View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
allydm n00b

Joined: 13 Jan 2005 Posts: 37
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 1:29 pm Post subject: Error : $ifconfig_eth0 [Solved!] |
|
|
When i boot up i get this message
Quote: | Please make sure that /etc/conf.d/net has $ifconfig_eth0 set (or $iface_eth0 for old-style configuration)
Error: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started
|
Any idea what this is about? Any files that i need to show?
-allydm
Last edited by allydm on Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:36 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
brims Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2004 Posts: 492 Location: Arizona
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you not have anything set for ifconfig_eth0 or iface_eth0. Either you need to type in an IP address, broadcast, and netmask or you need to set it to dhcp. For example my system uses dhcp so I have On my gateway machine I have eth1, the lan interface, set to a static IP like this Code: | iface_eth1="192.168.1.1 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0" | You are probably using a similar IP address but you would set iface_eth0 instead.
EDIT: This needs to be setup in /etc/conf.d/net |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
allydm n00b

Joined: 13 Jan 2005 Posts: 37
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have my /etc/conf.d/net setup.
Heres what it is set to.
*i've missed out the top part*
Quote: | #This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.02
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
#For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
#For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_ethiface_eth0="dhcp"
# iface_eth0="dhcp"
# dhcpcd_eth0=". . ."
# ifconfig_eth0=("dhcp")
#For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0"255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For etting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.123.1" |
Any ideas whats wrong with it? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
brims Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2004 Posts: 492 Location: Arizona
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, your problem here seems to be that you do not have anything set. If you use dhcp you want to uncomment the line Code: | # ifconfig_eth0=("dhcp") | so that is looks like this Code: | ...
#For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
#For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_ethiface_eth0="dhcp"
# iface_eth0="dhcp"
# dhcpcd_eth0=". . ."
ifconfig_eth0=("dhcp")
#For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
... |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
allydm n00b

Joined: 13 Jan 2005 Posts: 37
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
WOOOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOOo
thanks for that, uncommenting that line reminded of when i forgot to uncomment a line in apache
Gonna have to write myself a memo on my forhead to remind me
Thanks  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
brims Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2004 Posts: 492 Location: Arizona
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ya, I'm running out of forehead space. I always forget to uncomment something or comment something or whatnot. It's usually a small thing that nails me. Glad I could help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|