View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cstump
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 10:06 pm    Post subject: Frustrated with my un-snappy Gentoo Reply with quote

Hello,

I've been using Gentoo for about 5 months now on my Dell Inspiron 8200. I must say I am impressed with portage and I like the thought of having compiled every package myself. I also like the control I have over the system and the elegant solutions Gentoo provides for managing the system. However, Gentoo is too slow.

My install was from stage 1 and I basically did everything "by the book." Compiler optimizations were set at 2 and I took careful time setting up my USE flags and hdparm settings. However, the fact is that Gentoo is just not "snappy" on my machine. Windows XP runs smoother and Red Hat 9, which I was running before my Gentoo install, was also snappier. When I use Debian on my desktop at work I just feel cheated with my Gentoo installation.

I understand that comparisons between desktops and laptops only go so far. That desktop hard drives typically have much better caching and disk read speeds which makes a difference in "snappiness." However, I don't understand why an old version of Red Hat and WinXP seem to run "quicker." I thought compiling everything from source would optimize my packages and thus make them run faster!

Symptoms include:

When I press my desktop icon to open a terminal, it takes like 2+ seconds for the terminal to open up.
All other applications lag similarly, but more so since they are often "bigger" than a terminal (i.e. firefox, thunderbird).
Whenever I open an app, the first second or so it is displayed it is filled with the graphic of my chosen theme. After a second or so it
launches into the full application.