Building packages for multiple systems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
deoren
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:11 am    Post subject: Building packages for multiple systems Reply with quote

I'm a newbie to Gentoo, but am pretty familiar with GNU/Linux as a whole. What I've used since Nov of 2003 is Fedora, and I have to say I like Fedora Core 1 pretty well. Unfortunately, since Fedora Core 1 I have to say the quality seems to have degraded somewhat. Fedora Core 3 is slow. There is hardly another way to describe it.

I read somewhere (was it today, yesterday?) that it's optimized for P4. Oh wait, it was today. It can be found here: http://trends.newsforge.com/article.pl?sid=04/12/21/1934253

Quote:
Gentoo users tweak everything for performance and stability. Everything must be built from source with compilation options made for the processor architecture. ( Of course they also have prebuilt tuned binaries as well to reduce the endless days of compiling )

Here's an interesting site, dedicated to Gentoo users:
http://funroll-loops.org/

Gentoo users just compile code. They are not constructive by rewriting the code for performance and contributing it back to the community.

Only a few things that make your system slow: lack of ram, poor video drivers, and hard disk access.

I don't use Gentoo. I can admit I have tweaked for speed. I recompiled Fedora source RPMS for the frequently used programs I run: Firefox, Linux kernel, Xorg, and GNOME. (Fedora is already optimized for P4 processors) That is as far as I will go. Performance difference is ok.

I also rewrote the boot process to boot from power on to GNOME in under 20 seconds (P4 1.8Ghz Laptop) and no services turned off, using IBM's paralellism recommendation.

Tunning is for Geeks. Tunning everything is for the obsessive.