View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
natata n00b
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 47 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:44 pm Post subject: forcedeth, nforce3 on-board network card, net-setup |
|
|
HI,
I'm really confused here... let's me explain ...
Sometime ago i had to change my mobo and 'unfortunately' the old one had VIA chip and the new one NVIDA.. therefore the onboard network card of the new one was not detected by gentoo automatically.
I booted livecd 2004-r3 and I did:
1. modprobe forcedeth
2. net-setup eth0
EUREKA!! ping www.yahoo.com was working
so next step was to replicate that in my own gentoo configuration...
I first had to recompile kernel to add forcedeth module
Then I did modprobe forcedeth
But surprise...when I wanted to do net-setup eth0 it said "net-setup command not found!!!! how come??
and here I am... I've being trying net.eth0 start, netmount restart and all give me errors...
So ..my BIG question is : How can I replicate the net-setup that i did in livecd in my own configuration??
Thanks for your time!
Nata. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
/dev/random l33t
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 704 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do you have a static IP or a dynamic IP? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
natata n00b
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 47 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dynamic IP...indeed I also did a dhcpd eth0 with no sucess |
|
Back to top |
|
|
/dev/random l33t
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 704 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
If you have done this yet do this:
echo "forcedeth" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
Now boot into the livecd mount the partitions and chroot into your installation and do this:
emerge dhcpcd
Edit /etc/conf.d/net and add a line like this:
iface_eth0="dhcp"
Make sure to comment out this line:
iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
rc-update add net.eth0 default
Exit the chroot and reboot
|
If it still doesn't work try adding the following line to /etc/conf.d/net
EDIT: I found out you can just install net-setup. If you want to do it that way boot up the livecd, mount your partitions, chroot in, and type this:
Code: |
emerge livecd-tools
|
That will give you net-setup |
|
Back to top |
|
|
natata n00b
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 47 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks /dev/random, for your guide ... but still same problem
First I emerged net-setup as you described. Then booting back to my system I executed it like: 'net-setup eth0' and did 'ifconfig eth0'.. the
Code: | result: eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found. |
I tried then your first suggestion, but that didn't work either... indeed my settings in /etc/conf.d/net where already as you mentioned, and after adding the line dhcpcd_eth0="-H" didn't help neither....
SO i'm even more confused...cause from livecd by just doing:
Code: |
modprobe forcedeth
net-setup eth0
|
i get my netcard working....but doing the same from my system it does not work... what else am i missing ??
hope you can give me more ideas to try!!!
thanks so far! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
/dev/random l33t
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 704 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Let me see the part of your kernel config dealing with your network card drivers. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ruizs n00b
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Post the output of lsmod if you can too. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
natata n00b
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 47 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 7:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
here is the info you ask me:
my kernel config is:
Code: |
#
# Networking support
#
CONFIG_NET=y
#
# Networking options
#
CONFIG_PACKET=y
CONFIG_PACKET_MMAP=y
# CONFIG_NETLINK_DEV is not set
CONFIG_UNIX=y
# CONFIG_NET_KEY is not set
CONFIG_INET=y
# CONFIG_IP_MULTICAST is not set
# CONFIG_IP_ADVANCED_ROUTER is not set
# CONFIG_IP_PNP is not set
# CONFIG_NET_IPIP is not set
# CONFIG_NET_IPGRE is not set
# CONFIG_ARPD is not set
# CONFIG_SYN_COOKIES is not set
# CONFIG_INET_AH is not set
# CONFIG_INET_ESP is not set
# CONFIG_INET_IPCOMP is not set
#
# IP: Virtual Server Configuration
#
# CONFIG_IP_VS is not set
CONFIG_IPV6=y
CONFIG_IPV6_PRIVACY=y
CONFIG_INET6_AH=m
CONFIG_INET6_ESP=m
CONFIG_INET6_IPCOMP=m
CONFIG_IPV6_TUNNEL=m
CONFIG_NETFILTER=y
CONFIG_NETFILTER_DEBUG=y
#
# IP: Netfilter Configuration
#
CONFIG_IP_NF_CONNTRACK=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_FTP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_IRC=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TFTP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_AMANDA=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_QUEUE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_IPTABLES=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_LIMIT=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_IPRANGE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_MAC=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_PKTTYPE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_MARK=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_MULTIPORT=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_TOS=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_RECENT=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_ECN=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_DSCP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_AH_ESP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_LENGTH=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_TTL=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_TCPMSS=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_HELPER=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_STATE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_CONNTRACK=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MATCH_OWNER=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_FILTER=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_REJECT=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_NEEDED=y
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_MASQUERADE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_REDIRECT=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_NETMAP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_SAME=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_LOCAL=y
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_SNMP_BASIC=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_IRC=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_FTP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_TFTP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_NAT_AMANDA=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_MANGLE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_TOS=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_ECN=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_DSCP=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_MARK=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_CLASSIFY=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_LOG=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_ULOG=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_TCPMSS=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_ARPTABLES=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_ARPFILTER=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_ARP_MANGLE=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_COMPAT_IPCHAINS=m
CONFIG_IP_NF_COMPAT_IPFWADM=m
# CONFIG_IP_NF_RAW is not set
#
# IPv6: Netfilter Configuration
#
# CONFIG_IP6_NF_QUEUE is not set
# CONFIG_IP6_NF_IPTABLES is not set
CONFIG_XFRM=y
# CONFIG_XFRM_USER is not set
#
# SCTP Configuration (EXPERIMENTAL)
#
# CONFIG_IP_SCTP is not set
# CONFIG_ATM is not set
# CONFIG_BRIDGE is not set
CONFIG_VLAN_8021Q=m
# CONFIG_DECNET is not set
CONFIG_LLC=y
# CONFIG_LLC2 is not set
# CONFIG_IPX is not set
# CONFIG_ATALK is not set
# CONFIG_X25 is not set
# CONFIG_LAPB is not set
# CONFIG_NET_DIVERT is not set
# CONFIG_ECONET is not set
# CONFIG_WAN_ROUTER is not set
# CONFIG_NET_FASTROUTE is not set
# CONFIG_NET_HW_FLOWCONTROL is not set
#
# QoS and/or fair queueing
#
# CONFIG_NET_SCHED is not set
#
# Network testing
#
# CONFIG_NET_PKTGEN is not set
# CONFIG_NETPOLL is not set
# CONFIG_NET_POLL_CONTROLLER is not set
# CONFIG_HAMRADIO is not set
# CONFIG_IRDA is not set
# CONFIG_BT is not set
CONFIG_NETDEVICES=y
CONFIG_DUMMY=m
CONFIG_BONDING=m
CONFIG_EQUALIZER=m
# CONFIG_TUN is not set
|
and lsmod output:
Code: |
Module Size Used by
nls_cp437 6912 0
vfat 11776 0
fat 41152 1 vfat
usbhid 23488 0
uhci_hcd 29792 0
ohci_hcd 19140 0
forcedeth 13504 0
nvidia 5289684 12
ide_tape 34272 0
st 36324 0
|
Btw, having some extra thougths to the issue that i can't replicate what i do in the livecd, I realized that i'm treating two different kernels:
- My own system has the kernel-2.6.7-r4 for AMD64
- livecd 2004.3 uses the kernel-2.6.9-r1 for AMD64
Could it be that the problem? How can i upgrade the kernel of my system?
Looking forward for your suggestions! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
/dev/random l33t
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 704 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
To upgrade the kernel
Code: |
emerge --sync
emege -u gentoo-dev-sources (or whatever kernel you're using)
cp /usr/src/linux/.config /usr/src/linux-2.6.<new kernel>
rm /usr/src/linux
ln -sf /usr/src/linux-2.6.<new kernel> /usr/src/linux
cd /usr/src/linux
|
you can take it from here
Also try compiling forcedeth into the kernel see if that helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
natata n00b
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 47 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 8:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks once more!
I haven't succeed yet updating the kernel but I think I know why. Strangely liveCD 2004.3 doesn't recognized my HD (sata device), but after modprobing sata_via and sata_nv it is recognized as /dev/sda (whereas in my system that I did installed with liveCD 2004.1 was automatically recognized as /dev/hde).
Thought it was a small issue that, but after updating the kernel and adding the new kernel to my grub file and rebooting I got a kernel panic saying the root=/dev/hde9 parameter in grub was not recognized. Then I tried instead of /dev/hde9 use /dev/sda9 (that is how it is recognized with the new liveCD) but same error.
Later I realized that I didn't say anything about sata_via and sata_nv when configurating the new kernel. So today I will start from there and then see how it goes.
So , so far not good news.. but I'm in the process.
Let you know when I get more results. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StefSybo n00b
Joined: 29 Jul 2004 Posts: 11 Location: Neer, the Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 8:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That's right, as of kernel version 2.6.8 sata disks are treated as SCSI disks and for that reason they get a /dev/sd* designation
The driver for the nforce3 250Gb onchip ethernet MAC are also implemented in kernel 2.6.8, so when you upgrade your kernel (and compile forcedeth in it or as a module, of course) it should work.I'm running gentoo x86 at the moment with gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.9-r9 and it works fine.
I ran into another problem when I was trying to upgrade my system to 64 bits this afternoon. When I tried to modprobe sata_nv with amd64-minimail-2004.3-r1 it didn't work, it just kept on trying. When I tried using insmod it returned an error about something being wrong in sata_nv.ko, but I don't know the exact message |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|