[SOLVED] Help! Screen/display gets only garbage when booting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
glengels
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 5:38 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Help! Screen/display gets only garbage when booting Reply with quote

I'm a newbie trying to boot linux for the first time.

I've installed Gentoo on my laptop from a liveCD. It can boot just fine from the CD.

When I try to boot the real Gentoo installation on the hard drive, the screen comes up with garbage. Before I describe the problem symptom in detail, let me describe my system environment.

My computer is a Compaq Presario 2200 laptop. The graphics is embedded in the motherboard. When I boot Windows XP, it tells me the graphics adapter is Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller.

I installed the pentium4 stage 3 tarball of the 2.6 kernel from the live CD.

When I boot into GRUB, it comes up as: GNU GRUB version 0.94

The GRUB config is as follows:
root (hd0,3)
kernel /kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda6 vga=791
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-gentoo-r1

I got the "vga=791" part from section 10.a ("Optional: Framebuffer") of the Gentoo Installation handbook. According to this section, because I used genkernel's default kernel configuration, I have to add a vga-statement to my bootloader config file. Since my laptop normally runs (in Windows) at 1024x768 with either 16 or 32 bit Color, I have chosen 16bpp, which translates to a value of 791.

When I try to boot, it gives me this:

You passed an undefined mode number.
Press <RETURN> to see video modes available. [When I do this:]

Video adapter: VESA VGA
Mode: COLSxROWS:
0 0F00 80x25
1 0F01 80x50
2 0F02 80x43
3 0F03 80x28
4 0F05 80x30
5 0F06 80x34
6 0F07 80x60

Enter mode number or 'scan': __