Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot Error...need more eyes
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaFrEQ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 218
Location: Earth... for now

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Boot Error...need more eyes Reply with quote

Hey all,

I'm going thru a 2004.3 install on my desktop (now that I'm home) and I ran into a boot problem.
I've gone thru my existing threads, but I can't seem to get it to accept the partition.

HD Layout:
Code:
hd0 = WinXP Pro
hd1 = Gentoo


/etc/fstab Layout:
Code:
/dev/sdb1 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sdb2 /boot ext3 noauto,noatime 1 1
/dev/sdb3 / ext3 noatime 0 1
#/dev/sdb4 [b]not used[/b]
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none /proc/bus/usb usbfs defaults 0 0


grub.conf Layout:
Code:
default 0
timeout 20
splashimage=(hd1,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo 2.6.9-gentoo-r13
root (hd1,1)
kernel (hd1,1)/boot/kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r13 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sdb2
initrd (hd1,1)/boot/initrd-2.6.9-genoo-r13


I keep getting the error:
Code:
>> Block device /dev/sdb2 is not a valid root device...
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected.
Please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell...
boot() ::


I had this once before on another machine. At this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=269491
but I've a different machine and configuration on this system. I actually have a boot partition, and I did go thru the bootstrap process, and installed grub accordingly.

Can anyone see what I'm doing wrong?

Tnx.
L8rz
_________________
--== Linux: More configurable than a Mr. Potato Head ==--
Distros: SusE10.1(amd64); Gentoo 2006.1; Slack9; LFS3; Solaris8(sparc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jiraiya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 34
Location: Domzhale, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D A lol error, I made it a few times myself.

Look at your layout and files closely. /dev/sdb2 is /boot under a booted system, bot during bootstrap, it gets mounted under /. Thus, /boot/kernel-xyz does not exist at boot - only /kernel-xyz does. :wink: :wink: You specified it correctly with the splash image, however. :)


Modify grub.conf to resemble this:

Code:

default 0
timeout 0
splashimage=(hd1,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo 2.6.9-gentoo-r13
root (hd1,1)
kernel (hd1,1)/kernel-2.6.9-gentoo-r13 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sdb2
initrd (hd1,1)/initrd-2.6.9-genoo-r13


I'm not really sure why you needed a 20-second timeout, since I don't see any other OS in your setup. Btw, are all those kernel options needed? they remind me of a livecd kernel ... :?:
_________________
kuchiyose no jutsu!
Soko ni!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaFrEQ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 218
Location: Earth... for now

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, the original way I had the booting was without the initial /boot and it didn't work.
I also copied the kernel and initrd to the sdb3 partition and re-wrote grub.conf to boot to there, but still the same error.

(edit)
As for the options on the kernel boot... just for starting. I'm doing a pseudo-quick stage 3 to check some things out.
I'll most likely re-run it in about a week with a stage-1 once I make sure I got things sorted. (Just because I have the time :) )
(/edit)
_________________
--== Linux: More configurable than a Mr. Potato Head ==--
Distros: SusE10.1(amd64); Gentoo 2006.1; Slack9; LFS3; Solaris8(sparc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaFrEQ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 218
Location: Earth... for now

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, judging by what the error says, and watching it boot, I think it's actually finding the kernel. It just can't mount the filesystems at /dev/sdb#.
I say # because my /boot partition is on sdb2 and / is on sdb3
sdb1 is my swap
_________________
--== Linux: More configurable than a Mr. Potato Head ==--
Distros: SusE10.1(amd64); Gentoo 2006.1; Slack9; LFS3; Solaris8(sparc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jiraiya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 34
Location: Domzhale, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm. if you are certain that this is a kernel error ...

btw, you said you moved kernel & initrd ... did you encounter the same error?
_________________
kuchiyose no jutsu!
Soko ni!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaFrEQ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 218
Location: Earth... for now

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, judging by what the error says, I think it's a sdb problem. Like it isn't finding the SATA drives.

So, the original kernel was with genkern, but I've since gone back with make menuconfig to tidy up where genkern usually slips. However, I cannot pinpoint which SATA I need.

Boot from cd and run lspci:
Code:
pcilib: Cannot open /sys/bus/pic/devices
pcilib: Cannot open /proc/bus/pci
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. (this is the AGP host bridge)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. (this is the PCI bridge)
0000:00:09.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (sound card)
0000:00:09.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! (MIDI / Game input)
0000:00:0d.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. (firewire bridge)
0000:00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. (RAID bridge... SATA???)
0000:00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc.  (IDE bridge)
0000:00:10.0 USB COntroller: VIA...
0000:00:10.1 USB COntroller: VIA...
0000:00:10.2 USB COntroller: VIA...
0000:00:10.3 USB COntroller: VIA...
0000:00:10.4 USB COntroller: VIA...
0000:00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA...
0000:00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA...
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corp. NV34 [GeForce FX5500]

and that's it. So, I'm guessing I have VIA SATA controllers, so I re-ran menuconfig:
--SCSI Device support--->
--SCSI low-level drivers-->
Code:
[*] Serial ATA (SATA) Support
<*> VIA SATA support

after a reboot, I get passed the original error, but now it's just sitting at:
Code:
ide-floppy driver 0.99.newide
ACPI: PCI interrupt 0000:00:0f.0[B] -> GSI 12 (level, low) -> IRQ 12
sata_via(0000:00:0f.0): routed to hard irq line 11
ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x9C00 ctl 0xA002 bmdma 0xAC00 irq 12
sata2: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xA400 ctl 0xA002 bmdma 0xAC00 irq 12
ata1: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/133, 234441648 sectors: lba48
_

and there she sits. Seems like maybe not the correct sata driver?

Tnx.
_________________
--== Linux: More configurable than a Mr. Potato Head ==--
Distros: SusE10.1(amd64); Gentoo 2006.1; Slack9; LFS3; Solaris8(sparc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaFrEQ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 218
Location: Earth... for now

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Booting again witht he cd
lsmod
Code:
evdev
sata_via
libata
via_rhine
mii
crc32
parport_pc
parport
sbp2
ohci1394
ieee1394
ohci_hcd
uhci_hcd
usb_storage
ehci_hcd


So, I'm assuming the sata_via is the driver loaded by the boot-cd, which seems to work. And in the previous post, this is where it stalls. I did read somewhere that sata_ata and libata conflict with one another.
Any news on this conflict? if it exists?

Tnx
_________________
--== Linux: More configurable than a Mr. Potato Head ==--
Distros: SusE10.1(amd64); Gentoo 2006.1; Slack9; LFS3; Solaris8(sparc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaFrEQ wrote:
So, I'm assuming the sata_via is the driver loaded by the boot-cd, which seems to work. And in the previous post, this is where it stalls. I did read somewhere that sata_ata and libata conflict with one another.
Any news on this conflict? if it exists?

I've only ever installed Gentoo on SATA - ASUS P4P800-E motherboard.
After reading the forums I avoided libata - I just selected SCSI, then SATA, then PIIX/ICH.
Works for me, but I admit to no understanding of the technical reasons.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum