Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot boot on a Software RAID0 array. [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tsuna
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:30 pm    Post subject: Cannot boot on a Software RAID0 array. [solved] Reply with quote

Hello.

After having had some troubles with the setup of my software raid0 array, I now have some problems to boot my system.

I've read the Software RAID0 HowTO and the official Software RAID HOWTO

So here's my problem.
I have /dev/sda2 and /dev/sdb1, two identical partitions, involved together in my /dev/md0 RAID0 array (FS=ReiserFS). /dev/sda1 is for /boot (it's in ext2) /dev/sda3 and /dev/sdb2 are for swap.

So I installed my RAID array, then did my Gentoo installation as usual, following the handbook etc and then once I finished, I rebooted the system.

Upon reboot, this is what I had:
Code:
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
ReiserFS: md0: warning: sh-2006: read_super_block: bread failed (dev md0, block 2, size 4096)
ReiserFS: md0: warning: sh-2006: read_super_block: bread failed (dev md0, block 16, size 4096)
EXT2-fs: unable to read superblock
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(9,0)

Ok gosh that doesn't look good
So I decided to go back in the LiveCD and see if I could do something.

Once back into the liveCD another question came to me: how to mount /dev/md0 ? I don't have any mdX in /dev !
So I modprobed md and raid0 and /proc/mdstats appeared
Then I searched on google and found raidstart, which is, by chance, on the liveCD, how cool is that
So I started to use raidtstart /dev/md0 but heh...
Code:
livecd root # raidstart /dev/md0
Couldn't open /etc/raidtab -- No such file or directory

which is true! I've completely "forgotten" to write my /etc/raidtab file...
Im like okay there should be some way to tell raidstart that my array is made of sda2 and sdb1 with a chunk size of 32k...

So i re-read the man of raidstart and it is possible to use the -c parameter to use another configuration file

So I wrote my raidtab and tryied to use raidstart
but it won't work...

Code:
livecd root # touch raidtab
livecd root # ls
raidtab
livecd root # nano -w raidtab
livecd root # cat raidtab
raiddev /dev/md0
        raid-level 0
        nr-raid-disks 2
        chunk-size 32
        persistent-superblock 1
        device /dev/sda2
        raid-disk 0
        device /dev/sdb1
        raid-disk 1
livecd root # raidstart -c ./raidtab
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.
livecd root # ls /dev
cdrom     initctl  loop4  ram10  ram7    sdb2     tty11  tty21  tty31  tty41  tty51  tty61   ttyS13  ttyS23  ttyS33  ttyS43   vc     vcsa1
cdroms    inotify  loop5  ram11  ram8    shm      tty12  tty22  tty32  tty42  tty52  tty62   ttyS14  ttyS24  ttyS34  ttyS44   vcc    vcsa12
console   input    loop6  ram12  ram9    sndstat  tty13  tty23  tty33  tty43  tty53  tty63   ttyS15  ttyS25  ttyS35  ttyS45   vcs    vcsa2
core      kmem     loop7  ram13  random  stderr   tty14  tty24  tty34  tty44  tty54  tty7    ttyS16  ttyS26  ttyS36  ttyS46   vcs1   vcsa3
fb        kmsg     mem    ram14  rd      stdin    tty15  tty25  tty35  tty45  tty55  tty8    ttyS17  ttyS27  ttyS37  ttyS47   vcs12  vcsa4
fb0       log      null   ram15  sda     stdout   tty16  tty26  tty36  tty46  tty56  tty9    ttyS18  ttyS28  ttyS38  ttyS5    vcs2   vcsa5
fbsplash  loop     port   ram2   sda1    tts      tty17  tty27  tty37  tty47  tty57  ttyS0   ttyS19  ttyS29  ttyS39  ttyS6    vcs3   vcsa6
fd        loop0    ptmx   ram3   sda2    tty      tty18  tty28  tty38  tty48  tty58  ttyS1   ttyS2   ttyS3   ttyS4   ttyS7    vcs4   zero
full      loop1    pts    ram4   sda3    tty0     tty19  tty29  tty39  tty49  tty59  ttyS10  ttyS20  ttyS30  ttyS40  ttyS8    vcs5
hdc       loop2    ram0   ram5   sdb     tty1     tty2   tty3   tty4   tty5   tty6   ttyS11  ttyS21  ttyS31  ttyS41  ttyS9    vcs6
ide       loop3    ram1   ram6   sdb1    tty10    tty20  tty30  tty40  tty50  tty60  ttyS12  ttyS22  ttyS32  ttyS42  urandom  vcsa
livecd root # raidstart -c ./raidtab /dev/md0
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.
livecd root # raid0run
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.
livecd root # raid0run -c ./raidtab
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.
livecd root # raid0run -c ./raidtab /dev/md0
cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev.


so yeah thats it basically, im stuck here

any help/idea/suggestion would be appreciated
thank you
_________________
I am not sending subliminal messages


Last edited by Tsuna on Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:40 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot boot on a Software RAID0 array. Reply with quote

Tsuna wrote:
Upon reboot, this is what I had:
Code:
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.

Is the correct driver for your SCSI card compiled into the kernel ?
Are your harddrives getting detected ?

You should be seeing something like this
Code:
md: raid0 personality registered as nr 2
md: raid1 personality registered as nr 3
md: md driver 0.90.1 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
...
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: considering hdg2 ...
md:  adding hdg2 ...
md: hdg1 has different UUID to hdg2
md:  adding hde2 ...
md: hde1 has different UUID to hdg2
md: created md0
md: bind<hde2>
md: bind<hdg2>
md: running: <hdg2><hde2>
md0: setting max_sectors to 128, segment boundary to 32767
raid0: looking at hdg2
raid0:   comparing hdg2(78067776) with hdg2(78067776)
raid0:   END
raid0:   ==> UNIQUE
raid0: 1 zones
raid0: looking at hde2
raid0:   comparing hde2(78067776) with hdg2(78067776)
raid0:   EQUAL
raid0: FINAL 1 zones
raid0: done.
raid0 : md_size is 156135552 blocks.
raid0 : conf->hash_spacing is 156135552 blocks.
raid0 : nb_zone is 1.
raid0 : Allocating 4 bytes for hash.
md: considering hdg1 ...
md:  adding hdg1 ...
md:  adding hde1 ...
md: created md1
md: bind<hde1>
md: bind<hdg1>
md: running: <hdg1><hde1>
raid1: raid set md1 active with 2 out of 2 mirrors
md: ... autorun DONE.


Tsuna wrote:
Ok gosh that doesn't look good
So I decided to go back in the LiveCD and see if I could do something.

Once back into the liveCD another question came to me: how to mount /dev/md0 ? I don't have any mdX in /dev !
So I modprobed md and raid0 and /proc/mdstats appeared
Then I searched on google and found raidstart, which is, by chance, on the liveCD, how cool is that

You can also use mdadm for this, and you don't even need /etc/raidtab for it to work. This should get back the array you previously created.
Code:
# mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 --auto=yes /dev/sda2 /dev/sdb1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tsuna
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thanks im gonna try that this afternoon after uni
yes I do see my SCSI drives properly detected, the right "modules" are compiled IN the kernel
but its weird I dont see what u have...
we'll see tonight, i'll try get md0 to work from the livecd, fix the raidtab file, make sure it all work and reboot... if it still doesnt work then i wonder what could be wrong with that raid0 array

edit: ok it works, trying to repair my installation.
thank you for your help!
_________________
I am not sending subliminal messages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tsuna
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok so I made my raidtab and specified the proper partition type (fd for raid auto detect) and it all works properly

thank you for your support
_________________
I am not sending subliminal messages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2587699.html
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum