Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] mount: unknown filesystem type 'ntfs'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DiZASTiX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:58 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] mount: unknown filesystem type 'ntfs' Reply with quote

Ok, I posted this over at another forum but still have yet to figure it out! I get this error when I try to mount my windows xp drive:

Code:
# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/win
mount: unknown filesystem type 'ntfs'


And here is my /etc/fstab:

Code:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hdb2               /boot           ext2            deafaults,noatime               1 2
/dev/hdb3               /               reiserfs                noatime                 0 1
/dev/hdb5               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user             0 0
/dev/hda1               /mnt/win        auto            ro,user                 1 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec             0 0


I am running kernel 2.6.9 and this is what I have done so far:

- recompiled the kernel with ntfs support by following the steps here but when I 'cat /proc/filesystems', ntfs is not listed like it says it should be

- emerged ntfsprogs

But after this I still get that same error when trying to mount. Any ideas?


Last edited by DiZASTiX on Sun Jan 02, 2005 6:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to specify the filesystem type somewhere.

Either set it in fstab, where auto is generally not a good idea anyway, or on the command line - which you would normally only do for incidental mounts.

Either way, you must tell the system what to expect.
Set the FS type in fstab and use this command:

Code:
mount /mnt/win

No more, no less.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiZASTiX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adaptr wrote:
You have to specify the filesystem type somewhere.

Either set it in fstab, where auto is generally not a good idea anyway, or on the command line - which you would normally only do for incidental mounts.

Either way, you must tell the system what to expect.
Set the FS type in fstab and use this command:

Code:
mount /mnt/win

No more, no less.


changed auto to ntfs in /etc/fstab and same error. I think it has something to do with the actual ntfs support, since it is not listed in /proc/filesystems like it should be...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have NTFS support built in or as a module ?
If module, did you actually install the modules ?
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiZASTiX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adaptr wrote:
Do you have NTFS support built in or as a module ?
If module, did you actually install the modules ?


no, I have it built in directly to the kernel, do you think I should try it as a module and then modprobe it and see if it works? I mean, it should work as built in, but it doesn't hurt to try I suppose....

EDIT: I added it as a module instead of built in, did make modules && modules_install, loaded the module and it works! Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum