View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
PoDuck n00b
Joined: 12 Dec 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 4:40 pm Post subject: Software Raid not working. |
|
|
I've been trying to setup a software raid and I get all the way to mkraid /dev/md0 and it gives me an error.
Code: | cannot determine md version: no MD device file in /dev. |
I've looked everywhere and it seems that usually the problem is that the md module is not loaded. In my case, I modprobed md and raid0, and dmesg says:
Code: | md: md driver 0.90.0 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
md: raid0 personality registered as nr 2 |
My /etc/raidtab says:
Code: | # /boot (RAID 0)
# /boot (RAID 0)
raiddev /dev/md0
raid-level 0
nr-raid-disks 2
chunk-size 32
persistent-superblock 1
device /dev/hda1
raid-disk 0
device /dev/hdc1
raid-disk 1
# / (RAID 0)
raiddev /dev/md1
raid-level 0
nr-raid-disks 2
chunk-size 32
persistent-superblock 1
device /dev/hda3
raid-disk 0
device /dev/hdc3
raid-disk 1 |
My partitions are as follows:
hda:
Code: | Disk /dev/hda: 30.0 GB, 30020272128 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3649 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 1 3 24066 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/hda2 4 66 506047+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda3 67 3649 28780447+ fd Linux raid autodetect |
hdc:
Code: | Disk /dev/hdc: 30.0 GB, 30020272128 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3649 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 1 3 24066 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/hdc2 4 66 506047+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hdc3 67 3649 28780447+ fd Linux raid autodetect |
I thought that I had a problem with mkraid not finding my raidtab, so I tried mkraid -c /etc/raidtab /dev/md0 with the same results. I've tried forcing it as well with identical results.
I have tried 2 gentoo cd's a knoppix cd and a fedora cd, each with the same problem. I'm unsure what could be the problem, other than hardware, especially since it seems to work fine for most people. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fs_mariner n00b
Joined: 12 Jun 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
does /dev/md0 exist?
If not create md0 through ...
#for i in 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10; do mknod /dev/md$i b 9 $i; done _________________ Earth wanderer on the beautiful sailing vessels "spiritwind", "friendship", and "wavesofgrace" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PoDuck n00b
Joined: 12 Dec 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply. I did find something that works in the meantime. Knoppix 3.7 works fine for some reason. It must be something in the kernel itself because I used the exact same configuration file as I saved it on another computer.
md0 and md1 did not exist, that's what mkraid was supposed to do.
All I did was copy my original raidtab into /etc, modprobe md, then mkraid /dev/md? and it worked. I used my partitioning that I had setup with the gentoo livecd, so the only difference was the kernel.
I will be trying this later though, as I have a couple more hard drives that might enjoy being a software raid. I'll try that with those. Hopefully it works because if someone else has the same problem it would be nice for them to be able to fix it while still using the kernel supplied with the gentoo livecd.
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fs_mariner n00b
Joined: 12 Jun 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't believe mkraid creates the device nodes _________________ Earth wanderer on the beautiful sailing vessels "spiritwind", "friendship", and "wavesofgrace" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hyper_Eye Guru
Joined: 17 Aug 2003 Posts: 463 Location: Huntsville, AL.
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 6:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
They are supposed to be created when you load the md module. That seems to be broken in the 2004.3 disc though. I had to create them as decribed above and it works great for me. You just have to remember to do it in your /boot as well because you will have the same problem and /dev/md0 will not be found when you boot. Good luck. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arainach l33t
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 Posts: 609
|
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also, are you aware that you can't boot off of a striped (RAID 0) partition? LILO and GRUB can't handle them; I think RAID 1 works but I usually just leave a small non-RAID partition for /boot. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Phk Guru
Joined: 02 Feb 2004 Posts: 428 Location: [undef], Lisbon, Portugal, Europe, Earth, SolarSystem, MilkyWay, 23Q Radius, Forward Time
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wait. So u mean that the boot partition CAN'T be saved in a raid0 partition??
I'm having problems with the 2004.3 liveCD.. I can't find my 2x200GB raid0 set..... _________________ "# cat /dev/urandom >> /tmp/life" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pilla Bodhisattva
Joined: 07 Aug 2002 Posts: 7730 Location: Underworld
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|