View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mattheweast Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Sep 2004 Posts: 121 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:49 pm Post subject: Problems setting my hostname |
|
|
Hi there, I have some slight problems with this. I followed the guide at https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=276942.
I get my IP for my server via dhcp. Here is my setup:
I use dyndns for my ip resolution, and the name is mdke.mine.nu
/etc/hosts:
Code: |
127.0.0.1 euthathios.mdke.mine.nu euthathios localhost |
/etc/hostname:
/etc/domainname:
So everything is as in the guide. I have rebooted.
However I get this error with one of the commands that you specified to check the setup:
Code: |
matt@eustathios matt $ hostname
eustathios
matt@eustathios matt $ hostname --fqdn
hostname: Unknown host |
Further, Proftpd and tetrix fail to start, the errors being, respectively:
Code: |
root@eustathios matt # /etc/init.d/tetrix start
* Starting TetriNET Server...
Hostname self-lookup failed. [ !! ] |
Code: |
root@eustathios matt # /etc/init.d/proftpd start
* Starting proftpd...
- getaddrinfo 'eustathios' error: Name or service not known
- warning: unable to determine IP address of 'eustathios'
- error: no valid servers configured
- Fatal: error processing configuration file '/etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf [ !! ] |
I would appreciate some help with this!! I've never got my hostname/hosts/domainname set up exactly right on this network...
Thanks in advance!! Matt |
|
Back to top |
|
|
iarwain Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2003 Posts: 253
|
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:57 pm Post subject: Re: Problems setting my hostname |
|
|
mattheweast wrote: |
/etc/domainname:
So everything is as in the guide. I have rebooted.
|
Quote: | 3) /etc/dnsdomainname should contain localnetwork
Code:
echo localnetwork > /etc/dnsdomainname |
Have you created dnsdomainname? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mattheweast Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Sep 2004 Posts: 121 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, thanks for your reply!!
Code: | root@eustathios matt # cat /etc/dnsdomainname
mdke.mine.nu |
I also sym linked nisdomainname to this, and made sure the service was running and started upon boot.
M |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mattheweast Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Sep 2004 Posts: 121 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Having said this, there is obviously something wrong with it, because:
Code: | matt@eustathios matt $ dnsdomainname
dnsdomainname: Unknown host |
As i mentioned, mdke.mine.nu is the name I use with dyndns to resolve my IP. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks again. M |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lajasha Veteran
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 1040 Location: Vibe Central
|
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
make sure that you have those entered into your hosts file too... _________________ Come and play in my land |
|
Back to top |
|
|
comprookie2000 Retired Dev
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 Posts: 925 Location: Sun City Center, Florida
|
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 3:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
here is mine Code: | # /etc/hosts: This file describes a number of hostname-to-address
# mappings for the TCP/IP subsystem. It is mostly
# used at boot time, when no name servers are running.
# On small systems, this file can be used instead of a
# "named" name server. Just add the names, addresses
# and any aliases to this file...
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/hosts,v 1.8 2003/08/04 20:12:25 azarah Exp $
#
127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.97 abbottdavid.localnetwork abbottdavid
# IPV6 versions of localhost and co
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
|
_________________ http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bone Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 255 Location: Midwest, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
/etc/hostname and /etc/domainname are deprecieated. Use /etc/conf.d/hostname and /etc/conf.d/domainname.
Note: Using these will not cause the problem, I am just stating that they are deprecieated.
jt |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Braempje l33t
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 748
|
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
bone wrote: | /etc/hostname and /etc/domainname are deprecieated. Use /etc/conf.d/hostname and /etc/conf.d/domainname. |
Do you have any references for that? I haven't found any information on it, neither in my files (they don't exist) nor in the documentation. _________________ Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal |
|
Back to top |
|
|
duderonomy Guru
Joined: 20 Mar 2004 Posts: 349 Location: SF Bay Area
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
me too. (i.e. I would be interested in the reference too) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cintra Advocate
Joined: 03 Apr 2004 Posts: 2111 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | After updating baselayout to 1.11.8 i get messages on boot of the form:
Stop using /etc/dnsdomainname and use /etc/conf.d/domainname
same with domain, clock and keymaps. |
Took a while to find this but thats where it came from.. surprised you haven't seen the messages.
mvh _________________ "I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cjt007 n00b
Joined: 11 May 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
dnsdomainname is sym linked to hostname on Fedora Core 14.
The use od dnsmasq with the -s option means that the /etc/hosts file
and the /etc/resolv.conf file are both brought into play.
192.168.7.2 mrepo cobbler.localdomain
will fail - WHY? because the usual semantics of DNS are used
IP address followed by FQDN followed by alias(s).
Which means that 192.168.7.2 is the IP address it might find inside /etc/hosts
mrepo is supposed to be the FQDN - but how can it be - really.
The dnsmasq application will not complain about this entry.
The hostname command comes back with the right name iff
the /etc/sysconfig/network entry has the correct name and they
agree that /etc/hosts has the same info - at least for that hostname.
So the dnsdomainname is trying to pull apart mrepo into its
short hostname and dnsdomainname parts. This is not possible
because there is no DOT FQDN available.
What should happen is the entry should be re-ordered to
192.168.7.2 cobbler.localdomain mrepo
Now Cobbler is happy because it has a dnsmasq entry for mrepo
and dnsdomainname is happy because it splits the cobbler.localdomain
(FQDN) up with the DOT syntax as
short hostname: cobbler
dnsdomainname: localdomain _________________ Helpful |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|