Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Several problems after stage3 install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Several problems after stage3 install Reply with quote

Hello all

My linux box :

Bi-Athlon MP 1900
Tyan Tiger MPX (AMD 760 MPX chipset)
768 MB DDR 300
Leadtek Ti 4200 128 MB
SB 1024 Live Value
2 HD Maxtor
IIyama 19" Vision Master 1451
Net provided through DLink Router 604 (DSL Line)

Okay here we go :

I performed a stage 3 + GRP install of 2004.3 (Universal LiveCD athlon + Packages CD). Took me several attempts but well I managed to have something and I did learn a lot of things which is pretty cool ;-)

Now about the problems.

1. First of all, I used Genkernel and did my best following instructions on the Gentoo Handbook in order to have a working 2.6.9 kernel. My problem is apparently my kernel is not smp. When booting I got only one Tux logo showing up but I must admit it's a poor indication and there must be other ways to check (even if kde shows clearly my kernel is mono proc). What can I do to get a working 2.6.9 smp kernel ?

2. Another annoying thing : after the boot process on the prompt asking to log in if I log as root I got a prompt like : mycomputer root #
Now if I log as user I got a prompt like : user@mycomputer user $

I'm not sure if it's normal but I wish I had the a prompt looking like the second one even for root just because it shows who I am. Any suggestion ? And btw is it normal, is it something specific to Gentoo ?

3. I emerged kde and it worked almost right away (had to generate an xorg.conf file with xorgconfig and then manually finish the work since xorgconfig messed up my data about my monitor and had also to add a line for a working mouse wheel). Then I followed instructions from the Gentoo Linux nVidia Guide to install nvidia drivers., emerged nvidia-glx., modprobe nvidia, modules-update, modified xorg.conf. Rebooting I saw nvidia module failed to load.
After a while I decided to emerge --sync and then emerge --update world hoping that might fix the problem. emerge world exited with an error :

ERROR: dev-libs/libxslt-1.1.9-r1 failed
Function src_compile, Line 33, Exitcode 2
make failed

I rebooted to see if by chance it had changed something about my nvidia problem. And somehow it did. The nvidia seems to load fine at boot.
Now if I use nvidia as driver in xorg.conf and run startx I got a blank screen (black) and that's about it.
Switching on another tty and then getting back to the original tty is the only way to get rid of that blank screen (even if sometimes it just does not work and I got to reboot on the tower) and then I can see the following error message from xorg :

XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
afeter 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

4. Using kde (with nv for now since nvidia refuses to work) I got this error message complaining about the sound driver :

Error while initializing the sound driver
device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory)
The sound driver will continue, using the null output device

kde info center says about sound :

Sound driver: 3.8.1a-980706 (ALSA v.1.0.6 emulation code)
Kernel : blabla 2.6.9
Config options: 0

Installed drivers:
Type 10: ALSA emulation

Card config:
Sound Blaster Live! (rev.6) at 0x2480, irq 11

Audio devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Synth devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Midi devices:
0: EMU10K1 MPU-401 (UART)

Timers:
7: system timer

Mixers: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

That's about it lol Sorry I know it's a lot of things to fix.

Now if you have questions or need more details, I'll be happy to give you those.

Looking forward to read your posts ;-)
Thanks.

Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54422
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arendald,

1. SMP set up.
Now you have KDE working, you can use
Code:
make xconfig
or
Code:
make gconfig
to configure your kernel.
SMP is an option fairly early in the setup. Choose SMP and tell it how namy CPUs you have. Now rebuild and reinstall your kernel as you have done once before.

2. Prompt setup. This is done is two places.
Globally, it is set in /etc/bash/bashrc and on a per user basis in /home/<user>/.bashrc.
Setting in the /home/<user>/.bashrc supercede the global setting.
You put your own stuff here too.

3. Thats a status report not the actual error. Rerun the emerge and post the error, which will still be on the screen

4. With the ALSA errors you report later, it looks like you dont have the OSS emulation layer selected in your kernel. /dev/dsp is an OSS sound device. Do not select real OSS, choose the OSS emulation that is part of ALSA. Thats part of your kernel rebuild too.

The other errors can be related to ALSA kernel problems so lets fix them first.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20097

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for answering.

smp problem :

Code:
make xconfig

make: *** No rule to make target `xconfig'. Stop.

Code:
make gconfig

make: *** No rule to make target `gconfig'. Stop.

I guess I'm missing something here.

prompt problem :

Quote:
Globally, it is set in /etc/bash/bashrc and on a per user basis in /home/<user>/.bashrc.
Setting in the /home/<user>/.bashrc supercede the global setting.
You put your own stuff here too.


I did a copy of .bashrc from my user to my root folder. Reboot : still the same prompt, didn't change nothing.
Checked /etc/bash/ : it desn't exist. Do I have to create the folder and put a bashrc file in there ?


Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54422
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arendald,

Those make commands only work when you are in the kernel source tree. cd /usr/src/linux first. They take the place of
Code:
make menuconfig
.

Create /etc/bash/bashrc and put this in it
Code:
# /etc/bash.bashrc:
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/app-shells/bash/files/bashrc,v 1.5 2004/09/28 11:50:23 agriffis Exp $
#
# This file is sourced by all *interactive* bash shells on startup,
# including some apparently interactive shells such as scp and rcp
# that can't tolerate any output.


# Test for an interactive shell.  There is no need to set anything
# past this point for scp and rcp, and it's important to refrain from
# outputting anything in those cases.
if [[ $- != *i* ]]; then
        # Shell is non-interactive.  Be done now
        return
fi

# Bash won't get SIGWINCH if another process is in the foreground.
# Enable checkwinsize so that bash will check the terminal size when
# it regains control.  #65623
# http://cnswww.cns.cwru.edu/~chet/bash/FAQ (E11)
shopt -s checkwinsize

# Set colorful PS1 only on colorful terminals.
# dircolors --print-database uses its own built-in database
# instead of using /etc/DIR_COLORS.  Try to use the external file
# first to take advantage of user additions.
use_color=false
safe_term=${TERM//[^[:alnum:]]/.}       # sanitize TERM

if [[ -f /etc/DIR_COLORS ]]; then
        grep -q "^TERM ${safe_term}" /etc/DIR_COLORS && use_color=true
elif dircolors --print-database | grep -q "^TERM ${safe_term}"; then
        use_color=true
fi

if ${use_color}; then
        if [[ $EUID == 0 ]]; then
                PS1='\[\033[01;31m\]\h \[\033[01;34m\]\W \$ \[\033[00m\]'
        else
                PS1='\[\033[01;32m\]\u@\h \[\033[01;34m\]\w \$ \[\033[00m\]'
        fi
else
        if [[ $EUID == 0 ]]; then
                # show root@ when we don't have colors
                PS1='\u@\h \W \$ '
        else
                PS1='\u@\h \w \$ '
        fi
fi
# run fortune at login
echo
fortune
echo

The
Code:
 if [[ $EUID == 0 ]]; then
part is true for root.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

About the prompt thing, I don't get it. First I created a local .bashrc in /root. That file seems to be completed ignored. Now I created a /etc/bash/bashrc and it's the same thing. Permissions seem ok and root is owner for both files.

For the kernel I enabled smp support with menu but for the OSS thing I'm not sure which option I got to check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54422
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arendald,

Using
Code:
man bash
I've found that
Quote:
When bash is invoked as an interactive login shell, or as a non-inter-
active shell with the --login option, it first reads and executes com-
mands from the file /etc/profile ...
and /etc/profile says
Quote:
if [ -n "${BASH_VERSION}" ]; then
# Newer bash ebuilds include /etc/bash/bashrc which will setup PS1
# including color. We leave out color here because not all
# terminals support it.

So you need a newer bash for /etc/bash/bashrc to work. This code is still valid though
Code:
if ${use_color}; then
        if [[ $EUID == 0 ]]; then
                PS1='\[\033[01;31m\]\h \[\033[01;34m\]\W \$ \[\033[00m\]'
        else
                PS1='\[\033[01;32m\]\u@\h \[\033[01;34m\]\w \$ \[\033[00m\]'
        fi
else
        if [[ $EUID == 0 ]]; then
                # show root@ when we don't have colors
                PS1='\u@\h \W \$ '
        else
                PS1='\u@\h \w \$ '
        fi
$EUID is zero when root logs in, so roots promot for colour modes is
Code:
PS1='\[\033[01;31m\]\h \[\033[01;34m\]\W \$ \[\033[00m\]'
so you must want the two to be the same as the else case.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum