Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can the athlonxp do sse?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
locke2053
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Ohio State University

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:23 am    Post subject: can the athlonxp do sse? Reply with quote

When compiling mplayer I got the message:

/usr/lib/portage/bin/ebuild.sh: line 41: [: -eq: unary operator expected
* Your system is sse capable but you don't have it enabled!
* You might be cross compiling (in this case set CROSSCOMPILE to 1 to disable this warning.

I am running an AthlonXP (1.7GHz? It's a 2200+ I think). I thought SSE was an Intel thing. Can I do it, too? Should I enable it in my USE flags?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run
Code:
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
from a console or your favorite terminal emulator. If you can use SSE it will show in the CPU flags.
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the Athlon XP does do SSE, but not SSE2.

-march=athlon-xp should set it for you, although if you don't have it set in USE it might try to build without regardless.
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxamd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is sse? Is it a feature worth using? If I have sse support on my cpu should I use it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
locke2053
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Ohio State University

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems the athlonxp does do SSE! I enabled it. Thanks for the /proc/cpuinfo thing. To the guy who asked what it is: SSE is a set of hardware instructions that allow the CPU to do media-related operations faster. It's like MMX or 3dnow or 3dnowext (whatever that is).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

locke2053 wrote:
It seems the athlonxp does do SSE! I enabled it. Thanks for the /proc/cpuinfo thing. To the guy who asked what it is: SSE is a set of hardware instructions that allow the CPU to do media-related operations faster. It's like MMX or 3dnow or 3dnowext (whatever that is).
Actually, if I remember correctly, SSE helps do floating-point arithmetic much faster, while MMX helps with matrix mathematics/calculations and 3dnow helps with the multimedia stuff.
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxamd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah thanks for explaining that :) Is it safe to have all 3? And should I recompile my whole system once adding that or is it worth it? Sorry to be asking so many questions but also btw is this the command to recompile it all?

emerge --update --deep --newuse world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GungHo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 254

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's safe to use all 3 options with an Athlon-XP. Simply compile with -march=athlon-xp and set the appropriate USE flags in /etc/make.conf, and all is ok

hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum