Best Cheap Mobo/CPU for Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bosshoff
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:55 pm    Post subject: Best Cheap Mobo/CPU for Gentoo? Reply with quote

Hello,
I have been working with Gentoo for about six months on and off. I have tried all kinds of distros (as evinced by my vast collection of once-used cd-r's) and I can't find any that compare with Gentoo. The emerge system alone is a godsend, compared to rpms and source-dependency scouring.
At any rate, I am looking to upgrade my secondary system. It always seems that I pick the least-compatible motherboard for the O/S I want to run, so now, since I am in no rush, I would like to find the best motherboard for the money I am willing to spend. Since this is a secondary system, I wouldn't like to go above $50 for the motherboard and $50 for the processor. I am going to be using the system for a backup computer (nice to have one when you need to look up documentation during an install :wink:), and at most a small-load server.
Though I am primarily an AMD fan, I would be willing to switch to Intel if a product fit these constraints. So, if you have any ideas, or any sites that offer such comparisons, I await your replies with anticipation. Thanks for your time.

P.S.: I already have 512 MB of PC2100 memory from a computer I fried a few weeks ago, in case anyone is going to suggest a mobo with other memory requirements.

EDIT: And I almost forgot, the motherboard manufacturer's level of Linux support is very important to me. I've been burned by ASUS in this respect before, and I wouldn't like to repeat such circumstances.
mpsii
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my recommendation would be an nForce2 with the DDR400 support with the onboard soundstorm sound system and the fastest Athlon XP you can find.