View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 11:37 am Post subject: DHCPCD timeout using madwifi & wpa_supplicant |
|
|
Hi,
I am using a D-Link DWL-G650 to connect my Tecra 8100 to a safecom SWBR-5400 wireless router. Everything worked fine with no encryption using the madwifi driver (just to test it worked!), but now that I have merged and setup wpa_supplicant the DHCPCD client hits the timeout (1 minute A.T.M.) 'waiting for a valid DHCP response from the server'
Any ideas? Config file snippets as follows...
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
# WIRELESS (802.11 support)
# Wireless can be provided by iwconfig or wpa_supplicant
...
...
# wpa_supplicant
# emerge net-wireless/wpa-supplicant
# Wireless options are held in /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
# Consult the sample file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.example for instructions
# To choose wpa_supplicant over iwconfig
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
# To configure wpa_supplicant
wpa_supplicant_ath0="-dddd -Dmadwifi" # For Atheros based cards
# Consult wpa_supplicant for more drivers
# By default we give wpa_suppliant 60 seconds to associate and authenticate
wpa_timeout_ath0=60
|
/etc/conf.d/wireless
Code: |
# You can also override the interface settings found in /etc/conf.d/net
# per ESSID - which is very handy if you use different networks a lot
config_brewery=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_brewery="-d -S -t 60"
|
(EDIT - I have tried with and without the dhcpcd -S and -r switches)
/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: |
network={
ssid="brewery"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
#psk="A3c5B10g9C6b5E5f9B"
psk=9B6DCEB83DD838E042E0DDC61fA7A9C9574005DEB1995B7863E3CA9DF6763C1E
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
priority=2
}
|
I have check the PSK and it matches on the router, and as far as I can tell wpa_supplicant is starting up fine. The only debug info I get from DHCPCD is the mac address before it times out.
I have these merged :
* net-wireless/madwifi-driver
Latest version installede: 0.1_pre20050106
* net-wireless/madwifi-tools
Latest version installed: 0.1_pre20050106
* net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
Latest version installed: 0.3.3
* sys-apps/baselayout
Latest version installed: 1.11.8
The base layout has the patch from this bug applied...
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=74637
Another interesting side effect is that once this has failed my router is locked up and refuses to route for an wired machine already setup, I have to turn it off/on to get it working again!
Thanks in advance for your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try using another dhcp client - we support 3 others ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 3:48 pm Post subject: DHCPCD timeout using madwifi & wpa_supplicant |
|
|
Ha, typical! I had merged udhcp last night - I thought I had tried it, but in my sleepiness I must have not
Sending this using wireless, thanks UberLord. One last question tho :
I have this in my /etc/conf.d/wireless (forgot to include it in my last post)
Code: |
preferred_aps=( "brewery" )
associate_order="any"
|
I thought this would mean that the scripts would attempt to connect to 'brewery' before anything else.
However, i have connected and gained an IP address :
Code: |
kronenbourg ~ # ifconfig ath0
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0F:3D:A9:A4:0C
inet addr:192.168.2.9 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:100 errors:257 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:257
TX packets:114 errors:42 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
RX bytes:74875 (73.1 Kb) TX bytes:12669 (12.3 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Memory:d0e80000-d0e90000
kronenbourg ~ # iwconfig ath0
ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"belkin54g" Nickname:"belkin54g"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:11:50:3D:BF:E9
Bit Rate:36 Mb/s Tx-Power:50 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=2/94 Signal level=-93 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:42 Invalid misc:42 Missed beacon:9
|
This is telling me I have connected to my neighbours (presumably unsecure) access point, isn't it? What should I do to force connection to 'brewery' before any other available APs?
Cheers, Bry.
Better see if I can find out whose got the unsecure AP too (maybe)
![Twisted Evil :twisted:](images/smiles/icon_twisted.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Right, it appears the reason that udhcpc was working was because it was attaching to an alternative AP. I've set it to only use the preferred (my) AP and now udhcp fails with 'No lease, failing'.
Time for a web-browse methinks... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
That sounds like it's either refusing a connect to your AP or there's a problem with your DHCP server.
Try setting RC_VERBOSE=yes in /etc/conf.d/rc and seeing what happens - you get a more detailed output when starting net.ethx scripts. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bah! Have managed to break my installation after updating to kernel 2.6.10 (really should try fixing one thing at a time) The wireless networking will have to go hiatus f.t.m.
No doubt I'll be hassling you over this in about a weeks time...thanks for your time. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Please note that wpa_supplicant uses it's own configuration - /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
It does not use anything from /etc/conf.d/wireless |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, I knew that wpa_suplicant had its own configuration file - I was assuming that both the conf.d/wireless and wpa_supplicant.conf would need to be configure for my wirelss to work correctly, is this not the case? Do I only need wpa_supplicant.conf? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bryanb wrote: | Do I only need wpa_supplicant.conf? |
Yes
You can configure network settings per ESSID though
Code: | config_WPA_AccessPoint=( "192.168.0.2/24" ) |
for example - but blacklisting, preferred_aps, etc have zero affect |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mOjO_420 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/16314519603ee702f8d3222.gif)
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 71 Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
same exact issue here...
btw to bryanb,
(theres a patch for 2.6.10-r4 on the forums somewhere to get madwifi drivers working again, i didnt bookmark it though)
although i get kernel panics every now and then so i'm probably going to go back to latest 2.6.9 until a new madwifi ver. comes out.
but about this dhcp thing...
starting wpa_supplicant init script works fine but i then have to type 'dhcpcd ath0' and it pulls an IP fine. i have the exact same card DWL-G650 (but a DWL-2100AP) and the drivers get loaded by hotplug just fine. i've got latest masked baselayout version.
i'll try setting debug option in /etc/rc and see what i get. _________________ http://thegeekclub.net |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mOjO_420 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/16314519603ee702f8d3222.gif)
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 71 Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:03 am Post subject: wpa_supplicant/bselayout issue |
|
|
heres attempt to start with debug options set in /etc/conf.d/rc and also wpa_supplicant is getting run in debug mode.
Code: | mingus ~ # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart
* Starting ath0
* Loading networking modules for ath0
* modules: wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
* wpa_supplicant provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* dhcpcd provides dhcp
* Running preup function
* Starting wpa_supplicant on ath0 ...
Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'madwifi'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=100 (from group name 'users')
eapol_version=2
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
Line: 68 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=7):
6d 6f 6a 6f 6e 65 74 mojonet
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=8): [REMOVED]
priority=5 (0x5)
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 5
id=0 ssid='mojonet'
Initializing interface (2) 'ath0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:11:95:49:b1:a6
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Daemonize..
* Waiting for association
* timed out
* [ !! ]
mingus ~ #
|
/var/log/messages only shows "rc-scripts: timed out"
interesting thing is that it IS associating and authenticating fine, because i can set the timeout really high and switch to a different VC and run wpa_cli and do a status and it said this (this is while the init script is hanging on "waiting for association" forever.)
Code: | mingus ~ # wpa_cli
wpa_cli v0.3.2 - Copyright (c) 2004, Jouni Malinen <jkmaline@cc.hut.fi>
This program is free software. You can distribute it and/or modify it
under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2.
Alternatively, this software may be distributed under the terms of the
BSD license. See README and COPYING for more details.
Selected interface 'ath0'
Interactive mode
> status
bssid=00:0f:3d:ac:3b:f0
ssid=mojonet
pairwise_cipher=CCMP
group_cipher=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
Supplicant PAE state=AUTHENTICATED
suppPortStatus=Authorized
EAP state=SUCCESS
>
mingus ~ #
|
also if i switch to another console and run 'dhcpcd ath0' it will pull an IP.
or i can kill the init script with CTRL-C and it leaves the ath0 interface up so i can run 'dhcpcd ath0' and it works fine. meaning that there is no problem with wpa_supplicant. it seems the init script just isnt quite figuring out that wpa_supplicant is associated so maybe its not moving on to the next step of running dhcp
any suggestions?
i'm going to emerge sync and look for newer baselayout and wpa_supplicant now.. just realized that its been a few days. _________________ http://thegeekclub.net |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mOjO_420 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/16314519603ee702f8d3222.gif)
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 71 Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
there was a newer ver. of wpa_supplicant so i emerged it. didnt fix the problem but now i get a whole bunch of additional errors when i try to start net.ath0
Code: | * Waiting for association
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
(then it has like 50 more of these and then)
* timed out [!!]
|
i cant find any wpa_ctrl_open file anywhere... and i grepped /etc/init.d/* for that string and got no hits either. _________________ http://thegeekclub.net |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mOjO_420 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/16314519603ee702f8d3222.gif)
Joined: 11 Jun 2003 Posts: 71 Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:53 am Post subject: FIXED! |
|
|
OK.. thanks to some other posts pointing me towards what files to look at i got it resolved.
seems to be that your not getting the expected results from your wpa_cli results in wpa_supplicant_associated() function in /lib/rcscripts/net.modules.d/wpa_supplicant
i added the line:
Code: | wpa_cli -i${1} status | awk -F='/^key_mgmt|^wpa_state|^decision/ { print $2 }' > /root/wpa_error |
to that function and got this in /root/wpa_error:
Code: | # cat /root/wpa_error
WPA-PSK
COMPLETED |
so i modified it to be the following and it worked great.
Code: |
wpa_supplicant_associated() {
local -a status=( $( wpa_cli -i${1} status | awk -F='/^key_mgmt|^wpa_state|^decision/ { print $2 }' ) )
if [[ ${status[0]} == NONE ]]; then
[[ ${status[1]} == ASSOCIATED ]]
else
# [[ ${status[2]} == COND_SUCC ]]
[[ ${status[1]} == COMPLETED ]]
fi
return $?
}
|
i'm sure you'd rather handle that more elegantly so please post what i should alter it to.
thanks. _________________ http://thegeekclub.net |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 7:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
'friad that doesn't seem to be my problem. Here's the output...
Code: |
kronenbourg net.modules.d # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart
* Starting ath0
* Loading networking modules for ath0
* modules: wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
* wpa_supplicant provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* dhcpcd provides dhcp
* Starting wpa_supplicant on ath0 ...
Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'madwifi'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=0
Line: 242 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=7):
62 72 65 77 65 72 79 brewery
proto: 0x1
key_mgmt: 0x2
PSK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
pairwise: 0x18
group: 0x1e
priority=2 (0x2)
Priority group 2
id=0 ssid='brewery'
Initializing interface (2) 'ath0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:0f:3d:a9:a4:0c
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Daemonize..
* Waiting for association [ ok ]
* ath0 connected to "brewery" at 00:50:18:32:98:10
* using WPA-PSK/TKIP
* Configuring ath0 for "brewery" ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up ath0
* Configuration not set for ath0 - assuming dhcp
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ !! ]
|
It is associating okay but timing out on the DHCP. I'm going to try static addresses to see if that works, it'll either show the problem is at DHCP level and get my wireless working, or show that it is not DHCP at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Right have finally made some time for this. I've tried the following combinations and have come to the conclusion that wpa_supplicant is not playing ball in some way :
No encryption + DHCP => works
No encryption + Static IP => works
128 WEP + DHC => works
128 WEP + Static IP => works
WPA + DHCP => not work
WPA + Static IP => not work
Either wpa_supplicant isn't working with madwif or it doesn't like my AP (or vice versa).
Any ideas? I'll post on the wpa_supplicant forum also.
Thanks for the help so far! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bryanb n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brissel, UK
|
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, my router went pop recently and I've replaced it with a D-Link DI-624+. WPA is working fine with thihs combination! Thanks for your input guys. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
kenyon Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/122837814348857327ad65c.jpg)
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 Posts: 155 Location: Southern California
|
Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm having the exact same problem as mOjO_420 above in post https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-1982718.html#1982718 except I'm using the latest stable baselayout, version 1.11.14-r7.
If I use the ctrl-c trick like mojo explained, then manually run dhcpcd, I can get an IP and the interface works fine. Here's the output of wpa_cli status after that:
Code: | # wpa_cli status
Selected interface 'ath0'
bssid=00:0f:b5:98:7d:11
ssid=radium
pairwise_cipher=TKIP
group_cipher=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=192.168.0.103 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
windy n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 May 2006 Posts: 2
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|