View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Niddung n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Avatardawn1.jpg)
Joined: 25 Jan 2005 Posts: 34 Location: Halle(Saale)
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:12 pm Post subject: ACPI: autonomous reboot when resuming from Suspend state |
|
|
After a
Code: | echo -n "mem" /sys/power/state
OR a
acpitool -s
|
my Notebook switch to "Suspend to RAM" state. However if i reactivate the notebook, which works also fine, after some seconds gentoo switch to runlevel 0 and reboot! I don't understand why! What can i do against it?
In /var/log/everything/current is printed after the resume:
Code: |
Feb 4 16:47:40 [modprobe] FATAL: Error inserting apm (/lib/modules/2.6.10/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/apm.ko): No such device_
Feb 4 16:47:40 [kernel] hub 1-0:1.0: resubmit --> -108
Feb 4 16:47:40 [logger] ACPI group thermal_zone / action thermal_zone is not defined
Feb 4 16:47:40 [kernel] usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 4
Feb 4 16:47:41 [init] Switching to runlevel: 0
Feb 4 16:47:41 [kernel] hub 1-1:1.0: USB hub found
Feb 4 16:47:41 [kernel] hub 1-1:1.0: 4 ports detected
Feb 4 16:47:41 [kernel] usb 1-1.3: new low speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 5
Feb 4 16:47:42 [kernel] input: USB HID v1.00 Mouse [1241:1155] on usb-0000:00:07.2-1.3
Feb 4 16:47:52 [sshd] Received signal 15; terminating.
|
Another Point is, that after the resume the clock was also wrong. It was 03:xx:xx and not 16:47:41. But i don't know if that has something to do with the resume-problem.
I use Kernel 2.6.10 on a ASUS L8400K Notebook
I would be grateful for every help. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
melle n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/207266776420bc22e6641f.jpg)
Joined: 10 Feb 2005 Posts: 2 Location: Potsdam (Germany)
|
Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:39 pm Post subject: Re: ACPI: autonomous reboot when resuming from Suspend state |
|
|
Niddung wrote: | ...
my Notebook switch to "Suspend to RAM" state. However if i reactivate the notebook, which works also fine, after some seconds gentoo switch to runlevel 0 and reboot! I don't understand why! What can i do against it?
In /var/log/everything/current is printed after the resume:
Code: |
Feb 4 16:47:41 [init] Switching to runlevel: 0
|
|
I had the same problem (kernel 2.6.10, Asus M6743N) and it seems that the power-button triggers an event somehow. Is the 'button' module loaded? Try to unload it or comment this section in your /etc/acpi/default.sh :
Code: | case "$group" in
button)
case "$action" in
# power) /sbin/init 0
# ;; |
If this solves the shutdown after wakeup, insert an "rmmod button" statement in your suspend-script. The only problem is to load the module again after wakeup
It is possible to run a script after wakeup? Another possibility is to execute something like "sleep 10 && modprobe button" just before suspending the machine. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
melle n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/207266776420bc22e6641f.jpg)
Joined: 10 Feb 2005 Posts: 2 Location: Potsdam (Germany)
|
Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 9:56 pm Post subject: Re: ACPI: autonomous reboot when resuming from Suspend state |
|
|
melle wrote: | It is possible to run a script after wakeup? Another possibility is to execute something like "sleep 10 && modprobe button" just before suspending the machine. |
I tried this work around and it seems to work. My /etc/acpi/default.sh looks like this:
Code: | case "$group" in
button)
case "$action" in
power) /sbin/init 0
;;
sleep) rmmod button
(sleep 10 && modprobe button) &
echo "mem" > /sys/power/state
;; |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
traca_qc n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 May 2003 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
I got an other solution, touch a file just before going in S3, Code: | /bin/touch /tmp/suspend.lock | and in the section of the power button, you tweak to get something like that... Code: |
if [ -e /tmp/suspend.lock ]; then
rm -f /tmp/suspend.lock
echo "PowerBtn_Restoring from s3"
else
/sbin/init 0
echo "Shutting Down"
fi
|
With this, you don't have to load and unload module each time...
Have a good day ! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
desertstalker Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 209
|
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do yuo have acpid running. The default script is (t ithink) set to map a power button push to a shutdown command. That could be causing your problem |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Niddung n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Avatardawn1.jpg)
Joined: 25 Jan 2005 Posts: 34 Location: Halle(Saale)
|
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
thank you! that helped!
The problem was the power section in the /etc/acpi/default.sh
Hower now i have another problem. On my notebook exist a button which is pushed when the display is closed. It switch off the display-light. Now, if i suspend my notebook and close the display the display-light button resumes the notebook.
I tried to solute this problem by not closing the display and by connecting this button-event with the suspend command. However both is not very nice. Does anybody has an idea, how i can deaktivate that button?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|