Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unified Qt/GTK2-themer!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cossins
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:11 pm    Post subject: Unified Qt/GTK2-themer! Reply with quote

http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=9714
This is a theme for GTK2 which paints the widgets using Qt!
This means that KDE/Qt and Gnome/GTK2 apps look exactly (almost) the same, regardless of the theme.

If you shouldn't have realized it, this is great news!

- Simon
_________________
who cares
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cossins
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and I forgot to mention: I had to tinker with the Makefile.am to make it compile.

Here's how I made it work: (Qt 3.2.x from KDE CVS, GTK+ 2.2.4)
- Changed QTDIR to /usr/qt/3
- Changed -lqt-mt to -lqt in libqtengine_la_LDFLAGS

Do the above before running configure and make, and your set!
Also, to make GTK+2 register the theme, I ran configure this way:
Code:
# ./configure --prefix=`gtk-config --prefix`


If you don't do that, the engine will be installed at a wrong location.

Have fun!

- Simon
_________________
who cares
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

totally elite.
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it to work by editing the Makefile itself, just changing the QTDIR.. editing the Makefile.am didn't work :/

buggy, but *extremely impressive*
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedBeard0531
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2002
Posts: 415
Location: maryland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oooo, plasik, in gtk apps, yummy!!! :D
I want crystal too

since qt rendering is faster than gtk, after som optimisation will this be faster thn native gtk, or will it be as slow as both combined?
_________________
OH MY GOD! Kenny just killed Kenny!
That Basterd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cossins
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RedBeard0531 wrote:
oooo, plasik, in gtk apps, yummy!!! :D
I want crystal too

since qt rendering is faster than gtk, after som optimisation will this be faster thn native gtk, or will it be as slow as both combined?

It will always be a little slower than native GTK theming. That's because it has to do both simple GTK theming and Qt rendering.

- Simon
_________________
who cares
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My idea of the future of toolkits: Multiple toolkits going through a single renderer (of your choice). For example, the developer will be able to write his application in toolkit 1 (because it's simpler to write for), toolkit 2 (because it works in plain C) or toolkit 3 (because it has really slick perl bindings) - all of which would go through some sort of standardized rendering protocol to the rendering engine of your choice: Engine 1 (because it was installed by default), engine 2 (because it's way faster, albeit ugly), or engine 3 (because it's 3D, man! :) )

In any case, this is a cool step in the right direction, although I imagine it might be faster the other way around... A QT theme that renders GTK+-2 themes. Ebuild?
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cossins wrote:
It will always be a little slower than native GTK theming. That's because it has to do both simple GTK theming and Qt rendering.


Not really.. it'll be pretty much as fast as Qt's theming speed. How this engine works is it makes Qt draw the widget into a offscreen pixmap (the Qt side of it, which may or may not be expensive), and then simply blits it into the screen (the gtk side of the engine, which is extremely cheap)

Note that other OS's work similarly.. WindowsXP's uxtheme.dll and MacOS 8.1/8.5->9.x->OSX 10.x's Appearance Manager.
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damnit, someone beat me to it! I knew I should have finished this before bed. :P Anyway, this engine actually does work quite nicely. My GTK apps are happily using my KDE theme (baghira) with no problems at all.

Here is my ebuild. Aside from using Portage, this also patches up the Makefile to reflect where Gentoo installs Qt since the authors ./configure doesn't check for that. Just unpack in your overlay dir, emerge it, then open gnome-theme-manager and under Controls select Qt. Suddenly, all your GTK apps will look like your KDE ones! Its magic!

Note: The files in this build are comming off my personal server, which may or may not be able to deal with a lot of users downloading from it. The files are very small (164k total) so I think it'll work ok, if not, be patient. I have to use my server (for now) because Portage doesn't seem to care for KDE-Look's php based download urls much.
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cossins
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great!

In order to apply the theme without installing Gnome (:roll:), put this in ~/.gtkrc-2.0:
Code:
gtk-theme-name = "Qt"

To change the fonts in GTK2, put this in the same file:
Code:
style "yourstylename"
{
        font_name = "YourFont Size"
}
widget_class "*" style "yourstylename"

The font_name property is the font name and the size, with one space between them. Mine looks like this: "Luxi Sans 8"

- Simon
_________________
who cares
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that too. This is nice because I prefer Gaim to Kopete and Evolution to KMail. Generally I just loaded gnome-settings-daemon before KDE so that everything would (mostly) work together. Using the gtk-2.0 file should eliminate the need for that.

I was just using Evolution and admiring how good it looked with my other KDE apps and when I clicked the link that lead to this thread, it opened in Firebird. Its themed like KDE too! God, I'm loving this.
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it just me or all non-active firebird tabs half sized while using the Qt engine? I might have to upgrade firebird since I haven't updated it in a while.
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrybob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 575

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ooohh sounds cool, anybody got some screenshots? I'd like to see nautilus running with the kde plastic theme :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting 8O

Looks like this is worth a try :lol:
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have the plastic theme anymore, it was ok, but I prefer Baghira. So, here is a shot of Konqeror and Nautilus running side by side, both using Baghira (and my grey color scheme). It also works great on Evolution and Gaim. The only major difference is that the tool buttons aren't themed. I notice that Gimp segfaults with this engine at the moment, but like the author said, it IS an 0.x release.

Click me
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cossins
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The GIMP doesn't segfault on me, it looks gorgeous with Plastik buttons. ^_^

The fonts in Mozilla Firebird, though, are a bit large, don't know why.

- Simon
_________________
who cares
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to see the engine automatically set the gtk stock icons (since apparently with gtk, it's set by the theme I guess), with the running kde icon theme.
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nempo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 360
Location: Linkoping, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shm wrote:
Cossins wrote:
It will always be a little slower than native GTK theming. That's because it has to do both simple GTK theming and Qt rendering.


Not really.. it'll be pretty much as fast as Qt's theming speed. How this engine works is it makes Qt draw the widget into a offscreen pixmap (the Qt side of it, which may or may not be expensive), and then simply blits it into the screen (the gtk side of the engine, which is extremely cheap)

Note that other OS's work similarly.. WindowsXP's uxtheme.dll and MacOS 8.1/8.5->9.x->OSX 10.x's Appearance Manager.


It really depends on what in gtk that causes the slow rendering. If it is the renderer then you'll feel a speed-up, if it is the underlaying toolkit-system-thingy/guts then there won't be much difference in terms of speed compared to regular gtk theme engines.

ps. I use gtk/gnome if you're wondering ds.
_________________
homeobocks wrote:
superjaded wrote:

would Big Brother become a reality?

Yeah . . . it would be just like the tv show. Except somebody would be watching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mksoft
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 844

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,

in case you wanted an ebuild for it:

http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=9904
_________________
There's someone in my head but it's not me - Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow. People are starting to make ebuild for stuff now? Usualy you just see rpm packages. Gentoo hits the big time, now! Actually, this is cool because now I don't have to be responcible for hosting the files anymore. ;)
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mksoft
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 844

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OOps, lurid, I haven't noticed you made one as well :oops:
_________________
There's someone in my head but it's not me - Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gatiba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mksoft i used your ebuild but when i set switch2 on QT, it crash with segmentation fault :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberpatrol
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I don't get it to work. :-(

Cossins wrote:
Here's how I made it work: (Qt 3.2.x from KDE CVS, GTK+ 2.2.4)
- Changed QTDIR to /usr/qt/3
- Changed -lqt-mt to -lqt in libqtengine_la_LDFLAGS


My first problem: Where do I find -lqt-mt and/or libqtengine_la_FLAGS?

My second problem: After installing it with the ebuild on kde-look.org no GTK apps are shown with my QT themes. And when compiling it by hand with the source package the compiler stops with several syntax errors in qt_qt_wrapper.cpp.

Can anyone help me, please?
I have installed KDE 3.14, QT 2.3.2-r1, QT 3.2.3, GTK+ 1.2.10-r1 and GTK+ 2.2.4-r1, but I don't have installed Gnome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 2380
Location: Atlanta, Universe

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyberpatrol wrote:

My first problem: Where do I find -lqt-mt and/or libqtengine_la_FLAGS?


in Makefile.am and/or Makefile

cyberpatrol wrote:
My second problem: After installing it with the ebuild on kde-look.org no GTK apps are shown with my QT themes.


Do USE="gtk2" emerge gtk-theme-switch.. the run "switch2", and set the theme to "Qt".
_________________
what up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberpatrol
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made these changes to Makefile and Makefile.am, tried it with ./configure, ./configure --prefix=/usr (/usr is the output of gtk-config --prefix) and ./configure --prefix=/usr/qt/3 but still without luck. I'm still getting many compiling errors.

The first error I get after running make is
qt_qt_wrapper.cpp:1:21: qpixmap.h: No such file or directory
and the same with many other files which are in /usr/qt/3/include.

And after these errors I get many other (syntax) errors.

Am I doing something wrong, is there some info missing or wrong in Cossin's explanation or is there a bug in the source package?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum