Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Networking just two computers: how?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pseud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:57 am    Post subject: Networking just two computers: how? Reply with quote

This is possibly the most elementary networking question possibe, so please pardon the evident abundance of my ignorance.
I have two computers with network cards and a hub and some patch cables. This, I suppose, would be the bare minimum needed to connect two computers (well, in the absense of crosswire cables).
(If I'm mistaken, please enlighten me :))
I have Gentoo installed on the first one; I'd like to connect up the two and simply make an exact replica of the files on the first hard disk for the second one. This is because they are identical machines and I'll be saving a lot of compilation time, etc.
Can I boot up the second machine using the Live CD, do some manual network configuration on both the machines, run sshd or something on the first machine, and copy over the files? If this is possible, please let me know how. Basically I don't know what kind of IP/network configuration would be required. There is no ethernet/LAN that I can make use of ... just the cables and a hub. Thanks a ton in advance!
_________________
eschew obfuscation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeTene
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 348
Location: Ah'll glass ye!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G4L provides a "Click 'n' Clone" ability which might be what you want - see http://freshmeat.net/projects/g4l/. It's provided as a bootable ISO CD.
_________________
Docs, Tips & Tricks at the Gentoo Wiki page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
expat_iain
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 361
Location: Malta GC

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Boot each machine into the LiveCD, start ssh, mount the required partitions and simply
Code:
scrp -r /mnt/source user@remote:/mnt/dest


Be sure to install grub at the end.

Regs.

Iain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pseud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iain,

What kind of IP configuration do I need to do that? I guess I could give two randomly picked IPs to the two machines, etc., but I'm not sure where I'd give these settings and what else I'd have to set up ...
_________________
eschew obfuscation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
expat_iain
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 361
Location: Malta GC

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pseud wrote:
What kind of IP configuration do I need to do that? I guess I could give two randomly picked IPs to the two machines, etc., but I'm not sure where I'd give these settings and what else I'd have to set up ...


Easiest way, just give one:
Code:
ifconfig eth0 10.10.10.10 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

...and the other:
Code:
ifconfig 10.10.10.11 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

As long as they're on the same segment, you *should* have no issues.

Regs.

Iain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pseud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iain,

I tried what you said and have a small problem. scp -r goes into infinite loops when it encounters recursively linked directories .. like /boot/boot which is a symbolic link to /boot
Is there a way to avoid this?

Thanks!
_________________
eschew obfuscation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
expat_iain
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 361
Location: Malta GC

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, dont have recursive linked directories!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum