View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:01 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Gnome Start Menu Reply with quote

I'm totally new to GNOME and was wondering if there was a menu editor. I see I can add and remove individual "launchers" to the start menu but how do I add, edit or remove a "folder" in the start menu? For example when I click the start menu I get a list of options like "Games" and "System Tools" which each contain a list of apps or "launchers". How do I, for example, remove the "Games" folder? TIA.

Last edited by papal_authority on Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:50 am; edited 1 time in total
frankjr
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the file browser, type application:/// in the Location entry. In spatial, use Control-L to open up the Location dialog box. Or you can access it by going to "Start Here" on the desktop and going to "Applications." You can then edit your menus there.
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thanks frankjr. It didn't work at first but with your info and a quick Google I discovered applications:/// (i.e. plural) was the key.
d_m
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I took a look at this--had never done it before but was also interested. After poking around in the Configuration Editor for awhile I lost patience, and figured the information had to be in a dotfile somewhere, or a subdirectory thereof.

I ran the following command to try to find likely candidates, and waited:

Code:
grep -rl Games ~ 2>/dev/null

Still running... will continue post when it finishes.