View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:43 pm Post subject: No sound in kernel-2.6.10 with my asus a7n8x (Intel |
|
|
I was using kernel 2.6.8.1 and everything was smooth, i got my sound card working with alsa in my ASUS a7n8x-e-deluxe (with an nforce mother board) and only this setted in the kernel
Code: |
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
|
but when i switched to 2.6.10 mainly because the nvidia kernel modules was starting to deprecate 2.6.8.1, and now when i start in my kernel 2.6.10 kde say that it can't start the soudn daemon.
Do i have to change something to my config because the new kernel? _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54830 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
g3n,
You need the OSS emulation layer too. Many programs still use OSS only. The emulation layer allows ALSA to pretend to be OSS for them. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenyon Apprentice
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Southern California
|
Posted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If Neddy's suggestion doesn't work, try not using KDE's sound daemon at all. I'm using 2.6.9-cko3 with the intel8x0 ALSA setup and tried to get KDE's aRts working, but never was successful. I ended up disabling aRts and using this allplayer script in the Control Center/System Notifications/Player Settings (make sure you get mpg123 and ogg123 of course):
Code: | #!/bin/bash
case `echo "$1" | sed -re "s/.*\.(.*)$/\1/"` in
ogg)
ogg123 "$1"
;;
mp3|mpg|mpeg)
mpg123 "$1"
;;
wav|au)
aplay -d plug:dmix -q "$1"
;;
esac |
Found that by searching these forums.
Here is my /etc/asound.conf:
Code: | pcm.intel8x0 {
type hw
card 0
}
ctl.intel8x0 {
type hw
card 0
}
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}
pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
slave {
pcm "hw:0,0"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 16384
rate 44100
}
bindings {
0 0
1 1
}
}
ctl.dmixer {
type hw
card 0
} |
I made that from an example on the ALSA Project site.
This setup does software mixing so you can have multiple programs play sounds simultaneously. Working quite well so far. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ths OSS emulation is already enabled, and if i start with my 2.6.8.1 kernel i can start arts, i dont know if i need the script, do you think that i need it? _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenyon Apprentice
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Southern California
|
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
If your sound is working with aRts and ALSA's OSS emulation, then nope, you don't need what I posted. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54830 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 12:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
g3n,
Your original post does not include OSS emulation. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fredor Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 13 Oct 2003 Posts: 84 Location: UK
|
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
With kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r10 sound works OK. With kernel-2.6.10-gentoo-r1 there is no sound. This applies on Gnome 2.8 system and Fluxbox system.
Trying to unmute gives the following:-
# amixer set MASTER 100 unmute
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'MASTER',0
Basic system is AMD64 with ASUS K8V SE Deluxe MB.
Appears to be a fault in the latest gentoo-dev-source. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54830 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
fredor,
The 32 bit version of kernel-2.6.10-gentoo-r1 is fine here on an nForce2 chipset. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | fredor,
The 32 bit version of kernel-2.6.10-gentoo-r1 is fine here on an nForce2 chipset. |
Then how do i enable OSS emulation?
isnt it under ALSA in the kernel config menu? _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sith_Happens Veteran
Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 1807 Location: The University of Maryland at College Park
|
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 5:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I agree with kenyon, I wouldn't bother trying to get arts working, I had problems with it conflicting with alsa in alot of programs, so I just told kde not to use it (in the control panel, disable the sound system option). I found that I could get around without it by telling programs to interface directly with alsa. I hate system notifications so I just turned them all off, so I never had to configure them to play through an external player. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54830 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
g3n,
Yes. Its under Advanced Linux Sound Architecture, before you get to configuring hardware. You need al the modules that start OSS...
They must be modules, not built in. Then you need to make sure your /etc/modules.d/alsa file is right. Lastly, run update-modules as per the instructions in the file header. That fixes it for startup at boot.
Now run Code: | /etc/init.d/alsasound restart | to make your changes active without a reboot. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok, i do what neddy told me and deactivated arts. I added alsasound with rc-update and now i dont know whats happening. No only xmms is not working, but i think it's because the OSS backwards compatibility. How do i autostart the OSS emulation modules?
My conf. is like this
Code: | │ │ <*> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture │ │
│ │ <*> Sequencer support │ │
│ │ < > Sequencer dummy client │ │
│ │ <M> OSS Mixer API │ │
│ │ <M> OSS PCM (digital audio) API │ │
│ │ [*] OSS Sequencer API |
What should i use for mixer instead of KMix? _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
racoontje Veteran
Joined: 19 Jul 2004 Posts: 1290
|
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 5:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just put them in the autoload file |
|
Back to top |
|
|
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 6:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Done, but i'm still missing kmix _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Everything is working now, XMMS only needed that I changed /dev/sound/dsp to /dev/sound/dsp1 with it's OSS output plugin _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenyon Apprentice
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Southern California
|
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
XMMS has a native ALSA output plugin... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
g3n Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 543 Location: México
|
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kenyon wrote: | XMMS has a native ALSA output plugin... |
what's it's portage name? _________________ --[G]-- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenyon Apprentice
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Southern California
|
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | USE="alsa" emerge xmms |
Then set the output plugin to ALSA in the XMMS preferences. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|