View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
locke2053 n00b
Joined: 29 May 2003 Posts: 58 Location: Ohio State University
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:23 am Post subject: can the athlonxp do sse? |
|
|
When compiling mplayer I got the message:
/usr/lib/portage/bin/ebuild.sh: line 41: [: -eq: unary operator expected
* Your system is sse capable but you don't have it enabled!
* You might be cross compiling (in this case set CROSSCOMPILE to 1 to disable this warning.
I am running an AthlonXP (1.7GHz? It's a 2200+ I think). I thought SSE was an Intel thing. Can I do it, too? Should I enable it in my USE flags? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Run Code: | # cat /proc/cpuinfo | from a console or your favorite terminal emulator. If you can use SSE it will show in the CPU flags. _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Archangel1 Veteran
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 1212 Location: Work
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think the Athlon XP does do SSE, but not SSE2.
-march=athlon-xp should set it for you, although if you don't have it set in USE it might try to build without regardless. _________________ What are you, stupid? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxamd Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2005 Posts: 281
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
What is sse? Is it a feature worth using? If I have sse support on my cpu should I use it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
locke2053 n00b
Joined: 29 May 2003 Posts: 58 Location: Ohio State University
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
It seems the athlonxp does do SSE! I enabled it. Thanks for the /proc/cpuinfo thing. To the guy who asked what it is: SSE is a set of hardware instructions that allow the CPU to do media-related operations faster. It's like MMX or 3dnow or 3dnowext (whatever that is). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
locke2053 wrote: | It seems the athlonxp does do SSE! I enabled it. Thanks for the /proc/cpuinfo thing. To the guy who asked what it is: SSE is a set of hardware instructions that allow the CPU to do media-related operations faster. It's like MMX or 3dnow or 3dnowext (whatever that is). | Actually, if I remember correctly, SSE helps do floating-point arithmetic much faster, while MMX helps with matrix mathematics/calculations and 3dnow helps with the multimedia stuff. _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxamd Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2005 Posts: 281
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ah thanks for explaining that Is it safe to have all 3? And should I recompile my whole system once adding that or is it worth it? Sorry to be asking so many questions but also btw is this the command to recompile it all?
emerge --update --deep --newuse world |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GungHo Apprentice
Joined: 27 Aug 2004 Posts: 254
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
it's safe to use all 3 options with an Athlon-XP. Simply compile with -march=athlon-xp and set the appropriate USE flags in /etc/make.conf, and all is ok
hth |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|