Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on NForce4 (Asus a8n-sli deluxe)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
plastix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 11
Location: Boise, ID

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:33 am    Post subject: Gentoo on NForce4 (Asus a8n-sli deluxe) Reply with quote

This is the first time I have written an article, so please bear with me here.

I Just got 2004.3 installed on my new system, thought I would give a heads up on some of the issues I encountered so other people may have an easier time.

Here are my specs:

amd64 3000+
asus a8n-sli deluxe
1 gig ram
2 x 160gig sata drives
PCIx 6600GT

To start off with, boot the livecd with the command :
Code:
gentoo noapic


This will save you considerable headaches when it comes to figuring out why your sata_nv driver keeps locking up.

Next from the command prompt:
Code:
#modprobe sata_nv

Code:
#modprobe sata_sil


If you have nothing on the sil connectors (the black ones) you can ommit the sata_sil.

Then go ahead with getting the ethernet controller:
Code:
#modprobe forcedeth


If anybody has information about the Marvel controller, please feel free to add to this thread.

From here I followed the installation guide as much as I could, with a few deviations (I don't know if my printer missed printing the part of running bootstrap.sh). After installing grub, and rebooting, I hit my first hiccup:

Code:

"VFS: cannot open root device "sda5" or unknown-block (0,0)
please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic :VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (0,0)"


I am only using SATA, and narrowed down the search to one single issue, that being :
Code:

Device Drivers  --->
    SCSI device support  --->
        <*>     SCSI device support
        <*>     SCSI disk support  ****
        <M>   SCSI CDROM support
        <M>   SCSI generic support


I am mainly showing the SCSI disk support here, the others are options I leave on in general, but everytime I did not compile SCSI disk support into the kernel and rebooted, I wound up getting the VFS panic. No bios changes were needed for this.

With that fixed, I went ahead and created a udev only system, only to run into another problem:
Code:

failed to set system clock to hardware clock
error: problem starting needed services
"bootmisc" was not started.


This was solved (albiet, not very efficiently) by:
Code:

Device Drivers  --->
    Character devices  --->
        <*> Enhanced Real Time Clock Support


If anybody knows how to write a udev script to fix this, please attach it to this thread.

And last but not least, there is a major issue with PCI express 6600 nvidia cards and xorg, I am not going to go into detail about it, but if you have the combination, grab this patch and apply it to the xorg build. (I am not to adept at this, so I wound up unarchiving xorg-x11-2.8.xxx.tar.bz to the proper /var/tmp directory, then applying the patch, copying the patched files to another directory, proceeding with a new emerge and copying the files in after the emerge unpacks the files).

I hope this was helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyne
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 334

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had MAJOR issues with the forcedeth module...
Whenever I tried to do transfers over my local lan, it wouldn't go over 120 KB/sec..
Transfers from outside the LAN worked great with speeds up to 700KB/sec (my max)...


So I unloaded the forcedeth module, and loaded the sk98lin module (for the other nic), and everything works great now!
only thing I still have to replace atm is the sound-card... it REALLY sucks to not have hardware mixing... :(
I was used to my trusty old SB Live 5.1, so I'm thinking of putting that back in as soon as I find out how to connect the external audio jacks on my case to the sound-card... :D

as for your time problems: just sync with a local ntp-server, and set your time to local... works great for me... :)
the xorg-patch isn't necessary I think... I didn't apply it, and everything works great for me! gettint solid +7000 fps in glxgears (I know it's not a benchmark...), so I'm kinda curious about it...
btw manually editing the ebuild would have saved you a LOT of time!


edit: btw here's my current config:

2 Maxtor 160GB SATA's on the nvidia SATA
1 IBM 40GB ATA100 PATA
1 NEC 3500 DVD +/- RW
1 Sparkle 6600GT (replaced the cooler with a zalman vf700, and damn I'm happy I did that!)
2x215MB Corsair XMS 3200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exodist
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the grub issues are a problem cause when the sata is loaded last the numbers are ordered ide then sata, however at the grub screen they are ordered sata then ide. problem can be solved by editing the /boot/grub/grub.conf to assume hd0,0 (or whatever) basicaly the conf file should have how the drives will be on boot, nto how they are

then do grub

root (hd5,0) or whatever based on drive order, count ide drives than add number of sata before the one you use all starting from zero.
setup (hd5) see above note
quit

that will install it to the drive based on current id's, but boot will read config file and everything is a-ok


as for the sb-live, good luck, I also have a trust sb live 5.1 pci from a long time ago... it does not work on this board, after a few seconds of sound it starts to skip around and then in 64 bit it will lock up, in 32 bit it will cut to a loud high pitched noise. I had to use another different card for mutliple sounds at once.


Final question, you have same exact config as I, asus a8n-sli with 6600... last time I tried 64 bit there were glitches and problems with X on 64 bit with 6600 based on an Xorg off by one error, I was not qualified to fix the error so I switched to 32 bit and recently due to a harddrive failure (maxtor's online RMA services are outstanding and pain free, technically I think that is a bad-sign occuring from overuse) anyway trying 64 bit again, in about 15-30min x will be compiled and installed, but if you get back to me quicker I will not have the suspence.. but I h=guess I should ask the question, was the problem fixed in current portage?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rookbluff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:52 pm    Post subject: Need help applying xorg patch for amd64 Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I am trying to get X working on my new box running

specs:
amd64 3200+
gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI socket 939
1 gig ram
standard IDE HD
PCIx 6600


and ran into the same xorg/amd64/PCI express 6600 nvidia card problem mentioned by plastix (Thanks plastix for pointing this out!! I was tweaking my xorg.conf file over and over...)

I'm still a noob here, and I need a little help applying the patch you mentioned:
Quote:

And last but not least, there is a major issue with PCI express 6600 nvidia cards and xorg, I am not going to go into detail about it, but if you have the combination, grab this patch and apply it to the xorg build. (I am not to adept at this, so I wound up unarchiving xorg-x11-2.8.xxx.tar.bz to the proper /var/tmp directory, then applying the patch, copying the patched files to another directory, proceeding with a new emerge and copying the files in after the emerge unpacks the files).


Could someone elaborate a little more on how I should apply this patch?

I went to https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2322 to find the patch and found the latest one
(labeled "updated fix" from 2005-01-25 which was just a diff of two files:

    /cvs/xorg/xc/programs/Xserver/hw/xfree86/common/xf86pciBus.c
    /cvs/xorg/xc/programs/Xserver/hw/xfree86/os-support/bus/xf86Pci.h


I couldn't find the aforementioned xorg-x11-2.8.xxx.tar.bz containing the source code to be patched (xf86pciBus.c, xf86Pci.h, any others?).

After that, it's still not clear to me exactly how to proceed. I wasn't sure which /var/tmp directory to unzip the tarball (if I ever find it).

Since I'm still a noob, I'm not super-keen on exactly how portage works under the hood to build and install packages, and now I appreciate it that much more!

I would appreciate any help on this--I don't want to wait until the patch arrives in portage. :D In the mean time, I need to read the portage tutorial! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nexus780
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 206
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For that Xorg with the 6600 problem: Install ~xorg-x11-6.8.2, fixed it for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g0su
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 437
Location: Dresden, Deutschland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello man!

I don't understand well the english, please sorry for that.

I have the same system than you. The module for ethernet is forcedeth, for marvel is the marvell module(is the only marvell in gigaland) i dont remeber the name of module.

For sata you put <*> support in scsi -> low ... -> <*> Sata support and <*> nvidia support. The module is sata_nv but if u use for boot, use <*> and NOT <M>. For silicon is sata_sil.

For grub, first are IDE disk, and latter scsi disk, Ex: if i have 2 ide and 2 sata:

Hda -> hd0, Hdb -> hd1, sda -> hd2 and sdb -> hd3. Sda is the first sata(you see in mother board or in bios), sdb is the second sata.

I use ethernet marvell and native sata of nforce4 with my sata.

I have a big problem with nvidia driver and xorg. What version u have of nvidia-driver? and xorg(i think than is 6.8.2? is posible?). Can you put the config for xorg?

I emerge nvidia-driver, nvidia-glx, nvidia-settings and i writed modprobe nvidia && opengl-update nvidia. But when i write startx i don't see logo of nvidia, and i cant see the cursos of mouse and the i cant see well the desktop.

My files:


Code:
# make.conf
USE="X aalib acpi alsa apm -arts audiofile avi bzlib cdr crypt cscope dga directfb divx4linux dvd dvdr doc -emacs emul-linux-x86 encode fbcon flash -gnome gphoto2 gif gpm gtk gtk2 hardened -ipv6 java jpeg kde lm_sensors mozilla mp3 mpeg msn multilib ncurses nls odbc opengl oss pam perl pdflib png python  qt quicktime sdl ssl sockets spell -svga tiff truetype usb videos xmms xv xvid"

CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

CFLAGS="-O3 -march=athlon64 -ffast-math -funroll-all-loops -funit-at-a-time -fpeel-loops -ftracer -funswitch-loops -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"

PORTAGE_TMPDIR=/var/tmp
PORTDIR=/usr/portage
DISTDIR=${PORTDIR}/distfiles
PKGDIR=${PORTDIR}/packages

SYNC="rsync://rsync.europe.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
RSYNC_TIMEOUT=180

AUTOCLEAN="yes"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PORTAGE_NICENESS=10
FEATURES="sandbox -buildpkg ccache"
#DO_NOT_COMPILE=""

LINGUAS="es"

ALSA_CARDS=""

#rc.conf
KEYMAP="es"
SET_WINDOWKEYS="yes"
CONSOLEFONT="lat9w-16"
CONSOLETRANSLATION="8859-15_to_uni"
CLOCK="local"
EDITOR="/usr/bin/vim"
PROTOCOLS="1 2"
DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm"
XSESSION="KDE-3.3.2"

# xorg.conf
Section "Files"

    RgbPath   "/usr/lib64/X11/rgb"

    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

#********************************************************************

Section "Module"

    Load   "dbe"

    SubSection   "extmod"
   Option   "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection

    Load   "type1"
    Load   "freetype"
    Load   "glx"

EndSection

# ********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"


#    Option   "NoTrapSignals"
#    Option   "DontVTSwitch"
#    Option   "DontZap"
#    Option   "DontZoom"
#    Option   "DisableVidModeExtension"
#    Option   "AllowNonLocalXvidtune"
#    Option   "DisableModInDev"
#    Option   "AllowNonLocalModInDev"
    Option   "blank time"   "10"   # 10 minutes
    Option   "standby time"   "20"
    Option   "suspend time"   "30"
    Option   "off time"   "60"

# Option   "EstimateSizesAggresively" "0"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Keyboard1"
    Driver   "keyboard"
    Option   "AutoRepeat"   "500 30"
    Option    "ServerNumLock"
    Option   "XkbModel"   "pc105"
    Option   "XkbLayout"   "es"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option   "Device"   "/dev/gpmdata"
    Option    "Protocol"   "IMPS/2"
    Option    "CorePointer"   
    Option     "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
#    Option   "BaudRate"   "9600"
#    Option   "SampleRate"   "150"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier   "TFT17"
    HorizSync 50-70   
    VertRefresh 50-150
#    Option   "sync on green"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************

Section "Device"


Identifier  "6600GT"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option "NvAGP" "2"
    Option "AGPMode" "4"
    Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
    #Option "NoLogo" "1" #Para no ver el logo Nvidia
       ####  Para TV ####
       Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
       Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO" #"COMPOSIT"
       Option "CursorShadow" "0"
       Option "TwinView" "1"
       Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf" #"Clone"
       Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
       Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
       Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;1024x768,1024x768"
EndSection

# **********************************************************************

Section "Screen"

    Identifier   "Screen 1"
    Device   "6600GT"
    Monitor   "TFT17"

    DefaultDepth 16

    SubSection "Display"
       Depth      16
   Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
   ViewPort   0 0
   EndSubSection

   SubSection "Display"
   Depth      24
   Modes      "1280x1024"
   EndSubSection

EndSection

#*************************************************************************

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier   "simple layout"
    Screen   "Screen 1"
    InputDevice   "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection


Un saludo y gracias//Cheersss and thx :D
_________________
Busco desarrollador con complejo de proxy, interesados MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nexus780
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 206
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

g0su: Did you put nvidia in your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6? Can you check with lsmod whether the module is loaded please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyne
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 334

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

$ emerge -pv nvidia-glx nvidia-kernel

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.6629-r5  0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.6629-r3  0 kB


you can find my /etc/X11/xort.conf here

everything works great for me... my 6600GT is working quite fine, but that's probably because I'm using xorg-6.8.2...
btw the module name for the marvell nic is sk98lin...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g0su
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 437
Location: Dresden, Deutschland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello i solved the problem using Xorg-X11 6.8.2. Thx for your help ;)

Code:
moxilo@DarkTemplar moxilo $ glxgears
47448 frames in 5.0 seconds = 9489.600 FPS
52536 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10507.200 FPS
52545 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10509.000 FPS
52547 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10509.400 FPS
52523 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10504.600 FPS
52527 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10505.400 FPS
X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
moxilo@DarkTemplar moxilo $


Nvidia-settings have a new panel for see the temperature, i have 32-35ºin idle 45º in full with default fan.

The driver for native sata nforce4 works fine with 2.6.9-gentoo-r14, but if you use the kernel for live cd 2004.3 the module not worked, it was block.

Code:
DarkTemplar root # uname -a
Linux DarkTemplar 2.6.9-gentoo-r14 #3 Thu Feb 17 23:59:51 CET 2005 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
DarkTemplar root # df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             19228308   2802008  15449548  16% /
/dev/sda5              3842376     74224   3572964   3% /home
/dev/sda6              4806904   2015384   2547336  45% /usr/portage
/dev/sdb1            196022612  66629732 119435456  36% /ftp
/dev/sda7            142647796  25131668 110270012  19% /ftp/peliculas
/dev/sda1             25599544  12289960  13309584  49% /mnt/win
DarkTemplar root #   


And cool and quiete run well with cpudyn:

Code:
DarkTemplar root # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep MHz
cpu MHz         : 1005.154
DarkTemplar root #     


Thx a lot of for Zyne, I can use the config for the mouse becouse u have the same mouse than me, but i think than u can use a driver for Option "Device" "/dev/gpmdata" if u use gpm in console. And the config for nvidia is poor(i think than is poor but i am not sure than is this the word for that).

Bye! :D
_________________
Busco desarrollador con complejo de proxy, interesados MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pantherace
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-271920.html (a8n-sli thread)

and

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-275551.html (6600GT problems (or anything else in amd64: xorg bug, not nvidia))

Which appears resolved now.
_________________
Main System: Athlon 64 3000+ (1.8GHz, 512KB, 90nm) Asus A8n SLI Deluxe 1GB (2x512) Mushkin PC3200, LeadTek 6600GT, Western Digital IDE 160 & 120GB 7200rpm, 8MB cache HDs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum