wrote:
OMG THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS GUIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cant express my gratitude enough for this. This helped me so damn much. Youre a life saver. Anything you need just tell me :lol:

no problem, :wink:
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dsd
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 2162
Location: nr London

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GENsnoop wrote:
I wanted to make sure the people installed these specific packages, (the newest in portage right now) even if they used; nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111-r1.ebuild or nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111.ebuild they will get errors with it, (on my computer nvidia didn't work with those packages)
It won't hurt anything by using the direct path to these ebuilds. 8) plus I'm not sure if in the file package.keywords "~x86 " is the correct keyword for all other types of systems, I know it is on mine.


actually - it does cause problems. we dont just put in big scary red messages for no reason ;) i forget the exact details, but portage is unable to detect which tree or category the ebuilds are in which gives problems when unmerging.
you can use package.keywords to get the behaviour you want with this line:

Code:
=media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111-r2


notice the = and the version specified. also notice that i left out the "~x86" bit, its not needed.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dsd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dsd:

thanks for clearing that up .. I fixed the guide, I guess that is why your a developer and I'm not! :lol:
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dsd
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 2162
Location: nr London

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not quite .. following the post in its current state, it will complain that the ebuilds you have specified are masked ~ in the testing tree.

to clarify more, you *do* need to add lines to package.keywords. but you can do it just like this:

Code:
=media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111-r2
=x11-base/opengl-update-1.8.1-r1
=media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.6111


and then the emerge commands will work
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dsd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dsd:
I wasn't done fixing it when you posting again .. damn your quick :lol:
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thegoonden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 84
Location: N Ireland

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two questions come to mind.........(well 2.5)

1. Has anyone tried this with nitro sources or just gentoo sources?
2. Has anyone who suffers from the nvidia VT-switching bug, tried this and did it work.
2.5 If not, can the same method be applied to the 4363 nv drivers ( the last non broken version released). I have tried using the ebuild and patch on this bugzilla report ( https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=29336 ) to build my 4363 module, but although it compiles and installs, it will not load.

My 2.6 experience isn't good so far....because I got no framebuffer and no X server yet....so it hasn't even been up long enough to test how it works :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dud3!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Boringville, Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I needed was the comment DRI part, everything else was good to go.
_________________
"There's no problem so large it can't be solved by killing the user off, deleting their files, closing their account and reporting their REAL earnings to the IRS"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GENsnoop
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thegoonden wrote:
Two questions come to mind.........(well 2.5)

1. Has anyone tried this with nitro sources or just gentoo sources?
2. Has anyone who suffers from the nvidia VT-switching bug, tried this and did it work.
2.5 If not, can the same method be applied to the 4363 nv drivers ( the last non broken version released). I have tried using the ebuild and patch on this bugzilla report ( https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=29336 ) to build my 4363 module, but although it compiles and installs, it will not load.

My 2.6 experience isn't good so far....because I got no framebuffer and no X server yet....so it hasn't even been up long enough to test how it works :-)

answers:
1= it should work on both;
2= fixed that problem for me;
2.5= 4363 was broken on my system ... 6111-r2 drivers work very well with 2.6.9, It was recomended to me by other gentoo users, and I have no complants using this version ... It also fixed the VMALLOC error for me too
_________________
.:GENtoo Linux:.
toshiba pentiumIII 700mhz 128mb ram 10gig hd =
micron PC AMD duron 750mhz 576mb ram 30gig hd =
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thegoonden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 84
Location: N Ireland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks a heap for that, that's very useful info.
Just so we're sure, this is the VT bug that makes the screen go nuts when you switch outta X we're talking about, not the one that wont let you switch outta X ?
:-)
I shall actually try that driver version on my 2.4 first, as it will be easier to repair it if it all goes wrong.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimbulvetr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Location: South Dakota

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GENsnoop,

Thanks so much for your help. I've been literally limping along with the nv driver since the beginning of last month because my nvidia driver got b0rked.

For that, I'll go see if I can help a few unanswered posts for a form of payback:)
_________________
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HEPP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: FATAL Error!! Reply with quote

When i modprobe nvidia i get this error:

Code:
FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/2.6.9-gentoo-r1/video/nvidia.Ko) : Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)


Can some one help a newbie?
_________________
What is locked, can be opened. What is hidden, can be found, What is yours, can be mine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dsd
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 2162
Location: nr London

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

run "dmesg" and show us the last few lines
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dsd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HEPP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Working Reply with quote

I got it working now
_________________
What is locked, can be opened. What is hidden, can be found, What is yours, can be mine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuomaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I have followed the above guide. I get this error when I modprobe nvidia:

FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/2.6.9-gentoo-r1/video/nvidia.ko): No such device

and dmesg tells me:

NVRM: the NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s)!!
NVRM: no devices probed, aborting!
NVRM: this often occurs when rivafb is loaded and claims the device's resources.
NVRM: try removing the rivafb module (or reconfiguring your kernel to remove
NVRM: rivafb support) and then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module again.

- framebuffer support disabled in kernel
- nforce/nforce2 agp driver compiled in kernel
- mtrr compiled in kernel
- loadable module support in kernel
- gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.9-r1

hardware: asus a7n8 deluxe nforce + gf2mx400

Any ideas? Maybe something simple I have forgotten?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
totopo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 73
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:05 pm    Post subject: THANKS SO MUCH Reply with quote

Thank you for the guide, the new kernel 2.6.9 seems working fine, I was having problems to mount the floppy with the kernel 2.6.8-r3, that is why I installed version 2.6.9 but I had this problem with the nvidia driver, but now BOTH work just fine, you have the gift!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorvall
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Nuuk Greenland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Modprobe nvidia, gives this error message
'FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/2.6.7-gentoo-r10/video/nvidia.ko): Invalid module format

dmesq, last line gives this.
nvidia: version magic '2.6.7-gentoo-r10 486 gcc-3.4' should be '2.6.7-gentoo-r10 486 gcc-3.3

How do i fix this :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum