SCSI device /dev/sda missing [Resolved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kwillmert
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 3:10 am    Post subject: SCSI device /dev/sda missing [Resolved] Reply with quote

I am attempting to install gentoo on a simple server box with a couple SCSI hard drives in it. They might be in a RAID configuration, but I don't know for sure--I didn't put the box together. I have set up gentoo on several other machines previously, but this is my first time using SCSI drives with any system.

I was trying to load up the 2004.3 minimum live CD, but discovered on the forums here that it contains a bad SCSI driver which causes it to hang on detection. So I downloaded the experimental 2005 release and the live CD boots fine with "doscsi", however, /dev/sda does not show up. I don't know much about how linux sets up devices, but this information from dmesg looks important :wink:

Quote:
Kernel command line: initrd=gentoo.igz root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc acpi=ht looptype=squashfs loop=/livecd.squashfs udev nodevfs cdroot vga=791 dokeymap splash=silent,theme:livecd-2004.3 BOOT_IMAGE=gentoo doscsi
scsi0 : Adaptec AIC7XXX EISA/VLB/PCI SCSI HBA DRIVER, Rev 6.2.36
(scsi0:A:0): 10.000MB/s transfers (10.000MHz, offset 15)
Attached scsi generic sg0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0, type 1
scsi: <fdomain> Detection failed (no card)

Can anyone offer insight on what to try next? I appreciate the help!

Last edited by kwillmert on Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Sven Vermeulen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It finds the adaptor and driver and finds a SCSI cd-rom (the one you're booting with).