Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fstab woes :(
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eulogoius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:59 am    Post subject: fstab woes :( Reply with quote

Here's my problem. All of a sudden, when I rebooted my server, I got a message saying that "special device /storage/Upload, /storage/packages does not exist". I thought to myself, that's odd, THEY DO TOO! So I waited until the computer finished booting, and typed "mount". Sure enough, not mounted. Ok, let's try this: "mount -a". Typed "mount" again, and what do you know, /storage/Upload is there, and same with /storage/packages. So I was wondering why all of a sudden fstab is trying to load them before it loads all of /hdd1/storage? /storage is a 160gig maxtor drive, if it matters. Here's my fstab:

Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/hda3               /               reiserfs        noatime                 0 1
/dev/hda2               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/hdd1               /storage        reiserfs        noatime                 0 1
/dev/hdc1               /videos         reiserfs        noatime                 0 2
/videos                 /home/xbox/videos       none    bind,rw                 0 0
/storage                /home/xbox/storage      none    bind,rw                 0 0
/storage/Upload         /home/xbox/upload       none    bind,rw                 0 0
/storage/packages       /home/binaries/packages none    bind,rw                 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0



To all my knowledge, this should be fine. It worked before, haven't gotten this error ever, and this computer has been running for about 4 months now, and I have rebooted it several times with no errors. So if anyone has ANY idea why it would all of a sudden just not do this correctly, I would greatly appreciate it. Oh, and wow, gentoo kicks ass :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are complicating your life by doing so.

Simply keep these lines :
Code:

/dev/hdd1               /storage        reiserfs        noatime                 0 1
/dev/hdc1               /videos         reiserfs        noatime                 0 2


and create symlinks for the rest. Like this :

Code:
ln -s /storage /home/xbox/storage
ln -s /videos /home/xbox/videos
ln -s /storage/upload /home/xbox/upload (you put a upper case U, i corrected)
ln -s /storage/packages /home/binaries/packages


And see the ln man page to suit you needs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulogoius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I did try that when I first set up my system. The reason that I have those directories is for my FTP server that I have set up. Those are users that acutally don't have a shell to logon into for security purporses. I also have it set up so that my FTP server doesn't follow sym links also, so the only way that I can get people to be able to see those 2 directories is to mount them in fstab. Again, after my computer boots, I can do a "mount -a" and it mounts everything in my fstab just fine, but not when I boot. And to repeat myself, this just started happening, and I was just wondering why all of a sudden it was doing this, when 2 days ago it wasn't, and nothing has changed. If anyone has ANY clue why, please let me know. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulogoius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. So I figured out why this was happening. Apparently in /etc/init.d/localmount there is an option (-atF) to mount all local filesystems at the same time. Well for some reason, mine was set like this, but this wasn't a problem until recently. So when I removed the F it worked fine. Thanks, and Gentoo still rocks my socks off :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum