Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
LyX with qt interface is not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Liquid Crystal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 8:09 am    Post subject: LyX with qt interface is not working Reply with quote

Sorry if this wasn't the right place to post my thread!

Initially I emerged lyx without qt. I really found it ugly, so I re-emerged it with qt using:
Code:
USE="qt" emerge lyx


I assumed that if I start lyx, it should come up with the qt interface, which is quite neat compared to the XForms one. Unfortunately, it didn't!
I'm not sure where relies my problem but your guidance or suggestion can really help as I tried to search the forums but couldn't find anything helpful!
_________________
Making *nix user friendly is easier than debugging Windoz
Tuxntosh web site The *nix Graphics Web Site
(Warning! Not for M$ Windowz users!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liquid Crystal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No one faced this problem before!
Seems I have a problem somewhere then, humm...

Well I checked lyx mailing lists and working with the guys over there as well, let's see how can I fix that.

Here is my post on the mailing list:
http://www.mail-archive.com/lyx-users@lists.lyx.org/msg36811.html
_________________
Making *nix user friendly is easier than debugging Windoz
Tuxntosh web site The *nix Graphics Web Site
(Warning! Not for M$ Windowz users!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hobbes2100
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Liquid,

I'm installing lyx right now so I'll let you know if default 1.3.5 works on my system.

One note, the use of:
Code:

USE="myflag" emerge mypackage


is generally discouraged. You should consider:
Code:

cat >> /etc/portage/package.use
mypackage myflag
^D

instead.

I don't think this is causing your problem though.

Regards,
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hobbes2100
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, lyx just completed installing for me and it works 100%. As a note, I just rebuilt my system from scratch (it was originally built around Dec. 2001!!) so everything is quite cruft free and up-to-date.

I recommend you try:
Code:

USE="qt" emerge -uDva lyx

and verify that all the packages to be installed make sense (note the warning against USE="qt" I mentioned earlier ... you can always find information on this in man emerge). Then say "Yes".

One other possibility is to try:
Code:

revdep-rebuild

to bring your binaries up-to-date with your library versions but I don't think this is your problem.

Regards,
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liquid Crystal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hobbes,

Thanks a lot, I will try
Code:
USE="qt" emerge -uDva lyx

and let you know what happened :)

Quote:
is generally discouraged. You should consider:
Code:

cat >> /etc/portage/package.use
mypackage myflag
^D

instead.

Hummm, never read about it! :) Thanks anyways...
_________________
Making *nix user friendly is easier than debugging Windoz
Tuxntosh web site The *nix Graphics Web Site
(Warning! Not for M$ Windowz users!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liquid Crystal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately
Code:
USE="qt" emerge -uDva lyx


Didn't solve my problem, however, I also tried:
Code:
revdep-rebuild


LyX is still not running with Qt!!!

What I will do now is grab LyX source, compile it with Qt and test it, if that's working then we can dig further.

What do you think?
_________________
Making *nix user friendly is easier than debugging Windoz
Tuxntosh web site The *nix Graphics Web Site
(Warning! Not for M$ Windowz users!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tapted
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 122
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too have this problem, on a fresh install. So do some other people I know.

LyX has indeed been built with QT support on my machine:
Code:
$ ldd $(which lyx)
        libqt-mt.so.3 => /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3 (0x00002af00ac09000)
        ...

But lyx loads with the xforms frontend at runtime.

Try running qtconfig in gnome and ensure plastique is selected -- mine started with motif, which looks similar to xforms and is equally ugly. However, this did not fix the problem for me.

Code:
$ lyx -dbg init,gui
does not yield anything informative either. Other than a "Could not find Qt translations for locale C", or locale en_GB or en, or whatever $LANG is set to. However, this occurs on machines where the QT frontend does work.

I suspect the "problem" is some unmet runtime dependency on some KDE package. I have not yet installed KDE, nor has the other person I know who is experiencing this problem. I am investigating -- another computer of mine running gentoo (with kde installed but not running) has LyX working with the QT frontend. I'll see if I can root out the package...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tapted
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 122
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Here's the story.

lyx will not load with the QT front end until you have installed KDE (all of it), and logged in once with KDE.

No need to recompile or reconfigure, it Just Works. But only after logging in with a KDE session. After doing that, and logging in with a Gnome session, lyx will continue to load with the QT front end.

Thenceforth, lyx will continue to load with the QT front end, even after deleting ~/.kde and ~/.kderc and even ~/.lyx

This appears to be a bug, but when I file a report (which I am about to do), I know I will struggle with the 'steps to reproduce' bit..

- Moo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tapted
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 122
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Righto. I did more digging.

Basically, lyx relies on the existence of

~/.qt/qtrc

to start the Qt interface. qtconfig does not make this (it probably should). It is only made when you initiate a KDE session.

Moo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum