Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dhcpd, 2 subnets, 1 network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Seather
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 194
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:21 am    Post subject: dhcpd, 2 subnets, 1 network Reply with quote

I am trying to modify my existing network layout, and need my dhcpd server to do something a little more complicating

I have 2 subnets, 192.168.0.0 and 192.168.1.0, I want dhcpd to automatically put all machines anywhere in the 192.168.1.0 subnet, however, just a specific 3 other machines, by mac address, always needs to be in 192.168.0.0 and assigned certain ips.

Anyone know how to do this? Below is the relevant configuration I tried, but everything ended up in 192.168.1.0

Code:
subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        range 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.254;
        option routers 192.168.0.99;
        option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.99;
        option domain-name "enslaved";

        host lucy {
                hardware ethernet 00:E0:29:4C:45:12;
                fixed-address 192.168.0.16;
        }

        host nadia {
                hardware ethernet 00:A0:CC:C6:58:F4;
                fixed-address 192.168.0.57;
        }

        host elaine {
                hardware ethernet 00:40:95:31:6b:8e;
                fixed-address 192.168.0.135;
        }
}

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        range 192.168.1.2 192.168.1.254;
        option routers 192.168.1.1;
        option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.99;
        option domain-name "enslaved";
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeathAndTaxes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't test this right now, but you might have to put both those subnet declarations in a shared-network block...Something like this:

shared-network eth1 {
subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.0.50 192.168.0.199;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.168.0.255;
option routers 192.168.0.1;
}
subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.1.50 192.168.1.199;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
option routers 192.168.1.1;
}
}

I'm not sure which one would get used by default, though...Maybe it's the first one? At least this will get you one step closer. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seather
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 194
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got this sorted out, by getting another switch, and seperating the subnet completely, connect one to the 192.168.0.0 subnet's nic and the other to the 192.168.1.0's.

I will try playing around with your shared-network idea though thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum