View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Maqueo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 2:43 am Post subject: [solved] Laptop keyb and 2.6.x kernel.. works w/ LiveCD but |
|
|
Hi,
I've been having trouble with the 2.6.x kernels and my laptop's keyboard for months. The only distro that works for my right now is mandy, but I don't really like it.
The keyb works at the grub login, but once it starts loading the kernel, no input works (it like there's no keyboard at all). Everything works fine. No kernel error messages. I've tried pretty much every kernel configuration I could find.
To my surprise, the new 2004.3 using the 2.6.9-r1 kernel DOES work with my keyboard. Lsmod reveils nothing I've been able to use.
Any pointers as to what to try next?
I've noticed this same problem here in the forum (and other forums, but haven't found a solution anywhere).
I'm usings the newest 2.6.9-r6 gentoo-dev-sources at the moment.
TIA,
Maqueo
Last edited by Maqueo on Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:39 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raffi l33t
Joined: 17 Mar 2003 Posts: 731 Location: Moscow, Id.
|
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
The input stuff changed quite a bit at 2.6. I had a lot of trouble with one of my laptop not working with the keyboard or the mouse. What I ended up doing was compiling both the ps/2 legacy mouse stuff and the usb drivers into the kernel (not as modules). I believe it would also work if you did them both as modules and loaded them in the right order (don't remember which needs to be first). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maqueo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Raffi wrote: | The input stuff changed quite a bit at 2.6. I had a lot of trouble with one of my laptop not working with the keyboard or the mouse. What I ended up doing was compiling both the ps/2 legacy mouse stuff and the usb drivers into the kernel (not as modules). I believe it would also work if you did them both as modules and loaded them in the right order (don't remember which needs to be first). |
Hi man,
Yeah, I've got the ps/2 stuff compiled directly into the kernel as well. Doesn't seem to make a difference.
Also tried to look for stuff to disable in the BIOS, but I have no usb related entries...
It has to be some BS weird combination of factors |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raffi l33t
Joined: 17 Mar 2003 Posts: 731 Location: Moscow, Id.
|
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
I believe you are right. It took me several hours to get this going when I ran into it. Can you get onto your laptop via the network when it comes up or use a usb keyboard to talk to it? If you can look around while it is running, you might be able to get to the bottom of it. I do believe the problem is with the input subsystem. Looking at /proc/bus/input/devices can be quite informative. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maqueo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 4:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
No, it's the only computer I have around here, and I haven't got an usb keyboard either... lucky you it only took you a couple of hours... I tried a month ago and had to wipe my gentoo installation, now I'm trying again since yesterday morning
Oh well, I know it's working on the LiveCD so one way or another there has to be a way to make it work... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kerstman n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 68
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maqueo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hoi kerstman,
Thanks, I had tried that and it wasn't the solution either. I've been compiling kernels like crazy the last couple of days, and I've finally managed to make it work.
Don't ask me how though, I figured something else was missing/interfering, and started trying different combinations. Finally it works When I get some more time I'll start taking options out in order to make it smaller and I'll probably figure out what the problem was, but hey... at least it's working.
It's just a pain to make a tight kernel when you don't know enough about the underlying architecture.
Groetjes,
Maqueo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maqueo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 6:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just a tip in case someone does a search for this problem. The LiveCD kernel was working for me, but trying to copy it didn't. Here's is what I should've done:
(from http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml)
Using the LiveCD kernel
If you don't want to compile a kernel yourself you can use the kernel from the LiveCD and copy it to your system. When you come to the point that you're asked to compile a kernel, go to another terminal (press Alt-F2) and log in with the root password you've supplied at the beginning of the installation.
Copy over the kernel and modules to your Gentoo system:
Code Listing 2.6: Copying over the LiveCD kernel
(${KN} is the kernel name, usually something like 'gentoo' or 'smp')
cdimage ~# cp /mnt/cdrom/isolinux/${KN} /mnt/cdrom/isolinux/${KN}.gz /mnt/gentoo/boot
cdimage ~# mkdir -p /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules
cdiamge ~# cp -Rp /lib/modules/`uname -r` /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules
Make sure you emerge hotplug and have it added to the boot runlevel. To have all modules that are currently running (from the LiveCD) loaded during bootup of your Gentoo system, run the following command from within the chrooted environment:
Code Listing 2.7: Adding all running modules to the modules.conf file
# cat /proc/modules | cut -d ' ' -f 1 >> \
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-`uname -r | cut -d . -f -2`
# modules-update |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kerstman n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 68
|
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey Maqueo,
Thanks for acknowledgiing the comment... but I just re read what I wrote and I noticed a massive mistake. I meant to say that I emerge coldplug (not hotplug) and added this to runlevel default and this solved several problems for me.
Many many apologiies if I wasted your time here... I'll try to actually type what I meant next time and not get too excited because I think I've got an answer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maqueo n00b
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kerstman wrote: | Many many apologiies if I wasted your time here... I'll try to actually type what I meant next time and not get too excited because I think I've got an answer |
No worries dude
I'm nearly there, only got to get my touchpad working |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|