Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New ATI-Drivers Thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running "modprobe fglrx" should load the module. If no output appears after you run it, it means it loaded successfully. The "lsmod" command lists all currently loaded modules. The module has to be loaded in order for 3D acceleration to work, that's why it's important. You should do this:
Code:
echo "fglrx" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4
to load it automatically when you boot your system.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

localhost root # modprobe fglrx
FATAL: Module fglrx not found.

also im using a 2.6 kern now so would i just change that code to 2.6 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, just change 2.4 to 2.6 in the filename. If you haven't done so since upgrading, you'll need to emerge ati-drivers again - you need to do this each time you first use a new kernel to compile the driver module against it. Before doing that though, you will need to update the /usr/src/linux symlink to point to your current kernel sources. You should be able to do that like this:
Code:
rm /usr/src/linux
ln -s /usr/src/linux-`uname -r` /usr/src/linux

This is necessary because the driver will use the kernel it finds in /usr/src/linux to compile against, and so /usr/src/linux must be pointed to your current kernel.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beetle B.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 524

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If you have a R8500, you might be better off staying with the radeon driver.


If the problem is really with the driver, then I hope my card dies soon so that I have an excuse to get a new non-ATI card! I somehow doubt that they're next release will support my card, as they've already dropped it for their Windows updates.

Going back to the radeon driver is probably a no-no for me. As soon as I switched to XOrg, the radeon driver was slow (and this is for DosBOX purposes). It was fine in XFree86, but I don't want to stick with that forever as it seems everyone's now supporting XOrg.

The XFree86 radeon driver gave me trouble while playing heavy duty games on full screen (would hang fairly quickly), as well as with xscreensaver (would hang after some hours). I'll test the new ATI drivers on XOrg to see if this problem is eliminated.

Finally, against my better judgement, I'm thinking of trying out TV-Out again. But I totally forgot how to. :oops: I can sort of set it up in fglrxconfig (although I have no idea what refresh rate to use for my TV). But how do I execute the command to output stuff to the TV (clone mode, or as a secondary screen)?

Ideally, I'd like it just in Windows - everything is on the monitor by default, and I can simply give a command to show stuff on the TV - without rebooting or restarting X. And if possible, without framebuffers...
_________________
Beetle B.

Please update the table of equivalents.
A Firefox guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yupi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radeon900
i have just installed gentoo i try to load fglrx. i don't have yet the server X installed. i ll install xorg later.
i have compiled with dri drm builtin kernel and agpart and ati radeon in kernel.
i did an '
emerge ati-drivers
write fgglrx in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel2.6
modules-upddate'
and at the reboot fglrx doesn't load, when i do
'modprobe fglrx'
it says 'fatal error operation not permitted'
so i m searching why i can't load fglrx?
how to perfectly run the ati drivers with xorg after,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beetle B. wrote:
Finally, against my better judgement, I'm thinking of trying out TV-Out again. But I totally forgot how to. :oops: I can sort of set it up in fglrxconfig (although I have no idea what refresh rate to use for my TV). But how do I execute the command to output stuff to the TV (clone mode, or as a secondary screen)?

Ideally, I'd like it just in Windows - everything is on the monitor by default, and I can simply give a command to show stuff on the TV - without rebooting or restarting X. And if possible, without framebuffers...

I don't know much about this myself, but I think fglrxconfig will ask you at some point which type of dual display mode you want. The value of the DesktopSetup option in the xorg.conf file corresponds to this, but I don't know what the different values mean offhand

yupi wrote:
radeon900
i have just installed gentoo i try to load fglrx. i don't have yet the server X installed. i ll install xorg later.
i have compiled with dri drm builtin kernel and agpart and ati radeon in kernel.
i did an '
emerge ati-drivers
write fgglrx in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel2.6
modules-upddate'
and at the reboot fglrx doesn't load, when i do
'modprobe fglrx'
it says 'fatal error operation not permitted'
so i m searching why i can't load fglrx?
how to perfectly run the ati drivers with xorg after,

The reason you can't load the fglrx module is because you have compiled the radeon DRM driver into the kernel - this is totally different from the ATI fglrx driver, and you can't have both enabled at the same time. Both of them support your card, so pick one to use and don't load the other one.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cocozz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact the problem was I didnt have /usr/src/linux linked to my kernel :) Now finnally ALL WORKS , AND ROOOOCKSSS


LOTS LOTS LOTS of thanks Wedge !!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

localhost root # modprobe fglrx
FATAL: Module fglrx not found.


im still receiveing this error ARGGGGG sorry for not being kickass like you wedge lol any advice would be awesome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beetle B.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 524

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wedge, incidentally, I turned on Composite for X, rebooted, and the original problem seemed to have gone away! Then I even edited the xorg.conf file and removed composite, and tried (just once), and restarted X (no reboot). Still working!

I was in a hurry, so I didn't do any further tests. I did, however, reboot (w/o composite enabled), and the problem is back.

I may experiment later and see if I can duplicate this. Just thought you may want to try it on your laptop.
_________________
Beetle B.

Please update the table of equivalents.
A Firefox guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beetle B. wrote:
Wedge, incidentally, I turned on Composite for X, rebooted, and the original problem seemed to have gone away! Then I even edited the xorg.conf file and removed composite, and tried (just once), and restarted X (no reboot). Still working!

I was in a hurry, so I didn't do any further tests. I did, however, reboot (w/o composite enabled), and the problem is back.

I may experiment later and see if I can duplicate this. Just thought you may want to try it on your laptop.

It's not unheard of for the ATI driver to behave in ways that make no sense at all :) I'll check that out later if I get time.

@johndavid: OK, the first thing you should do is double-check that the /usr/src/linux symlink is correct. Run "ls -l /usr/src", and look for the /usr/src/linux line. It should be something like this:
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    31 Jan 27 21:11 linux -> /usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6

Check that the output of "uname -r" matches the version section of the bit after the arrow - in this case it would be "2.6.10-gentoo-r6". If that all seems correct, the problem is most likely that the module is failing to compile when you emerge the drivers - the ebuild will not fail if this happens, so it can be easy to miss it. Run the emerge again and copy/paste the output here.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

localhost root # ls -l /usr/src
total 48
-rw-r--r--   1 root root 39095 Dec 26 23:10 kernelconfig
lrwxr-xr-x   1 root root    31 Jan 30 13:56 linux -> /usr/src/linux-2.6.9-vidalinux1
drwxr-xr-x  16 root root  4096 Jan 29 10:19 linux-2.4.28-gentoo-r5
drwxr-xr-x  19 root root  4096 Jan 30 13:56 linux-2.6.10-vidalinux2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that's the problem, it's pointing to the wrong place. You need to run these commands as root (just copy + paste):
Code:
rm /usr/src/linux
ln -s /usr/src/linux-2.6.10-vidalinux2 /usr/src/linux

Just to make sure, what does "uname -r" show?
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

localhost root # uname -r
2.6.9-vidalinux1



so what commands should i run?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't do anything just yet. Did you have the 2.6.9-vidalinux1 version installed previously and then remove it?
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.9 is what came with the distro. then i followed the following instructions to install the new kern

Code:
cd /usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/vidalinux-sources/
wget http://gentoopackages.net/ebuilds/vidalinux-sources-2.6.10-r2.ebuild
ebuild vidalinux-sources-2.6.10-r2.ebuild digest
emerge vidalinux-sources
emerge genkernel
cd /usr/src
wget http://gentoopackages.net/kernel/kernelconfig
rm linux
ln -s linux-2.6.10-vidalinux2 linux
genkernel --menuconfig all --udev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, then run the commands I posted above, compile your 2.6.10 kernel, copy it to /boot, update your bootloader config, reboot, and then emerge the drivers again.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright im a nub, so i changed the link like you said. what do i copy to /boot? what needs chaning in the bootloader config?

compiling kernel now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you've compiled the kernel, you need to copy it to your /boot partition. Usually all you'll need to do is
Code:
cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/<some file name>

then update your bootloaders configuration file to list a new entry for this kernel. If you're using genkernel, then I think it's supposed to do most of this, except the bootloader config editing. I've never used genkernel though, so you'll need to look at the genkernel docs if you're not sure how to use it. As for the bootloader, this page shows you how to configure grub or lilo.

Edit: can you run this command and post the output (you don't need to stop the kernel compile):
Code:
grep CONFIG_DRM /usr/src/linux/.config

_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
localhost root # grep CONFIG_DRM /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_DRM=y
CONFIG_DRM_TDFX=m
CONFIG_DRM_R128=m
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
CONFIG_DRM_I810=m
# CONFIG_DRM_I830 is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set
CONFIG_DRM_MGA=m
CONFIG_DRM_SIS=m
localhost root #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, that should be OK. Just make sure you don't load the "radeon" module at any point after rebooting.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright so one i finish the compile, copy the bzimage. and confiure my boot loader. i reboot and then what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming everything else is working, run "emerge ati-drivers" again, then try to modprobe fglrx. This time it should work :)
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright ill let you know! you kick ass man, im glad there are people as nice and as helpfull as you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johndavid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright well i have now screwed up my grub boot loader.... says error 15 file not found...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try going through the grub install procedure from the link I posted.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 9 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum