View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tdi Apprentice
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i managed to build e_utils, but input is very buggy.
as far as f-o-click is concerned, ive got it but i have to click on the title bar.
kde apps still do not work properly. (konsole, kmail). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ehud n00b
Joined: 15 May 2004 Posts: 69 Location: Tel Aviv
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I use portage to emerge e17 from cvs.
When I updated e17, I noticed that even if a package does not have any updates from CVS, portage will continue and emerge it.
Is there a way to emerge only the packages which were updated from the last time I emerged ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ehud wrote: | I use portage to emerge e17 from cvs.
When I updated e17, I noticed that even if a package does not have any updates from CVS, portage will continue and emerge it.
Is there a way to emerge only the packages which were updated from the last time I emerged ? |
it's the best way, yes. because for exp edb has updates, all packages depending on it (means in that example all EFL and e) should be recompiled...
if you follow the cvs commit list, and only ecore for exp has updates, it's enough to start with ecore in the build-order _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ehud n00b
Joined: 15 May 2004 Posts: 69 Location: Tel Aviv
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gimpel wrote: | ehud wrote: | I use portage to emerge e17 from cvs.
When I updated e17, I noticed that even if a package does not have any updates from CVS, portage will continue and emerge it.
Is there a way to emerge only the packages which were updated from the last time I emerged ? |
it's the best way, yes. because for exp edb has updates, all packages depending on it (means in that example all EFL and e) should be recompiled...
if you follow the cvs commit list, and only ecore for exp has updates, it's enough to start with ecore in the build-order |
Isn't everything linked dynamically ?
If something was changed in edb and didn't break any interface isn't it safe to update only edb ?
If the interface was changed, then any package which uses it will have to be updated. So, compiling only updated packages should work (assuming I'm doing it in the correct order).
Am I wrong here?
In any case, is there a way to achieve what I want through portage ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@ ehud
those changes can be that kind of massive, that all libs depending on the changed one are unusable. this is pure CVS
rasterman - the main developer wrote: | You will need all the up-to-date ecore, edje, evas etc. libraries as needed. whenever e17 updates i suggest updating ALL its required libraries too as they will change to help support the window manager as it grows. |
btw, an update of ALL efl, e, engage, entice etc takes me about 30minutes...
Code: | #!/bin/sh
su -c 'emerge edb eet imlib2 imlib2_loaders evas ecore epeg epsilon embryo edje etox ewl esmart entrance e engage engrave e_utils entice' |
^^ my update "script"
you of course can update single packages, but don't ask if stuff doesn't work _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ehud n00b
Joined: 15 May 2004 Posts: 69 Location: Tel Aviv
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | btw, an update of ALL efl, e, engage, entice etc takes me about 30minutes... |
30 minutes are a lifetime
I'm only trying to avoid compiling packages which had no updates (it's seems a waste of time).
Quote: | rasterman - the main developer wrote:
Quote: | You will need all the up-to-date ecore, edje, evas etc. libraries as needed. whenever e17 updates i suggest updating ALL its required libraries too as they will change to help support the window manager as it grows. |
|
I do want to update all the e17 libraries, but only those which were updated. I don't think rasterman meant we should compile everything. We should update, which means we only need to compile packages which we're updated.
Anyway, I'm going to write a small script which will only emerge packages which were updated in CVS. I'll see how it goes. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well, that's exactly what he means...
but check it out, yeah... you'll see what HE means _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pithlit l33t
Joined: 27 Dec 2003 Posts: 887 Location: fuhen
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm 30min... Go out for a cup of coffee, have a nice convo with your girlfriend, go shop for groceries, go jogging... there's lots of better things to do for those 30 minutes than staring at that scrolling text... I personally let portage do emerge world while I sleep... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ehud n00b
Joined: 15 May 2004 Posts: 69 Location: Tel Aviv
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's not about the time. It doesn't matter if it's 30 minutes or 30 hours.
There's no point in compiling the same package over and over. It's just _wrong_. We're doing this because there's no way to avoid it.
I don't like doing wrong stuff and just wanted to fix it.
Never mind, I guess I'm alone in this issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pithlit l33t
Joined: 27 Dec 2003 Posts: 887 Location: fuhen
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | We're doing this because there's no way to avoid it. | If there's no way to avoid it (as you noticed) why even bother? It's not the end of the world . I know what you mean tho, and I agree with you... but since there's no way to go around it it's obviously a necesary step. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tdi Apprentice
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
because some packages have includes form other packages. not everything is linked dynamically. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 10:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hehe, i don't like wasting my time with thinking about why i have to waste time...
If someone is interested in making engage module transparent again and remove the text, which i think is bad placed over the icons, here is a little patch to change that:
--> patch <--
and
--> screey <--
Code: | cd engage #should be a fresh cvs checkout
patch -p1 < /path/to/engage_transp_notext.diff |
will work as long as there are no significant changes to module.edc of course, but just look at the lines that are changed, it's simple
_________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheGreatPhilHansen Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Sep 2002 Posts: 89
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
@ehud
One of the e-developers has written a perl script which does exactly what you are asking for. You can get it at: http://atmos.org/download/scripts/update_e.pl
It has quite a few options:
./update_e.pl Version: 0.3.2
./update_e.pl takes the following arguments
-a or --all - build all libs and apps modules
-s or --no-sudo - don't use sudo to install
-c or --no-cvs - build without updating cvs
-y or --yes - don't prompt on whether to build or update cvs
-m or --no-misc - don't to build cvs misc/
-p or --no-apps - don't update or build the apps directory
-l or --no-libs - don't update or build the libs directory
To update cvs, and build modules that changed without typing
./update_e.pl -y
To update cvs, and build all the modules without typing yes
./update_e.pl -y -a
To sync, build, and install the libs directory online
./update_e.pl --no-apps -y
Hope this helps |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ehud n00b
Joined: 15 May 2004 Posts: 69 Location: Tel Aviv
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks!
I guess I'll have to modify it to work with portage. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tdi Apprentice
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
anybody knows how to star apps on startup of the e17 ?
standalone engage works only when i change wallpaper with e17setroot before starting it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheGreatPhilHansen Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Sep 2002 Posts: 89
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tdi wrote: | anybody knows how to star apps on startup of the e17 ?
standalone engage works only when i change wallpaper with e17setroot before starting it. |
Putting a .eapp file for the programs you want in the ~/.e/e/applications/startup folder should do the trick. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
olof Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Dec 2004 Posts: 78 Location: Japan
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tdi wrote: | anybody knows how to star apps on startup of the e17 ?
standalone engage works only when i change wallpaper with e17setroot before starting it. |
You can start up apps by listing .eapp files in .e/e/applications/startup/.order
EDIT: Damn, you beat me to it. =) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tdi Apprentice
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks a lot !
but i wanted to place a shell script there
to run e17setrrot && engage with parms |
|
Back to top |
|
|
monkey89 Guru
Joined: 08 Mar 2004 Posts: 596
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So, create an eapp that runs /path/to/script.sh if its executable, or /bin/sh /path/to/script.sh if its not. Should work fine, AFAIK.
-Monkey |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jxn Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2004 Posts: 327 Location: south dakota
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it looks like all of the edje skins now use a ".edj" file extension instead of ".eet" as of the latest cvs commits last night (2005.03.22).
I just thought I'd warn y'all _________________ My Last.fm profile | get e17! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vrln Guru
Joined: 11 Sep 2004 Posts: 534 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jxn wrote: | it looks like all of the edje skins now use a ".edj" file extension instead of ".eet" as of the latest cvs commits last night (2005.03.22).
I just thought I'd warn y'all |
updated the site is "in future" now though - not everything has switched to .edj yet so now is a pretty bad time to update, it's worth waiting some time until everything is changed. _________________ Interested in E17? Get Enlightened by reading the user guide. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jxn Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2004 Posts: 327 Location: south dakota
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
vrln wrote: | updated the site is "in future" now though - not everything has switched to .edj yet so now is a pretty bad time to update, it's worth waiting some time until everything is changed. |
true, but *almost* everything is...looks like they even updated minor apps like enotes already. I was already in the process of re-emerging on one of my machines when I noticed mysterious ".edj" extensioned files scrolling accross my make window, so i checked out the cia page, and sure enough they had just started the conversion. Anyway, it broke my default e background and my custom theme, but I think a simple renaming of the file will do the trick...I should check if they updated emblem yet. _________________ My Last.fm profile | get e17! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pithlit l33t
Joined: 27 Dec 2003 Posts: 887 Location: fuhen
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm guys... how would I go about making the engage background transparent? Using the module version that is. And keep the text.
If anyone's interested: screenie.
*edit* : actually... nevermind about getting it transparent... I figured that out (as it shows on the newest screenie). I'll have to try and draw a border around it now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StringCheesian l33t
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 887
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pithlit wrote: | If anyone's interested: screenie. |
Ooooh, is that animated, or just a wallpaper? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vrln Guru
Joined: 11 Sep 2004 Posts: 534 Location: Finland
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
in case anyone is wondering, the edocs site has a howto about making Engage transparent - there's also stuff about making Engage not show icon names (the text). Btw, any updated E17 yet? The default theme changed alot, it looks alot "smoother" now. _________________ Interested in E17? Get Enlightened by reading the user guide. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|