The GIMP: Is this normal behaviour?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gtomorrow
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: The GIMP: Is this normal behaviour? Reply with quote

Ciao, all GIMP users.

I'm a professional graphic designer (a dirty job but somebody's got to do it) and have been on and off playing with The GIMP for about a year now. Certain things are way cool and i actually prefer them to...well, you know. Other things...well. Being how no one i know personally uses The GIMP i need to know from you all if certain things are normal behaviour. And NO, i'm not trying to start a GIMP vs Photshop flame war here! Please, only objective answers/criticisms.

1) Is the image window supposed to lose focus when clicking in any of the tool palettes? For example, i'll open an image file, then click in the layers/channels palette to choose a layer (or a channel). Then, say, i want to apply a filter. Before i can apply that filter (or do any further editing) i have to re-choose the image window. IS THIS NORMAL?

2) Are paths supposed to be so finicky? When i create a path and want to add points between other points, sometimes it will allow new points, other times not! And how do you transform paths (scale, rotate, etc.)? Yes, i've RTFM. And speaking of paths, in order to not see a already existing path, does one have to create a new empty path? IS THIS NORMAL BEHAVIOUR?

3) Does pasting always create a floating object? Does a pasted objects always have to be "hammered down" with the new layer icon or anchor icon? NORMAL GIMPINESS?

BTW, i'm using GIMP 2.0.4 these days (starting out with the 1.2.x series). Window Maker is my WM if that makes any difference. I'd really like to hear "no, something's goofy with yr setup" instead of "yep, GIMP does that".