Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
i can't mount the boot dev becouse it's ext3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
itay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 3:31 pm    Post subject: i can't mount the boot dev becouse it's ext3 Reply with quote

and it says my kernel don't suppert it, i've did make menuconfig and after it make dep && make bzImage and still it says it aren't suppert it. what should i do?
_________________
yours, itay 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is your root partition ext3? have you changed /etc/fstab so it reads /dev/hda1 (eg) instead of /dev/BOOT? are you absolutly positive ext3 support is compiled in the kernel and not as a module?
(if you havent, fyi /dev/ROOT mounts properly because you specified root=/dev/hda3 (eg) on the kernel command line)
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you mount /boot before copying the new kernel? You did try and copy the new kernel to /boot, correct?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there's my fstab:
Code:

# Copyright 1999-2002 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License, v2 or later
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.7 2002/05/12 21:48:18 azarah Exp $

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>             <mountpoint>    <type>     <opts>            <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
# /dev/hda2 is boot. /dev/hda3 is the root
/dev/hda2      /boot      ext3      noatime         0 0
/dev/hda3      /      ext3      noatime         0 0
/dev/hda6      none      swap      sw         0 0
/dev/hdc1      /mnt/cdrom0   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
/dev/hdd1      /mnt/cdrom1   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
proc         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0
/dev/hda1      /mnt/hda1   vfat      defaults      0 0
/dev/hdb1      /mnt/hdb1   vfat      defaults      0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink). Adding the following
# line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will use almost no
#  memory if not populated with files)

#tmpfs         /dev/shm   tmpfs      defaults      0 0


_________________
yours, itay 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

at the end of your /boot line, change 0 0 to 1 2
at the end of your / line, change 0 0 to 0 1

if you want to, you could also put a line for the floppy drive:
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,users 0 0
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

still,
maybe i had boot=hd(0,2) on grub conf?
_________________
yours, itay 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think maybe i've installed the ext3 wrong, how do i install it right, so i will know if i did it well, (i read the manual but i didn't see anything like that)
_________________
yours, itay 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the kernel config (make menuconfig):

File Systems ->
Kernel automounter v4 support
Ext3 journalling filesystem support (all compiled in)

if you have already got that, add ext3 debugging support as well
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got it, on the stupid manual i listen to him was write
do make menuconfig && make dep && bzImage
and they forgot to remain that i need to do cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/somethingiforgot/bzImage /boot :P
_________________
yours, itay 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:)

basically, to recompile the kernel:
Code:

cd /usr/src/linux
cp .config /tmp
make mrproper
mv /tmp/.config .
make menuconfig
<change settings>
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot
umount /boot

_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drovdiggin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:37 am    Post subject: DEVFS Support Reply with quote

I have a similar problem with devfs support. I have recompiled my kernel a number of times now with gentoo sources and vanilla both including devfs support. However, on bootup, I get the "DEVFS support needs to be compiled in kernel" warning.

My boot and root partition are ext3.

Quote:
cd /usr/src/linux
cp .config /tmp
make mrproper
mv /tmp/.config .
make menuconfig
<change settings>
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot
umount /boot


When I follow this proceedure, 'mount /boot' says can't mount ext3 file system because it's not compiled in the kernel. I am able to copy the new bzImage to the /boot however.

I'm sure I'm missing something very basic here. I am a true Linux newbie and so far, it's got me stumped.
_________________
Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MacMasta
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 545
Location: Anchorage, AK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because you can't mount /boot, the bzImage gets copied off into the wild blue yonder, and basically vanishes.

You'll need to get working ext3 support into the kernel before you can mount the boot partition.

Offhand, I'd say boot from the liveCD, chroot into your gentoo install, and built the kernel there.

~Mac~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 162
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:12 pm    Post subject: Re: i can't mount the boot dev becouse it's ext3 Reply with quote

itay wrote:
and it says my kernel don't suppert it, i've did make menuconfig and after it make dep && make bzImage and still it says it aren't suppert it. what should i do?


Are you *sure* it is extension 3. If the boot device is too small I think instead of making an extension 3 drive it makes an extension 2 drive.... Try ext2, perhaps it will work....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't ext3 just ext2 with a journal file? For tasks like copying files to it, I would expect that you should be able to mount it as ext2, i.e. pass the -t ext2 parameter explicitly to mount.

@MacMasta: apologies if you were just being metaphoric, but if you copy something to /boot when /boot is not mounted, it goes to the /boot directory on the root partition. It doesn't vanish. Unmount /boot and ls and it'll still be there, taking up space on the root filesystem.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drovdiggin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I have the ext3 file support now and things look a lot better :D . What I did was boot off the live CD, re-emerged gentoo kernel (probably not necessary), set up the .config, compilied, and copied the bzImage to the /boot directory.

Upon reboot - happy system!

I think everytime I recompiled and copied the new image, it was going to the root partition as Rac said. MacMasta's solution did the trick!

Thanks everybody for the help!!! :lol:

I do have an error in my fstab that shows up now on botup... Something about an error in line 17 and invalid mount points. I was way too tired at the time to do any further investigation, so I'll deal with that tonight.


Thanks again, it's nice knowing there's helpful peeps out there to help out the newbie ranks.
_________________
Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drovdiggin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI... On a side note, I did forget to enable devfs on my first compile.
_________________
Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drovdiggin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm so stoked...

found that after inserting a couple of tabs in the appropriate places in fstab I now boot completely clean!!

In the scheme of life this may seem insignificant to some, but I feel like I just climbed Everest or something!
_________________
Technology is changing the way we do business, the way we play, the way learn. So when I use the restroom and get splashback, I asked myself...
"Why not bring technology to the urinal industry?"
Beauford Kosznak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fidler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 162
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rac wrote:
Isn't ext3 just ext2 with a journal file? For tasks like copying files to it, I would expect that you should be able to mount it as ext2, i.e. pass the -t ext2 parameter explicitly to mount.

@MacMasta: apologies if you were just being metaphoric, but if you copy something to /boot when /boot is not mounted, it goes to the /boot directory on the root partition. It doesn't vanish. Unmount /boot and ls and it'll still be there, taking up space on the root filesystem.


Yes, it is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum