Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
failed system? fsck errors and others....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 7:12 am    Post subject: failed system? fsck errors and others.... Reply with quote

I don't know how this started, possibly after executing
Code:
e2fsck -fp /dev/hda3 or hda1
or possibly after executing and interrupting
Code:
fsck /dev/hda1 or 3
(I can't remember which).

Either way, I rebooted my computer and the following errors came up:

Code:
* Checking root filesystem
fsck: fsck.xfs: not found
fsck: error 2 while executing fsck.xfs for /dev/ROOT


Then...
Code:
* Checking all filesystems
fsck.ext2: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/BOOT
/dev/BOOT
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem.  If the device is valid and really contains an ext2 filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
      e2fsck -b 8193 <device>

* Fsck could not correct all errors, manual repair needed                                      [!!]
Give root password for maintenance (or type Control-D for normal startup)


When I ran "e2fsck -b 8193 /dev/hda3" as suggested, I got the same message:
Code:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem.  If the device is valid and really contains an ext2 filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
      e2fsck -b 8193 <device>


When I type Control-D, as suggested, I get the following errors after several things load successfully:
Code:
*Bringing eth0 up (192.168.0.2)
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFBRADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device


Then...
Code:
* Starting cupsd
* Setting DNS domainname to homenetwork
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "portmap" was not started
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "famd" was not started
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "netmount" was not started
* Starting vixie-cron
* Setting up xdm
* Starting local
/etc/host.conf: line 24: bad command 'mdns off'


And when I do ctrl-alt-del:
Code:
error stopping xdm


I tried changing 'mdns off' to 'mdns on', but I got the same error, only it said "bad command 'mdns on'".

I also ran e2fsck -fp on /dev/hda1 and it gave me errors about block counts, and I allowed e2fsck to fix those errors. Nothing.

Finally, I found something that said to change /dev/BOOT in /etc/fstab to /dev/<device>, so I changed /dev/BOOT to /dev/hda1 and /dev/ROOT to /dev/hda3 and /dev/SWAP to /dev/hda2. No results there either.

I think I have exhausted my list of things to try (and I think I've named all the things I have tried), and I now need to ask for help.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

It looks like your /etc/fstab does not actually reflect your filesystems.
From the error, /etc/fstab contains an entry /dev/ROOT. That needs to be replaced with your real root partition, possibly /dev/hda3 ?
You may have entries /dev/BOOT and /dev/SWAP. They need to be fixed too.

It looks like the filesystem entries in /etc/fstab are wrong too.
Nobody uses xfs, yet your system is looking for an xfs filesystem on root.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
From the error, /etc/fstab contains an entry /dev/ROOT. That needs to be replaced with your real root partition, possibly /dev/hda3 ?
You may have entries /dev/BOOT and /dev/SWAP. They need to be fixed too.

It looks like the filesystem entries in /etc/fstab are wrong too.



Thank you, NeddySeagoon, you helped me before and you are helping me again. Gentoo got farther this time without errors; however, a couple errors still remain:

Code:
*Bringing eth0 up (192.168.0.2)
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFBRADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device

* Starting cupsd
* Setting DNS domainname to homenetwork
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "portmap" was not started
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "famd" was not started
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "netmount" was not started
* Starting vixie-cron
* Setting up xdm
* Starting local
/etc/host.conf: line 24: bad command 'mdns off'


As a side note, instead of loading KDE, Gentoo is loading gnome, which I emerged a while ago but don't really use, so if anyone can tell me how to get back to KDE, that would be helpful.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_lan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 891
Location: Charles Town, WV

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to go back into your:

Code:
/etc/rc.conf


and change the session information to reflect what you use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_lan wrote:
You need to go back into your:

Code:
/etc/rc.conf


and change the session information to reflect what you use.


Thank you, I did that and the KDE login screen loaded.

However, I still have a couple of other issues, one of which I mentioned in my last post. At the end of the boot sequence, right before I get the login prompt in the console, I still get the following errors:

Code:
*Bringing eth0 up (192.168.0.2)
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFBRADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device

* Starting cupsd
* Setting DNS domainname to homenetwork
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "portmap" was not started
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "famd" was not started
ERROR: Problem starting needed services
     "netmount" was not started
* Starting vixie-cron
* Setting up xdm
* Starting local
/etc/host.conf: line 24: bad command 'mdns off'


And when I do a console login, I get the following errors:

Code:
tux-login: *my id*
Password:
PAM-env[6774]: Unknown PAM_ITEM: <DISPLAY>
login [6774] PAM pam_putenv: delete non-existend entry: DISPLAY
PAM-env[6774]: Unknown PAM_ITEM: <XAUTHORITY>
login [6774] PAM pam_putenv: delete non-existend entry: XAUTHORITY
login (pam_unix) [6774]: session opened for user *my id* by (uid=0)
Last login: Thu Dec 30 12:01:37 on vc/1


Logging out, similar errors:

Code:
PAM-env[6774]: Unknown PAM_ITEM: <DISPLAY>
*my id* [6774] PAM pam_putenv: delete non-existend entry: DISPLAY
PAM-env[6774]: Unknown PAM_ITEM: <XAUTHORITY>
*my id* [6774] PAM pam_putenv: delete non-existend entry: XAUTHORITY
*my id* (pam_unix) [6774]: session opened for user *my id* by (uid=0)

/etc/host.conf: line 24: bad command 'mdns off'


I assume that the latter two sets of errors refer to entries in a configuration file somewhere, but I don't know which one. And I don't know what to do about the first set.

Thank you for any help you can give.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

Code:
*Bringing eth0 up (192.168.0.2)
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: No such device
Means the module for your network card is not loaded.
modprobe it and run
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
to get networking up.
CUPS depends on networking, even on a single PC.
I'm not sure about PAM.
This thread
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=269969&start=25 will show you how to determine your network module.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the modprobe, found that the correct module was r8169; what is confusing to me is why this isn't loading automatically at boot. You helped me set that up a long time ago, and it's been working fine since then.

I got r8169 to load, checked ifconfig, and it worked, but on restart I had to repeat the process. And I still got the same errors (SIOCSIADDR etc., see above).

On the PAM front, I still need someone's help.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I'm just going to back up my important files and reinstall Gentoo. I don't trust my system in its current state.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

A reinstall is a bit extreme.
Have you changed your kernel freom 2.4 to 2.6?
There are seperate /etc/modules.autoload.d/ker... files for these series of kernels. If you have done the 2.4.x to 2.6.y update, you need to review the content of /etc/modules.autoload.d/

All the individual bits of your system will still be OK.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
All the individual bits of your system will still be OK.


Yes and no. I've lost confidence in my current setup, whether or not it's rescuable. And besides, I'm always looking for a fresh start; maybe this time I'll do things right, now that I have a little experience with Linux. I have no problem with reinstalling, so why not reinstall?

Thanks once again for all your help.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to you, NeddySeagoon, I changed my mind. I started to go through the process of installing Genoo and I decided that I could risk feeling a little uncomfortable with my current setup. I guess I'm a little rash sometimes, so thank you for setting me straight.

I am running the 2.6.9 kernel. I have in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6.9. The contents of said file are:

Code:
libata
crc32
r8169


I assume these are in the correct file; my question now is why they are not loading now when they have loaded properly for the last several months. And should I type in all of the modules lsmod lists when I run the LiveCD?

By the way, I was wrong when I said that modprobe fixed my problem. I did run
Code:
modprobe r8169
for my ethernet adapter, and I did restart eth0, but all I get is 192.168.0.2, and I cannot connect to the internet.

So, there are still several unresolved problems (see earlier posts).

For the meantime, I'm running Knoppix.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

This is not correct
Code:
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6.9
the file must be called
Code:
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
it is used by all versions of the 2.6 kernel.

What network address do you expect?
Is the 192.168.0 bit right?

Lets fix this first and see what happens. Often onlythe first error is relevant as the subsequent ones are caused by the firts one.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is the 192.168.0 bit right?

I don't think so. The typical address from my router begins with 192.168.1 . This is the format the address followed before all of these problems (and still follows when I load Knoppix). Additionally, I still cannot access the web through Gentoo.

Also, should I put all modules listed by lsmod on the LiveCD into the /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 file?

Finally, I can't access make menuconfig to deal with kernel modules and drivers. I get some error about the target something, I can't remember exactly.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

You must have your /etc/conf.d/net file set up to allocate a static IP address which is in the wrong subnet. There are three version of this file in circulation now, so I'll refer you to the embedded comments or the net.example file.

You do not need to list everyting in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6.
Some are loaded by scripts, some are loaded because the are depended upon by others.
I have my network card module, the hardware layer for my sound cards (I have 3), this allows me to cotrol the load order, scsi emulation modules and nvidia.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All right, we're making significant progress here. I followed your suggestions and all of the modules loaded properly, I got my eth0 allright, and the "SIOCSIFADDR...." errors are gone. What remains, then? The PAM errors, when I do a console login, as well as an error saying
Code:
bad command 'mdns off'
or
Code:
bad command 'mdns on'
whichever way I have it set in /etc/host.conf. And, I've discovered, when logged in as my normal user I cannot su to gain root privileges; I get a message saying that permission was denied.

One more thing. I get an artsmessage from KDE when it loads:
Code:
Sound server informational message:
Error while initializing the sound driver.
device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory)
The sound server will continue, using the null output device.


I post that last message not looking for help (because it obviously belongs in Desktop Environments) but in the hopes that it will clue us in to something that is connected to the kernel and configuration files. I don't know.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

The easy one first - /dev/dsp. On gentoo this is a symbolic link to /dev/sound/dsp which is the real OSS dsp device file. The alsa OSS emulation layer shoud provide it.
If /dev/sound/dsp exists you need to make the symbolic link, if not the Alsa OSS layer modules are either not loaded or not built (or both). The /etc//modules.d/alsa file should load them.

You must be in the wheel group to be able to su to root.
What does
Code:
groups
say?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. I had to emerge the alsa OSS emulation layer, as it did not appear to be installed.
2. The files /etc//modules.d/alsa and /dev/sound/dsp do not exist on my computer.
3.
Code:
groups
gives me
Code:
users
I don't know why this is, as my user was a member of several groups before.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

Groups is one of several files that gets reset to the defualts when you say yes to it in etc-update. Its a Bad Thing. You need to edit /etc/group to fix the damage. Has your /etc/fstab been reset too?

/etc//modules.d/alsa will load the modules to create the OSS emulation layer. You also need the script /etc/init.d/alsasound. Do you have that?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
You need to edit /etc/group to fix the damage.

Done.

Quote:
Has your /etc/fstab been reset too?

Probably. Earlier in this thread, I had to change the values in that file from their defaults to what they should be, based on my setup.

Quote:
/etc//modules.d/alsa will load the modules to create the OSS emulation layer. You also need the script /etc/init.d/alsasound. Do you have that?

I have neither.
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrks518
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should add that the swap partition is not loading. It probably has to do with one of the files that was reset. I searched around and couldn't find anything to help (I tried several suggestions but none worked).
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Kingston 512 SDRAM PC3200 | Nvidia Geforce MX 400 | Seagate 160 GB
2.6.9-r14 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrks518,

Swap is automatically started by the entry in /etc/fstab.
You may manually issue the
Code:
swapon /dev....
just as you did in the inital install to start swap by hand.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum