Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vmware-config.pl problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:48 am    Post subject: vmware-config.pl problems Reply with quote

I've been having problems getting vmware to work. I'm running linux-2.6.9-ck3 (although I've tried it with ck-2) and vmware-workstation-4.5.2.8848-r1. I keep running the vmware-config.pl script, and the modules build fine and load fine. But when I goto start the vmware script, vmware monitor and vmware ethernet fail. I've uninstalled vmware twice now, (although I haven't gotten rid of the character devices when I did) and nothing seems to work. I've done everything suggested in all the posts on vmware, (including rm'ing /etc/vmware/not_configured) and I still can't get it to work...any ideas?
_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cqwense
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe for vmmonitor to work correctly, you need the vmmon modules loaded:

Code:
modprobe vmmon


Hope that helps some.
_________________
Windows has noticed that you moved your mouse.
Please reboot to allow for the changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the same problem :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jklmnop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2003
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when playing with vmware... be very sure that all of the vmware processes are stopped.
when vmware fails to completely start for whatever reason or another it
tends to leave some of the processes hanging about. make sure to
stop it, kill off all of the vmware processes and try again. often i have
to build it, configure it, let it fail, remove junk, and then just
'rm /etc/vmware/not_configured'. then it works just fine.
Code:

# /etc/init.d/vmware start
 * VMware Workstation is installed, but it has not been (correctly) configured
 * for the running kernel. To (re-)configure it, invoke the
 * following command: /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-config.pl.
 * VMware is not properly configured! See above.                          [ !! ]

#  /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-config.pl
Making sure services for VMware Workstation are stopped.
...

# /etc/init.d/vmware start
 * Starting VMware services:                                              [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine monitor                                              [ !! ]

 *   Virtual ethernet                                                     [ !! ]

 *   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                    [ !! ]

 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                     [ ok ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                     [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                           [ !! ]

# ps augxww | grep v[m]ware
root     31837  0.0  0.0  1220  288 pts/2    S    22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmnet-bridge -d /var/run/vmnet-bridge-0.pid /dev/vmnet0 eth0
root     31849  0.0  0.0  1508  512 ?        Ss   22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmnet-natd -d /var/run/vmnet-natd-8.pid -m /var/run/vmnet-natd-8.mac -c /etc/vmware/vmnet8/nat/nat.conf
root     31991  0.0  0.0  1220  284 pts/2    S    22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmnet-netifup -d /var/run/vmnet-netifup-vmnet1.pid /dev/vmnet1 vmnet1
root     32001  0.0  0.0  1220  284 pts/2    S    22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmnet-netifup -d /var/run/vmnet-netifup-vmnet8.pid /dev/vmnet8 vmnet8
root     32033  0.0  0.0  1656  668 ?        Ss   22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmnet-dhcpd -cf /etc/vmware/vmnet8/dhcpd/dhcpd.conf -lf /etc/vmware/vmnet8/dhcpd/dhcpd.leases -pf /var/run/vmnet-dhcpd-vmnet8.pid vmnet8
root     32034  0.0  0.0  1660  676 ?        Ss   22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmnet-dhcpd -cf /etc/vmware/vmnet1/dhcpd/dhcpd.conf -lf /etc/vmware/vmnet1/dhcpd/dhcpd.leases -pf /var/run/vmnet-dhcpd-vmnet1.pid vmnet1
root     32036  0.0  0.1  2572 1252 ?        Ss   22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-nmbd -D -l /dev/null -s /etc/vmware/vmnet1/smb/smb.conf -f /var/run/vmware-nmbd-vmnet1.pid
root     32038  0.0  0.1  3552 1392 ?        Ss   22:18   0:00 /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-smbd -D -l /dev/null -s /etc/vmware/vmnet1/smb/smb.conf -f /var/run/vmware-smbd-vmnet1.pid

# kill `ps augxww | grep v[m]ware | awk '{print $2}'`
# rmmod vmmon
# rmmod vmnet
# /etc/init.d/vmware start
 * VMware Workstation is installed, but it has not been (correctly) configured
 * for the running kernel. To (re-)configure it, invoke the
 * following command: /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-config.pl.
 * VMware is not properly configured! See above.                          [ !! ]

# rm /etc/vmware/not_configured
# /etc/init.d/vmware start
 * Starting VMware services:                                              [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine monitor                                              [ ok ]
 *   Virtual ethernet                                                     [ ok ]
 *   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                    [ ok ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                     [ ok ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                     [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                           [ ok ]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've gone as far to reboot in between changes, but I'll make totally sure. Let you guys know what happens... BTW, what are the major / minors for the vmnet[0-8] devices? I'm using 119, 0-8...anybody have anything different?
_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jklmnop: I follow your procedure, but i still get:
Code:
Starting VMware services:
   Virtual machine monitor                                             done
   Virtual ethernet                                                    done
   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                  failed
   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                    done
   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                    done
   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                         failed


when configuring, and
Code:
 * Starting VMware services:                                                                                                       [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine monitor                                                                                                       [ ok ]
 *   Virtual ethernet                                                                                                              [ ok ]
 *   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                                                                             [ !! ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                                                                              [ ok ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                                                                              [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                                                                                    [ !! ]
When I start the service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still having a problem...dumped all the modules out of my kernel, stopped the services, and recompilied the modules...Still no dice. Here's the (obvious) output

Code:
 * Starting VMware services:                                                                       [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine monitor                                                                       [ !! ]
 *   Virtual ethernet                                                                              [ !! ]
 *   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                                             [ !! ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                                              [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                                                    [ !! ]
freak4u@slide /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc $ 


GRRRR hate proprietary software. Quick thought...What kernels are people using that are / aren't having problems? I've had a problems on 2.6.9-ck 1,2,3. Anybody else?
_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jschellhaass
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can think of 2 possible problems.

1) You have 1 gig of ram and specified that in the the kernel config. I believe the ck patches support the 1 gig memory. This breaks stuff like vmware. Probably not the the issue because the modules won't compile with this.

2) the devices do not exist in /dev. This can be corrected by changing the the vmware script in /etc/init.d. This is the script I use. The changes are in the dev creation. This was pulled from a different gentoo thread on vmware. Search is your friend.

Code:

#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2004 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/app-emulation/vmware-workstation/files/vmware.rc,v 1.4 2004/07/14 21:24:28 agriffis Exp $

depend() {
   need localmount
   use logger net samba
}

vmware-prettify() {
   # Yea, the code is ugly but the output is pretty
   state=$1
   waserror=0
 msgtype=0
 while read line
 do
  [ "$line" == "" ] && continue
  if [ "$msgtype" -le "0" ]
  then
   if [ "$msgtype" == "-1" ]
   then
    ewarn $line
    continue
   fi
   if [ "${line/*:*/}" == "" ]
   then
    einfon $line
    echo
    eend 0
    msgtype=1
   else
    ewarn $line
    msgtype=-1
    waserror=1
   fi
   continue
  fi

  # Strip out anything after the <esc> code
  message=`echo $line | sed -e "s/^\(.*\) .*$/\1/"`
  einfon "  $message"
  echo

  echo $line | grep done > /dev/null
  status=$?
  eend $status

  if [ "$status" != "0" ]
  then
   logger -p local0.err -t vmware-${state} "$line"
   waserror=$status
  fi
 done
 if [ "$msgtype" == "-1" ]
 then
  eend 1 "VMware is not properly configured! See above."
 fi
 return $waserror
}

start(){
 # ========================================================
    # create device nodes for use with udev
    # ========================================================
    einfo "Creating Vmware device nodes"
 
    if [ ! -e "/dev/vmnet0" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/vmnet0 c 119 0
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/vmnet1" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/vmnet1 c 119 1
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/vmnet8" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/vmnet8 c 119 8
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/vmmon" ]; then
       mknod -m 666  /dev/vmmon c 10 165
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/parport0" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/parport0 c 99 0
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/parport1" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/parport1 c 99 1
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/parport2" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/parport2 c 99 2
    fi
    if [ ! -e "/dev/parport3" ]; then
       mknod -m 600  /dev/parport3 c 99 3
    fi
    # ========================================================
    # end of device node creation
    # ========================================================

 test -x /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware || \
  eend 1 "vmware init script not found. Aborting" || return 1

 /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start | vmware-prettify start
 return $?
}

stop() {
 /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware stop | vmware-prettify stop
 return $?
}


jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only have 256MB of ram. You're talking about CONFIG_1GLOWMEM, right? I saw that in another post...that is not enabled in my kernel.

I searched everywhere. In my topmost post i mentioned that I have the devices already...Here are the relevant devices:
Code:

crw-------  1 root root 99, 0 Nov 21 12:52 parport0
crw-------  1 root root 99, 1 Nov 21 12:52 parport1
crw-------  1 root root 99, 2 Nov 21 12:52 parport2
crw-------  1 root root 99, 3 Nov 21 12:52 parport3
crw-------  1 root root 119, 9 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet9
crw-------  1 root root 119, 7 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet7
crw-------  1 root root 119, 6 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet6
crw-------  1 root root 119, 5 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet5
crw-------  1 root root 119, 4 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet4
crw-------  1 root root 119, 3 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet3
crw-------  1 root root 119, 2 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet2
crw-------  1 root root 119, 1 Nov 21 12:12 vmnet1
crw-------  1 root root 119, 0 Nov 21 12:52 vmnet0
crw-------  1 root root 119, 8 Nov 21 12:52 vmnet8
lr-xr-xr-x  1 root root     10 Nov 21 12:53 vmmon -> misc/vmmon
crw-r-----  1 root root 10, 165 Dec 31  1969 misc/vmmon


Any other ideas?
_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used your script...same results:

Code:

 * Creating Vmware device nodes
 * Starting VMware services:                                                                  [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine                                                                          [ !! ]
 *   Virtual                                                                                  [ !! ]
 *   Bridged networking on                                                                    [ !! ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                                         [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on                                                                           [ !! ]

_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jschellhaass
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the modules exist? Can you load them manually?

jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes the modules exist and I can load them manually. My machine is a dual boot (FC3). Your script helped with FC3, works fine now. Gentoo is still having a problem though. After I build the modules everything loads fine but the service doesn't start. The devices are all present, the modules are present, they load fine but it just doesn't work. What kernel are you using? I'm using 2.6.9-ck3 right now...
_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jschellhaass
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using 2.6.9-gentoo-r4. The latest gentoo dev sources.

Once all the modules load the vmware service is running and the app should work ok.

I don't know why you are having so many problems with the init script.

jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did download and compile those sources, having the same problem though. I'll give it another shot with those sources. Thanks for all your help
_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's my kernel now
Code:
Linux slide 2.6.9-gentoo-r4 #2 Sat Nov 20 15:07:35 EST 2004 i686 mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1600+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


run /opt/vmware/vmware-config.pl and get

Code:

Starting VMware services:
   Virtual machine monitor                                             done
   Virtual ethernet                                                    done
   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                   done
   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                    done
   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                    done
   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                          done


But vmware won't run and the service says it's stopped. The modules are automatically loaded and when I start the vmware service I get
Code:
* Creating Vmware device nodes
 * Starting VMware services:                                                                            [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine                                                                                    [ !! ]
 *   Virtual                                                                                            [ !! ]
 *   Bridged networking on                                                                              [ !! ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                                                   [ ok ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                                                   [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on                                                                                     [ !! ]
freak4u@slide

_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrpdaemon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance you are running udev?

Here is how I create the devices, in the vmware init script:

Code:

start() {
        rm /dev/vmnet*
        rm /dev/vmmon
        for a in `seq 0 9`; do mknod /dev/vmnet$a c 119 $a; done
        test -x /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware || \
                eend 1 "vmware init script not found. Aborting" || return 1

        /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start | vmware-prettify start
        return $?
}


Do this, delete /etc/vmware/not_configured and reboot. Works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freak4u
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 69
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

running devfs but I'll give it a shot. What's the difference between udev and devfs?

edit Still no dice... Virtual Machine Monitor and Vitrual Ethernet won't start, everything else starts fine but vmware still won't run :(

UPDATE
Ok, so I decided to remove a few variables. I reconfigured vmware without networking. The only module it built was the vmmon. I tried to start vmware and I got
Code:

* Starting VMware services:       [ ok ]
*     Vitrual Machine monitor     [ !! ]

_________________
Making computing a safer place...one less Windoze box at a time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maharg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same issue on 2.6.9-gentoo-r4 - make sure you have real time clock compiled in the kernel and parport_pc as a module, reboot, then re-emerge vmware-workstation and re-run vmware-config.pl. Worked for me.

p.s. also had to chmod +r /opt/vmware/bin/vmware to make it readable to non root users !?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j-kidd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

freak4u wrote:
here's my kernel now
Code:
Linux slide 2.6.9-gentoo-r4 #2 Sat Nov 20 15:07:35 EST 2004 i686 mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1600+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


run /opt/vmware/vmware-config.pl and get

Code:

Starting VMware services:
   Virtual machine monitor                                             done
   Virtual ethernet                                                    done
   Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0                                   done
   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                    done
   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                    done
   NAT service on /dev/vmnet8                                          done


But vmware won't run and the service says it's stopped. The modules are automatically loaded and when I start the vmware service I get
Code:
* Creating Vmware device nodes
 * Starting VMware services:                                                                            [ ok ]
 *   Virtual machine                                                                                    [ !! ]
 *   Virtual                                                                                            [ !! ]
 *   Bridged networking on                                                                              [ !! ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background)                                                   [ ok ]
 *   Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background)                                                   [ ok ]
 *   NAT service on                                                                                     [ !! ]
freak4u@slide


/opt/vmware/vmware-config.pl already starts the service for you at the end of the configuration. That's why you will get the errors above when trying to start the service manually with /etc/init.d/vmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreadhead
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 470
Location: Ulm - Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got exactly the same problem since I updated to kernel 2.6.9. The same vmware installation worked perfectly on kernel 2.6.8.

Now I'm using 2.6.9-gentoo-r8.
_________________
Kopete OTR Plugin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Triptol
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: Had the same problem Reply with quote

Fixed it today, new gentoo-dev kernel release came out (2.6.9-r9), so I recompiled with some changes:

    made sure I had the real time stuff compiled in (see above)
    changed the pc_parport to a module
    added kernel .config support + support through /proc/config


I did the chmod +r on the vmware binary, so my normal user could use it. I also configured the /etc/init.d/vmware script so it makes the devices for the vmnet modules.

I just configured vmware. Don't try to start the init.d script or so, leave it here. I removed the /etc/vmware/not_configured and rebooted and it worked.

Now I have no idea which part of the process actually worked, but the whole thing seemed to do the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreadhead
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 470
Location: Ulm - Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-config.pl
# reboot
# rm /etc/vmware/not_configured
# /etc/init.d/vmware start


I don't know why, but the reboot is necessary BEFORE starting the services.
Good luck!
_________________
Kopete OTR Plugin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrpdaemon wrote:
Any chance you are running udev?

Here is how I create the devices, in the vmware init script:

Code:

start() {
        rm /dev/vmnet*
        rm /dev/vmmon
        for a in `seq 0 9`; do mknod /dev/vmnet$a c 119 $a; done
        test -x /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware || \
                eend 1 "vmware init script not found. Aborting" || return 1

        /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start | vmware-prettify start
        return $?
}


Do this, delete /etc/vmware/not_configured and reboot. Works for me.



thanks, this help me.
I was using devfs and have not problems with vmware. I did change to udev and after each new start of PC I had to run config script to strart vmware. NOW it's okay :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lethalman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrpdaemon wrote:
Any chance you are running udev?

Here is how I create the devices, in the vmware init script:

Code:

start() {
        rm /dev/vmnet*
        rm /dev/vmmon
        for a in `seq 0 9`; do mknod /dev/vmnet$a c 119 $a; done
        test -x /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware || \
                eend 1 "vmware init script not found. Aborting" || return 1

        /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start | vmware-prettify start
        return $?
}


Do this, delete /etc/vmware/not_configured and reboot. Works for me.


Great! Worked for me too :idea: :idea: :lol:
_________________
http://lethalman.blogspot.com - Thoughts about computer technologies
http://syx.googlecode.com - Smalltalk YX
http://www.ammazzatecitutti.org - E adesso ammazzateci tutti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum