Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How can i mount .bin , .sub/ccd/img , img , nrg images ???
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoogibi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Location: $HOME sweet home

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: How can i mount .bin , .sub/ccd/img , img , nrg images ??? Reply with quote

I can't seem to get google understand what my problem is and what to search for . I am sure there is a way of mounting them from the command line . I trie emerge -v cdemu but it returned some preeeetty nasty errors
Code:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) app-cdr/cdemu-0.6_beta to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) cdemu-0.6_beta.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking cdemu-0.6_beta.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work
>>> Source unpacked.
make -C /usr/src/linux SUBDIRS=/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.9-nitro2'
make[1]: warning: jobserver unavailable: using -j1.  Add `+' to parent make rule.
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.o
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c: In function `cdemu_read_actor':
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:160: error: structure has no member named `buf'
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:160: error: structure has no member named `buf'
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:165: error: structure has no member named `buf'
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c: In function `cdemu_transfer':
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:212: error: structure has no member named `buf'
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c: In function `cdemu_block_ioctl':
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:705: warning: passing arg 1 of `cdrom_ioctl' from incompatible pointer type
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:705: warning: passing arg 2 of `cdrom_ioctl' from incompatible pointer type
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:705: warning: passing arg 3 of `cdrom_ioctl' makes pointer from integer without a cast
/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.c:705: error: too few arguments to function `cdrom_ioctl'
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta/cdemu.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/var/tmp/portage/cdemu-0.6_beta/work/cdemu-0.6_beta] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.9-nitro2'
make: *** [all] Error 2



Could it be my kernel ?
_________________
If people where left alone to do what they damn well please they would start copying one another !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IainCE
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember trying to install cdemu the other day and getting those horrible errors. After seeing this thread, I just tried to emerge it again, and it emerged version 0.7 this time which compiled fine.
If that doesn't compile for you, you could try converting the .bin file into a .iso (using bchunk)
:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
perseguidor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 278
Location: West Kingdom of Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some .nrg files you can mount using the standard .iso way, which is, for example -I remind you just in case-:

Code:

mount -o loop -t iso9660 /path/to/image.iso /mnt/cdrom


Others you can't, as they are somewhat different from a plain old .iso. Those you'll probably be able to convert using nrg2iso:

Code:
*  app-cdr/nrg2iso
      Latest version available: 0.4
      Latest version installed: 0.4
      Size of downloaded files: 8 kB
      Homepage:    http://gregory.kokanosky.free.fr/v4/linux/nrg2iso.en.html
      Description: Converts Nero nrg CD-images to iso
      License:     GPL-2


The .bin files you can convert using bin2iso:

Code:
*  app-cdr/bin2iso
      Latest version available: 19b-r1
      Latest version installed: 19b-r1
      Size of downloaded files: 9 kB
      Homepage:    http://users.andara.com/~doiron/bin2iso/
      Description: converts RAW format (.bin/.cue) files to ISO/WAV format
      License:     public-domain


Its syntax is a bit trickier, but I'm sure you'll manage to figure it out. You will most like have a .cue file along with the .bin, use that.

I don't know about the other types, but there's a possibility they are renamed .ISOs or can be just as easily converted.

Good luck
_________________
O make me a mask!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have a true ISO-9660 (cd) image you can do the following:

Code:
mkdir /mnt/iso
mount -o loop -t iso9660 /path/to/image /mnt/iso

This will work for all true ISO images.
For the others (which are semi-proprietary Windoze formats) you need to either run an emulator or convert them to ISO.

I'd go with converting them, as Linux never deals with copy protection so you will never need bit-for-bit images; data-only images will do fine.

Loop-mounting rules, dude.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
perseguidor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 278
Location: West Kingdom of Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adaptr wrote:
Loop-mounting rules, dude.


Yes it does... it's the way it should be.
_________________
O make me a mask!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lynxnyl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 253
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For KDE: http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.php?content=11577

A nice service menu with it all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoogibi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Location: $HOME sweet home

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:42 pm    Post subject: Thx for the replys first of all Reply with quote

Ok ! I was hoping that there is a vfs type supported by either mount or my kernel so that i can mount it from the command line .

Code:
The last time i checked google gave me a link with a little program that can mount about all imges . The thing is the program was actually a script ( so i figured that if it's not binary it may be a way to mount from command line ) and editing it , it  kept mumbling somethin' about an "udf" vfstype  for .bin images if the memory serves me right .


guess i'll just use the converter or re-emerge cdemu :D . 10x for the replys .
_________________
If people where left alone to do what they damn well please they would start copying one another !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoogibi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Location: $HOME sweet home

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw the link lynxnyl gave is the exact script i was talking about .
If u guys can distinguish more from it and u are curious .. take a look at it .
_________________
If people where left alone to do what they damn well please they would start copying one another !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phekko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 109
Location: Espoo Esbo

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adaptr wrote:
If you have a true ISO-9660 (cd) image you can do the following:

Code:
mkdir /mnt/iso
mount -o loop -t iso9660 /path/to/image /mnt/iso

This will work for all true ISO images.
For the others (which are semi-proprietary Windoze formats) you need to either run an emulator or convert them to ISO.

Loop-mounting rules, dude.


For me, this is what happens:
Quote:

mount: could not find any device /dev/loop


There's probably something silly that I just didn't realize. True enough, there is no /dev/loop, how do I get one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never.
The loop devices are called /dev/loop0 through loop7; there is no /dev/loop.
Note that I never said there was; what I wrote is all you need - IF you have compiled support for it into the kernel.

It'll be somewhere around Filesystems -> block devices.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BodOrange
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IainCE wrote:
I remember trying to install cdemu the other day and getting those horrible errors. After seeing this thread, I just tried to emerge it again, and it emerged version 0.7 this time which compiled fine.
If that doesn't compile for you, you could try converting the .bin file into a .iso (using bchunk)
:D


I still get the same error with cdemu-0.7 and kernel gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.9-r11.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foosh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 231
Location: STL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

perseguidor wrote:
adaptr wrote:
Loop-mounting rules, dude.


Yes it does... it's the way it should be.


Hey sorry, just curious what exactly the "loop" in loop mounting refers to? What exactly is loop mounting?
_________________
http://wustlog.blogspot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a loopback construction - a loop back to the disk.
Since the image you're mounting is also on the disk where you'll be mounting it, you're essentially mounting a part of a disk on itself.
Hence loop-mounting; you're creating a loop on the disk back to itself.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum