View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
itay n00b
Joined: 12 Oct 2002 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 3:31 pm Post subject: i can't mount the boot dev becouse it's ext3 |
|
|
and it says my kernel don't suppert it, i've did make menuconfig and after it make dep && make bzImage and still it says it aren't suppert it. what should i do? _________________ yours, itay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
is your root partition ext3? have you changed /etc/fstab so it reads /dev/hda1 (eg) instead of /dev/BOOT? are you absolutly positive ext3 support is compiled in the kernel and not as a module?
(if you havent, fyi /dev/ROOT mounts properly because you specified root=/dev/hda3 (eg) on the kernel command line) _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pjp Administrator
Joined: 16 Apr 2002 Posts: 20484
|
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 6:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you mount /boot before copying the new kernel? You did try and copy the new kernel to /boot, correct? _________________ Quis separabit? Quo animo? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
itay n00b
Joined: 12 Oct 2002 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 8:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
there's my fstab:
Code: |
# Copyright 1999-2002 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License, v2 or later
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.7 2002/05/12 21:48:18 azarah Exp $
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.
# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
# /dev/hda2 is boot. /dev/hda3 is the root
/dev/hda2 /boot ext3 noatime 0 0
/dev/hda3 / ext3 noatime 0 0
/dev/hda6 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hdc1 /mnt/cdrom0 iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/hdd1 /mnt/cdrom1 iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 vfat defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/hdb1 vfat defaults 0 0
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink). Adding the following
# line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will use almost no
# memory if not populated with files)
#tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
|
_________________ yours, itay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 9:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
at the end of your /boot line, change 0 0 to 1 2
at the end of your / line, change 0 0 to 0 1
if you want to, you could also put a line for the floppy drive:
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,users 0 0 _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
itay n00b
Joined: 12 Oct 2002 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
still,
maybe i had boot=hd(0,2) on grub conf? _________________ yours, itay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
itay n00b
Joined: 12 Oct 2002 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
i think maybe i've installed the ext3 wrong, how do i install it right, so i will know if i did it well, (i read the manual but i didn't see anything like that) _________________ yours, itay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
In the kernel config (make menuconfig):
File Systems ->
Kernel automounter v4 support
Ext3 journalling filesystem support (all compiled in)
if you have already got that, add ext3 debugging support as well _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
itay n00b
Joined: 12 Oct 2002 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i got it, on the stupid manual i listen to him was write
do make menuconfig && make dep && bzImage
and they forgot to remain that i need to do cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/somethingiforgot/bzImage /boot _________________ yours, itay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheCoop Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
basically, to recompile the kernel:
Code: |
cd /usr/src/linux
cp .config /tmp
make mrproper
mv /tmp/.config .
make menuconfig
<change settings>
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot
umount /boot
|
_________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drovdiggin n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 5 Location: Seattle
|
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:37 am Post subject: DEVFS Support |
|
|
I have a similar problem with devfs support. I have recompiled my kernel a number of times now with gentoo sources and vanilla both including devfs support. However, on bootup, I get the "DEVFS support needs to be compiled in kernel" warning.
My boot and root partition are ext3.
Quote: | cd /usr/src/linux
cp .config /tmp
make mrproper
mv /tmp/.config .
make menuconfig
<change settings>
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot
umount /boot |
When I follow this proceedure, 'mount /boot' says can't mount ext3 file system because it's not compiled in the kernel. I am able to copy the new bzImage to the /boot however.
I'm sure I'm missing something very basic here. I am a true Linux newbie and so far, it's got me stumped. _________________ Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MacMasta Guru
Joined: 18 Apr 2002 Posts: 545 Location: Anchorage, AK
|
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Because you can't mount /boot, the bzImage gets copied off into the wild blue yonder, and basically vanishes.
You'll need to get working ext3 support into the kernel before you can mount the boot partition.
Offhand, I'd say boot from the liveCD, chroot into your gentoo install, and built the kernel there.
~Mac~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fidler Apprentice
Joined: 03 Jul 2002 Posts: 162 Location: Utah
|
Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:12 pm Post subject: Re: i can't mount the boot dev becouse it's ext3 |
|
|
itay wrote: | and it says my kernel don't suppert it, i've did make menuconfig and after it make dep && make bzImage and still it says it aren't suppert it. what should i do? |
Are you *sure* it is extension 3. If the boot device is too small I think instead of making an extension 3 drive it makes an extension 2 drive.... Try ext2, perhaps it will work.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rac Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 May 2002 Posts: 6553 Location: Japanifornia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Isn't ext3 just ext2 with a journal file? For tasks like copying files to it, I would expect that you should be able to mount it as ext2, i.e. pass the -t ext2 parameter explicitly to mount.
@MacMasta: apologies if you were just being metaphoric, but if you copy something to /boot when /boot is not mounted, it goes to the /boot directory on the root partition. It doesn't vanish. Unmount /boot and ls and it'll still be there, taking up space on the root filesystem. _________________ For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drovdiggin n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 5 Location: Seattle
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK, I have the ext3 file support now and things look a lot better . What I did was boot off the live CD, re-emerged gentoo kernel (probably not necessary), set up the .config, compilied, and copied the bzImage to the /boot directory.
Upon reboot - happy system!
I think everytime I recompiled and copied the new image, it was going to the root partition as Rac said. MacMasta's solution did the trick!
Thanks everybody for the help!!!
I do have an error in my fstab that shows up now on botup... Something about an error in line 17 and invalid mount points. I was way too tired at the time to do any further investigation, so I'll deal with that tonight.
Thanks again, it's nice knowing there's helpful peeps out there to help out the newbie ranks. _________________ Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drovdiggin n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 5 Location: Seattle
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
FYI... On a side note, I did forget to enable devfs on my first compile. _________________ Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drovdiggin n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 5 Location: Seattle
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 3:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm so stoked...
found that after inserting a couple of tabs in the appropriate places in fstab I now boot completely clean!!
In the scheme of life this may seem insignificant to some, but I feel like I just climbed Everest or something! _________________ Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fidler Apprentice
Joined: 03 Jul 2002 Posts: 162 Location: Utah
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 4:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rac wrote: | Isn't ext3 just ext2 with a journal file? For tasks like copying files to it, I would expect that you should be able to mount it as ext2, i.e. pass the -t ext2 parameter explicitly to mount.
@MacMasta: apologies if you were just being metaphoric, but if you copy something to /boot when /boot is not mounted, it goes to the /boot directory on the root partition. It doesn't vanish. Unmount /boot and ls and it'll still be there, taking up space on the root filesystem. |
Yes, it is. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|