Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: xfce problem Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new here (like in opensource), so I'd like to say hi ;)
Now, straight to the point. Gentoo is my first linux distribution (sic!) (stage3), and I wanted to install some windowmanager. I decided to choose xfce. Before going to bed, I had input from the command line
Code:
emerge xfce4

Next day when I woke up, I tried to start my X using: startx, xinit xfce, xinit startxfce4 and every one of these commands ended with those screenshost:
by root
by some user form users group
Next I was a little bit angry, and tried to uninstall xfce by emerge -C xfce4, but now the system informs me, there's nothing to uninstall matching xfce4 or xfce :? (but there are some x11 files in /usr/portage/distfiles). What should I do now to wholly uninstall xfce?

Best regards,
Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:27 pm    Post subject: Re: xfce problem Reply with quote

newbie wrote:
Hi, I'm new here (like in opensource), so I'd like to say hi ;)

Hi! :-D

The root screenshot you made is a windowmanager. It is simply the one provided by xorg.

To start xfce4, you could try
Code:
startxfce4


Another thing. When you unmerged xfce4, it said there was nothing to unmerge, because xfce4 is not a package itself. BUT, xfce4 contains many packages like one for the panel, one for netload button, file manager, etc.

If you would do
Code:
emerge -p depclean

you could see which packages would be removed if you left out the option '-p'.

I hope that helped a bit. Do
Code:
emerge xfce4

so that xfce4 is in your world file again.

Please ask, if you have more questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: Re: xfce problem Reply with quote

R!tman wrote:
If you would do
Code:
emerge -p depclean

you could see which packages would be removed if you left out the option '-p'.

So, checking if I understood correctly ;) - if I prompt emerge -p depcelan I will see which packages will be removed (but connected with xfce, or another ones too?). But what if I want to uninstall all packages connected only with xfce? (I don't want to remove all packages - sounds weird, but I'm newbie here and I'm just a little bit worry - I don't want to damage all packages) Sorry :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge depclean

Removes all unnecessary packages. The option '-p' (pretend) tells emerge not to really do it, simply to show, what emerge would do.

So, after
Code:
emerge -C xfce4

the system no longer knows that xfce4 is installed and all packages contained in the 'xfce4-package' are considered unnecessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
landon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depclean references files that aren't really connected to anything (theoretically, of course. You'll need to check the output of -p (or pretend) first.) It's kind of like cleaning out the files that aren't significant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thank you for your replies.
Code:
emerge -p depclean
looks like here * .
* I didn't want to paste all output here, cause it's quite long ;)
So, could you please tell me can I perform emerge depclean without any harm?
Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richk449
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there really a good reason for you to get rid of xfce? Are you that tight on space? If you don't have to, just leave it on there for now, and worry about getting rid of it once you are more comfortable with portage. It won't hurt anything if you leave it, except for disk space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graphic23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem with the pts is that in your kernel, you need to have enabled this option:

CONFIG_DEVPTS_FS_XATTR

which is in Filesystems->Pseudo Filesystems (for `make menuconfig`).

Good Luck!
_________________
Sincerly,
Graphic23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

graphic23 wrote:
The problem with the pts is that in your kernel, you need to have enabled this option:

CONFIG_DEVPTS_FS_XATTR

which is in Filesystems->Pseudo Filesystems (for `make menuconfig`).

Good Luck!

Ok, thank you :) I'm a real newbie, so could you please tell me what for I did it? (It's already enabled and I thint it works, cause I don't see some message about DEVPTS when system starts).
So I won't delete those unnesesary packages as you told me. But please what should I do now to obtain fluxbox as my new windowmanager. I'm dreaming about main screen like here or here . Is it possible ?
Regards ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want fluxbox simply
Code:
emerge fluxbox

That should be it.

I don't have fluxbox installed on my machine, so I can't tell you how to start it. But it should be pretty easy, like
Code:
startfluxbox

or the like.

Another thing: If you want to keep xfce4 do
Code:
emerge xfce4

otherwise
Code:
emerge depclean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
I wanted to see what will be installed after emerge fluxbox:
Code:
emerge -pv fluxbox
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies...done!
[ebuild  N    ] x11-wm/fluxbox-0.9.11  -bigger-fonts -disablexmb +gnome +kde +nls +truetype -xinerama 621 kB

Total size of downloads: 621 kB

But now I can see gnome and kde :? Could you tell me why? I'm sure I can somehow skip these two, cause I think I don't need them. Instead of them I'd like to install only fluxbox. I heard something about USE, but I don't know what & where should I do with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonhelmet
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 770
Location: Somewhere in a school

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newbie wrote:
Hi!
I wanted to see what will be installed after emerge fluxbox:
Code:
emerge -pv fluxbox
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies...done!
[ebuild  N    ] x11-wm/fluxbox-0.9.11  -bigger-fonts -disablexmb +gnome +kde +nls +truetype -xinerama 621 kB

Total size of downloads: 621 kB

But now I can see gnome and kde :? Could you tell me why? I'm sure I can somehow skip these two, cause I think I don't need them. Instead of them I'd like to install only fluxbox. I heard something about USE, but I don't know what & where should I do with it.


Those are indeed use flags. Edit /etc/make.conf and find the line with your USE variable in it, and remove gnome and kde from that list. That way when you install fluxbox it won't pull in support or dependencies for kde or gnome.
_________________
My blog
nvtuner software - enhance your AGP Geforce 6800 or 6200!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vonhelmet wrote:
Those are indeed use flags. Edit /etc/make.conf and find the line with your USE variable in it, and remove gnome and kde from that list. That way when you install fluxbox it won't pull in support or dependencies for kde or gnome.

Thanks. But if gnome & kde are really unnecessary during fluxbox instalation? I can completely remove those twa flags and be sure that fluxbox will work? One more question: how long does it take to install fluxbox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonhelmet
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 770
Location: Somewhere in a school

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newbie wrote:
vonhelmet wrote:
Those are indeed use flags. Edit /etc/make.conf and find the line with your USE variable in it, and remove gnome and kde from that list. That way when you install fluxbox it won't pull in support or dependencies for kde or gnome.

Thanks. But if gnome & kde are really unnecessary during fluxbox instalation? I can completely remove those twa flags and be sure that fluxbox will work? One more question: how long does it take to install fluxbox?


Fluxbox will run fine.

Fluxbox won't take long to install. It'll probably be done in less than 10 minutes, maybe even less than 5.
_________________
My blog
nvtuner software - enhance your AGP Geforce 6800 or 6200!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vonhelmet wrote:
Those are indeed use flags. Edit /etc/make.conf and find the line with your USE variable in it, and remove gnome and kde from that list. That way when you install fluxbox it won't pull in support or dependencies for kde or gnome.

Ok, how to do it? I'm currently not able to switch between Windows and Gentoo, and I'd like to know what to remove by now, please. (If it's possible, of course).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edit
Ok,I've managed with turning off these use flags connected to gnome & kde. Fluxbox is downloaded. But after command: xinit fluxbox I see some default (I think) windowmanager. What should I do now to obtain nice look of fluxbox after startx command?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newbie wrote:
Edit
Ok,I've managed with turning off these use flags connected to gnome & kde. Fluxbox is downloaded. But after command: xinit fluxbox I see some default (I think) windowmanager. What should I do now to obtain nice look of fluxbox after startx command?


I don't use fluxbox myself, but maybe there is something like 'startfluxbox'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R!tman wrote:
I don't use fluxbox myself, but maybe there is something like 'startfluxbox'.

There is, but there's no difference between promptin startx or startxfluxbox. I see only the TWM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrozenMist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok. I have been a fluxbox user for the past couple of months AND an xfce4 user for the last week. I love them both. What I have to do is edit my .xinitrc file ( normally in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc ) and change the end line from:

exec somethingorrather

to:

exec fluxbox ( or xfce4 ).

save ( you must be root ), and now boot up your X with startx. You should now have fluxbox or xce4 running as the window manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir Alaran
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 182
Location: KSJC

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's usually better to put it in your home directiory.

Code:
echo "startfluxbox" > $HOME/.xinitrc

_________________
D is awesome.
Textadept is my friend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir Alaran wrote:
It's usually better to put it in your home directiory.

Code:
echo "startfluxbox" > $HOME/.xinitrc

So after this command you've just written I should see nice fluxbox window manager, right? (after startfluxbox command).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, fluxbox ha started, but now I can only observe such a display output. What should I do now to obtain 'normal' screen (cause this calculator and console terminal were moved by myself using mouse - originally they were almoust hidden, and I saw only the part of them - the second half of calculator was hidden like out of monitor range)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum