View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
alu. Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2005 Posts: 107 Location: Luxembourg
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:48 pm Post subject: nvidia problem [SOLVED] |
|
|
So here's my problem :
I follow the nvidia guide up to the point where I enter "glxinfo | grep direct" and the following shows :
Code: | bash-2.05b$ glxinfo | grep direct
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0". |
What could that be?
The more I don't know where to set refresh rates, due to that, my head is hurting right now from looking too much :p.
Last edited by alu. on Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:05 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stobbsm Guru

Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 452
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
did you make the changes in your xorg.conf?
make sure dri is not loaded but glx is.
refresh rates get set in that config also, under your monitors section _________________ Sysadmin of Ubuntu systems and servers....
Although my own server is gentoo.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
alu. Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2005 Posts: 107 Location: Luxembourg
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 5:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did make the changes in the xorg.conf file. -> dri off glx on
What's funny is that xorg.conf doesn't seem to recongnize me monitor correctly(?).
This is my card settings...driver should be correct.
Code: |
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Unknown Board"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
|
And my screen section does seem weird to me.
Code: |
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
|
Anything I need to change? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
potatoface Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2004 Posts: 542 Location: ::7F00:1
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i have problems with nvidia too
but the related section in my xorg.conf is like that
Code: | Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "xforce"
Monitor "screem"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection |
_________________ The generation of random numbers is too important to be left to chance.
Adopt an unanswered post. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stobbsm Guru

Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 452
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
alu. wrote: | I did make the changes in the xorg.conf file. -> dri off glx on
What's funny is that xorg.conf doesn't seem to recongnize me monitor correctly(?).
This is my card settings...driver should be correct.
Code: |
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Unknown Board"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
|
And my screen section does seem weird to me.
Code: |
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
|
Anything I need to change? |
you need a defaultdepth option in your "screen" section
try Code: | "DefaultDepth" "24" |
_________________ Sysadmin of Ubuntu systems and servers....
Although my own server is gentoo.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Garrido n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 1:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Plus, you need to set your resolutions for each color depth. You should get something like potatoface has for modes, but runto get the right resolutions for your monitor frequencies. Also, if you've only got one graphics card, there´s no need for the BusID line. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
alu. Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2005 Posts: 107 Location: Luxembourg
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mundhra n00b

Joined: 02 Oct 2004 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
i had the same problem after upgrading from a radeon 8500 to an nvidia 6600GT, but stobbsm and garrido's suggestions helped. the defaultdepth and resolutions weren't set. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|