Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Mounting commands for a 4 partition instillation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:17 am    Post subject: [Solved] Mounting commands for a 4 partition instillation Reply with quote

I'm trying to install gentoo on a new pc with hda partitioned into 4 partitions:
30 mb boot (formatted as ext2)
512 mb swap
20 gig root (formatted as reiser4)
99 gig user/data (formatted as reiser4)
I'm confused about the commands to use to mount each of the partitions (excluding swap). I'm totally new at this and sorry about this elementary question....

Could someone please give me the exact commands to mount each of the partitions?

Thanks...


Last edited by Gruenwald on Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gruenwald,

Lets say that
boot = hda1
swap = hda2
root =hda3
user/data =hda4

You need to do
Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/user
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/user/data
mount /dev/hda4  /mnt/gentoo/user/data
you may need to add the -t option to mount there too.
/user/data is not part of the Linux Filesystem Standard.
Why not mount the seperate /user/data on /home. This keeps all your ordinary user writeable space out the root partition which is good for security. It also stops users filling up the root partition accidently.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 1:10 am    Post subject: Thanks for the quick information Reply with quote

but, how would I change the command to mount the seperate /user/data on /home?

Thanks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gruenwald,

Yoo do.
Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/home
mount /dev/hda4  /mnt/gentoo/home


Any directory can behave as a mount point for a partition. The mount commad ties the two together. When a partition is not mounted on the directory, anything you write there goes on the parent partition.
You will discover this the hard way when you forget to mount /boot before installing your kernel - we all do that from time to time.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:17 pm    Post subject: Persisting Stage 3 tarball error... Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon - Thanks for the help with mounting points... In spite of working through the install process very carefully, I cannot get through the stage 3 tarball without an error. I get a repeating sequence of "No space left on device" before the install terminates. My monitor shows the following text:

tar:Skipping to next header
./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Sys/Hostname/Hostname.bs
./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Sys/Syslog/
./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Sys/Sysolg/Syslog.so
tar: ./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Sys/Syslog/Syslog.so: Cannot write: No
space left on device
./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Time/
./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Time/HiRes/
./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Time/HiRes/HiRes.so
tar ./usr/lib/per15/5.8.4/i386-linux/auto/Time/HiRes/HiRes.so: Cannot write: No
space left on device
tar: Skipping to next header
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
livecd gentoo # _

I'm at a loss... What is likely going on?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gruenwald,

You have either filled the space allocated to Gentoo or you did not do the
Code:
cd /usr/gentoo
before you ran tar, in which case, the tarball was untarred to your memory, which is probably too small.

Install hint: Run the passwd command to set the root password.
Switch Virtual Terminals with Ctrl-Alt-Fn where n is 1..5.
You can now have one VT inside the chroot and another outside, so you can run commands like
Code:
df


When the tar command fails, please run
Code:
df
and post the output.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon... You're correct, I didn't do the code 'cd /usr/gentoo' . The gentoo handbook suggested 'cd/mnt/gentoo' as the code to get me "to my gentoo mountpoint", in order to run the tar. Was I wrong to do so? How do I tell the location of my "gentoo mountpoint"?

Thanks....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon... Another problem is that I have no /usr/gentoo directory. When I attempt to create such a directory in /usr, it's not permitted because of it being a 'read-only file system'. What do you suggest?

Thanks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gruenwald,

I was wrong with the pathname. It should nave been
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo
the space is important.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

I did as you suggested. I used the df command after installation failed again ( this time from an alternate terminal window). The results are shown below.... hope this helps!


tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

livecd gentoo # df

/dev/ROOT

1K-blocks - 257204
Used - 257204
Available - 0
Use% - 100%
Mounted On - /

/newroot/dev/cdroms/cdrom0

1K-blocks - 647910
Used - 647910
Available - 0
Use% - 100%
Mounted On - /mnt/cdrom

/dev/loop/0

1K-blocks - 46272
Used - 46272
Available - 0
Use% - 100%
Mounted On - /mnt/livecd

none

1K-blocks - 257204
Used - 0
Available - 257204
Use% - 0%
Mounted On - /dev/shm

tmpfs

1K-blocks - 257204
Used - 624
Available - 256580
Use% - 1%
Mounted On -/usr/lib/hotplug/firmware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2969

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have not done this command prior to using "df":
Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kimchi_sg...


I feel certain I did use the command 'mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo' when I mounted the partitions... Is there a way to check this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2969

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gruenwald wrote:
kimchi_sg...


I feel certain I did use the command 'mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo' when I mounted the partitions... Is there a way to check this?

The command "mount" with no options will verify this.

You should see as one of the lines
Code:
/dev/hda3 on /mnt/gentoo
or something similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gruenwald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon
kimchi_sg


Thanks for sharing so much information... It helped me finally see that it's necessary to mount the hda partitions again, following a reboot. With that knowledge, I finally got a good Stage 3 tarball extraction. Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum