View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jeffceth n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 23 Location: waterloo, ON
|
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
i've done all this and rerun lilo after verifying the configuration. what else do I need to do?
jeffceth |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
asterix404 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 6:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have the exact same problem however I do not have anything intel on my system, however I do that that Intel PXII thing compiled into the kernel, IE not as a modual. I am useing a wester digital HD, so then for what option should I put for generic PCI bus-master DMA support in my kernel?
Do I also want to have use PCI DMA by default option selected? I am not quiet a noob however I never delt with DMAs since I switched from windows and finailly have a stable gentoo build.
Just for fun I ran hdparm -cdi /dev/hda
Code: | /dev/hda:
IO_support = 0 (default 16-bit)
using_dma = 0 (off)
Model=WDC WD400JB-00ENA0, FwRev=05.03E05, SerialNo=WD-WCAD1A169362
Config={ HardSect NotMFM HdSw>15uSec SpinMotCtl Fixed DTR>5Mbs FmtGapReq }
RawCHS=16383/16/63, TrkSize=57600, SectSize=600, ECCbytes=40
BuffType=DualPortCache, BuffSize=8192kB, MaxMultSect=16, MultSect=off
CurCHS=16383/16/63, CurSects=16514064, LBA=yes, LBAsects=78165360
IORDY=on/off, tPIO={min:120,w/IORDY:120}, tDMA={min:120,rec:120}
PIO modes: pio0 pio1 pio2 pio3 pio4
DMA modes: mdma0 mdma1 *mdma2
UDMA modes: udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 udma5
AdvancedPM=no WriteCache=enabled
Drive conforms to: device does not report version:
* signifies the current active mode
|
however
Code: | hdparm -d1 /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
setting using_dma to 1 (on)
HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
using_dma = 0 (off)
|
Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
asterix404 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have done a lot of looking into this thing and I have realized that turning on the DMA via the kernel is only good for certian chipsets that are listed as options. Does anyone know of a method to use my UDMA that I know I have on my HD since it is a WD? I know somehow this has worked for someone, and i am cerious as to how. It tells me that when I do hdparm -d1 /dev/hda that the opertaion is not permitted... does this mean that it has to be done at some other time? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
saber850 Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/821640493424442c618b5f.gif)
Joined: 21 Mar 2004 Posts: 115 Location: NY
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 11:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
asterix404 wrote: | I have done a lot of looking into this thing and I have realized that turning on the DMA via the kernel is only good for certian chipsets that are listed as options. Does anyone know of a method to use my UDMA that I know I have on my HD since it is a WD? I know somehow this has worked for someone, and i am cerious as to how. It tells me that when I do hdparm -d1 /dev/hda that the opertaion is not permitted... does this mean that it has to be done at some other time? |
I'm no expert, but you need to determine which chipset your motherboard is using for the IDE controller and compile it (along w/ DMA support) into your kernel. To get my system working properly I read all the posts in this topic. Following through helped me narrow down my problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
vonhelmet l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 06 Apr 2004 Posts: 770 Location: Somewhere in a school
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
asterix404 wrote: | I have done a lot of looking into this thing and I have realized that turning on the DMA via the kernel is only good for certian chipsets that are listed as options. Does anyone know of a method to use my UDMA that I know I have on my HD since it is a WD? I know somehow this has worked for someone, and i am cerious as to how. It tells me that when I do hdparm -d1 /dev/hda that the opertaion is not permitted... does this mean that it has to be done at some other time? |
What make and model is your motherboard? _________________ My blog
nvtuner software - enhance your AGP Geforce 6800 or 6200! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
asterix404 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For some reason doing a genkernel and looking at the DMA settings that were automatically detected worked for me... I bealve I have a VIA chipset, compieald the drivers into the kernel and it worked like a charm, thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jayr1024 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 29 Oct 2004 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does anyone know the IDE controler for nf7-s because I am also having trouble getting DMA to enable??? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dsd Developer
![Developer Developer](/images/ranks/rank-dev.gif)
Joined: 30 Mar 2003 Posts: 2162 Location: nr London
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 9:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
its named "AMD and nVidia IDE support" or something like that. let me know if you need more specific instructions _________________ http://dev.gentoo.org/~dsd |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jayr1024 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 29 Oct 2004 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks alot dsd and yes i need more specific instruction because I am planning to reinstall gentoo from the start and what else do I need to enable besides the nforce driver on the kernel before compiling in order for the DMA to enable? Does nforce driver same as nforce2 for the nf7-s because someone told me that nforce2 is the chipset driver for the nf7-s v2? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|