View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
FishStickey n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2004 Posts: 4 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 2:53 pm Post subject: ssh newbie |
|
|
Hey all,
I've been reading about ssh and it seems pretty cool. Am I right when I assume the following:
- I can setup an ssh-server on my gentoo-box at home and ssh into it using an ssh-client on my winXP-box at work. I can even use X and for example use Thunderbird to check my email.
Now if this assumption is right, I've got 2 questions:
1. Which server should I use?
2. What client should I use (for Windows XP!)?
Thanx in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aetius Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 118
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
1) use the default openssh server provided with Gentoo. Far easier than anything else, and it's part of the base system.
2) use PuTTY for command-line access on Windows. There are number of other options but PuTTY works great, is open-source, and is freely downloadable.
Making X work on Windows is harder. You need X running on the Windows client in order to transfer the X display over. You can use Cygwin and run X on that, or there are a number of commercial X servers for Windows. Alternatively, you can try a program called VNC to get graphical displays from the Linux machine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
FishStickey n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2004 Posts: 4 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aetius wrote: | 1) use the default openssh server provided with Gentoo. Far easier than anything else, and it's part of the base system.
2) use PuTTY for command-line access on Windows. There are number of other options but PuTTY works great, is open-source, and is freely downloadable.
Making X work on Windows is harder. You need X running on the Windows client in order to transfer the X display over. You can use Cygwin and run X on that, or there are a number of commercial X servers for Windows. Alternatively, you can try a program called VNC to get graphical displays from the Linux machine. |
Thanx for your quick reaction. I'll try all this tonight. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeremy whiting Apprentice
Joined: 25 May 2004 Posts: 159 Location: UT
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
as far as I'm concerned there's only one ssh server to use and it's called openssh in portage. You can use it to log in from work, but it won't send your X windows through to work unless you tunnel a vnc through ssh (which many do to make vnc secure).
So you're going to need a vnc server at home as well, if you use gnome2.8 you're in luck because it comes with a great vnc server called vino that should allready be on your system. It's pretty nice because it's fast and it's very easy to set up. You just have to log in to your computer at home before you head off to work, then when you get to work, you log in with your username, and password and you're seeing the same X windows session that started at home.
Before gnome2.8 I tried with other vnc servers to do similar (connect to an allready open X session) with no luck. Admittedly I didn't try for very long since I was working at the time.
Also, to tunnel your vnc through ssh, you need to set up your ssh client (Putty or WinSSH are good) on the windows box to tunnel to port 5900 on your home box(127.0.0.1 looking from your home box). I usually set it up to forward local 5900 to home 5900 then you tell the vnc viewer at work to connect to 127.0.0.1 (localhost) which is forwarded through ssh to your home box. It'll ask for your username/password, and voila, linux screen on a windows box.
Technically you could skip the part about connecting through ssh and just tell the vnc viewer to connect to your home ip address, but the connection wont be encrypted that way. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
FishStickey n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2004 Posts: 4 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jeremy whiting wrote: | as far as I'm concerned there's only one ssh server to use and it's called openssh in portage. You can use it to log in from work, but it won't send your X windows through to work unless you tunnel a vnc through ssh (which many do to make vnc secure).
So you're going to need a vnc server at home as well, if you use gnome2.8 you're in luck because it comes with a great vnc server called vino that should allready be on your system. It's pretty nice because it's fast and it's very easy to set up. You just have to log in to your computer at home before you head off to work, then when you get to work, you log in with your username, and password and you're seeing the same X windows session that started at home.
Before gnome2.8 I tried with other vnc servers to do similar (connect to an allready open X session) with no luck. Admittedly I didn't try for very long since I was working at the time.
Also, to tunnel your vnc through ssh, you need to set up your ssh client (Putty or WinSSH are good) on the windows box to tunnel to port 5900 on your home box(127.0.0.1 looking from your home box). I usually set it up to forward local 5900 to home 5900 then you tell the vnc viewer at work to connect to 127.0.0.1 (localhost) which is forwarded through ssh to your home box. It'll ask for your username/password, and voila, linux screen on a windows box.
Technically you could skip the part about connecting through ssh and just tell the vnc viewer to connect to your home ip address, but the connection wont be encrypted that way. |
If I understand all of this correctly, I also have to set-up a vnc-server on my linux-box and a vnc-client on my windows-box? I'm using fluxbox and don't like gnome, so that's not an option. Any recommendations on vnc-server and client? Also, is vnc the same as vpn or am I mistaken? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeremy whiting Apprentice
Joined: 25 May 2004 Posts: 159 Location: UT
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
vpn and vnc are different, not sure I remember what exactly vpn is, but I think it makes remote machines look like they're on the same lan or something like that.
you can get tightvnc as a server, and here's a forum thread about getting vnc working https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=72893
good luck to ya, hope it all works out. Oh, also one other thing to consider is to make sure you're ISP connection (Router, or DSLModem/Router) forward the right ports to your box at home. The easy way I do it is to set up DMZ hosting so it forwards all ports to my box. Or you can pick and choose which ports to forward if you want, or dmz isn't available on your router. You'll need at least the SSH port which is port 22. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
FishStickey n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2004 Posts: 4 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jeremy whiting wrote: | vpn and vnc are different, not sure I remember what exactly vpn is, but I think it makes remote machines look like they're on the same lan or something like that.
you can get tightvnc as a server, and here's a forum thread about getting vnc working https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=72893
good luck to ya, hope it all works out. Oh, also one other thing to consider is to make sure you're ISP connection (Router, or DSLModem/Router) forward the right ports to your box at home. The easy way I do it is to set up DMZ hosting so it forwards all ports to my box. Or you can pick and choose which ports to forward if you want, or dmz isn't available on your router. You'll need at least the SSH port which is port 22. |
Thanx again for the quick reaction. You're right about VPN! I control my own router so it'll be easy to forward all the right ports. I'll let everyone know how it turns out. I'm also planning on writing a gentoo-wiki bit on this.
Thanx again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
OdinsDream Veteran
Joined: 01 Jun 2002 Posts: 1057
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|