View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:44 am Post subject: Kernel question[solved] |
|
|
Is it possible to have a genkernel compiled kernel and a manually compiled kernel at the same time. Such that I can run each separately via grub? I currently only have a genkernel compiled r6, but I'd like to add a manually compiled r13 to that.
This would then be my grub.conf
Code: | default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.9-r13
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r13 root=/dev/hda3
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.9-r6
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2..6.9-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-gentoo-r6
title=Windows XP
root(hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1 |
I've read somewhere that there shouldn't be any problem to have a spare kernel (in my case the r6 one). I'd like to experiment some with the r13 and be able to fall back on the r6 when i bork up
One more thing. What's the difference between "root" and "rootnoverify" below the XP title in the grub.conf? I currently have "root" there but the manual also suggests the latter...
Last edited by MdaG on Sun Jan 09, 2005 12:35 am; edited 4 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
seank l33t
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 Posts: 686
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can't run them simultaneously, but you can have as many kernels as you want installed and choose which to use on bootup. Add as many entries as you like to GRUB. Are you having problems with it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have a theory based upon earlier threads that my genkernel compiled r6 is making it hard for me to use iptables... and I haven't compiled a kernel manually yet so I think it's about time. I've been using Linux for two month now High time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Xamindar Veteran
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 1155 Location: California
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aww, I was wondering about that iptables thing I just did a genkernel for my little server for the first time and when I tried to load the ip_tables module it didn't exist. I thought genkernel was a general kernel with most common modules compiled, guess not.
Also I want to point out that a genkernel uses a different kind of init that autodetects devices, am I not mistaken? I haven't tried it so I wouldn't know but would it conflict with a custom compiled kernel? (I plan to do the same thing as the parent) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm currently compiling my first kernel
Let's see if it boots up at all when I'm done . There were a LOT of options that I was unsure of in the menu...
*EDIT*
OK, that didn't go to well
this is what happened:
Code: | .
.
.
UDF-fs: No partition found (1)
Kernel panic-not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (3,3) |
It freezes after the last line. I followed the handbook step by step.
Anyone know how to procees from here? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does this have anything to do with initrd? I havent't built one since I'm not sure how and what it's for. I assumed it's something only genkernel uses... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tosho n00b
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
just see what is the file system of your / partition and recompile the kernel
?what is your fstab ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My /boot is ext3 and my / is reiserfs and I've compiled support for both.
This is my fstab:
Code: | /dev/hda2 /boot ext3 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/hda4 / reiserfs noatime,notail 0 1
/dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
tosho n00b
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (3,3)
meens that the kernel can't load the file system module (for reiserfs in your case)
see again what u had compile in and build it in( not as module ....)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is it...
Code: | <*> Second extended fs support
[ ] Ext2 extended attributes
<*> Ext3 journalling file system support
[*] Ext3 extended attributes
[ ] Ext3 POSIX Access Control Lists
[ ] Ext3 Security Labels
[ ] JBD (ext3) debugging support
<*> Reiserfs support
[ ] Enable reiserfs debug mode
[ ] Stats in /proc/fs/reiserfs
[ ] ReiserFS extended attributes
< > JFS filesystem support
< > XFS filesystem support
< > Minix fs support
< > ROM file system support
[ ] Quota support
[*] Dnotify support
< > Kernel automounter support
<*> Kernel automounter version 4 support (also supports v3)
CD-ROM/DVD Filesystems --->
DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems --->
Pseudo filesystems --->
Miscellaneous filesystems --->
Network File Systems --->
Partition Types --->
Native Language Support ---> |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
MdaG l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 945 Location: Stockholm, Sverige
|
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 12:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Nevermind, I'm a piece of poop. I just realised that my root partition is hda4... I works now.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|